Autopsy 2023 Rd 5 Blues get smashed by Crows

Who played well for the Blues vs the Crows?

The mentality in here from a lot in here seems similar to the club. We have the 'talent' so expect wins against teams that finished bottom 4 or 13th last year. This is a new season, the old cliche of taking it one week/game at a time couldn't be more true this season. Adelaide smacked a Port team that beat a strong Swans team last week. Adelaide also lost to GWS, who lost to the Eagles.

Any team in the comp this year can legitimately beat any team on any given day. We found this the hard way tonight when we didnt turn up from the outset and couldn't get back in the game. When we start respecting our opponents as an opposition and are willing to bring the pressure and effort, week in and week out, maybe then the club will meet the mentality and expectation it spruiks and that of the supporters.

Credit to the crows tonight, while we were poor they dominated us threw the middle of the ground from the outset and our defense had no chance. We played lazy, disinterested and this wasn't a 'must win' game. Sure we want to win them all, but you don't win games on paper or based on how you or the opposition performed last season.

The team needs to find an equilibrium to be competitive each week and we as a supporter base do too. The expectations placed on a team that started 8-2 last year and missed finals shouldn't define each performance this season or justify the 'sack voss' type comments.

No point focusing on the 'collapse' last year but not acknowledging this same team got within a goal of two of the top 4 teams last year.

It's a long season and we move onto next week. We were poor tonight and there is no understating that. Plenty more games to learn, grow and improve.

Relocate .
The people running the club are s**t.
s**t club.
History meaningless .
Throw the 16 cups i the bin.

Billionaires ****ed us 20 years ago and nothing has changed.
Don’t throw the Premierships in the bin. Trade them!!!

We give you Lynch, Bolton, Martin and whoever you want for the 1972 and 1982 Premierships.

Sorry… I Show myself the door…

Come on guys, we’ve had 1 bad game and now we’re talking about Voss isn’t the right man for the job, and we’re pathetic, and we’re pretenders, yada yada, yada. It’s a bloody long season.
Have some faith!!!
I don't want Vossy to go anywhere. It was a disappointing performance and result, but hopefully this might prove to be a turning point.

We got thumped by St Kilda and the Sydney Swans in 1995 as well, and things worked out alright in the end. Hopefully we won't see anymore performances like that for the rest of the year.

First things first, let’s not throw the baby out with the bath water. I can only imagine what Big Footy would have looked like in 1995 when we were getting spanked by the Swans and St Kilda. Too old, too slow, would have been just the start.

The other thing is (as even 7’s commentators alluded), there were similarities with the Crows’ first ever game v Hawthorn. Make no mistake about it, they were up for this, and they were always going to be up for this. As a club, we should have been ready for that. But sometimes there are external factors which make an opposition pretty irresistible, especially in a competition which is so even.

That said, Arr0w put some great posts together after the draft last year, where he talked about how we hadn’t addressed speed or kicking skills. This is still hugely apparent in the sections of games (or in this case, the entire game) where we struggle. The Crows were great at getting that half metre separation in-close, which just allowed them to work the ball around. Conversely, when we had the ball they could close us down and we would fumble.

The result of this was those soft forward fifty entries. A different side may not have made us pay, but again, Adelaide has those great kicking skills which slice you open. I mean… Dawson in particular is just a wonderfully weighted kick of the ball. So, they would use their pace to work the ball out of contested situations, into the open, and then they had the kicking skills to hit their forwards on the chest.

In terms of where we are at, my view has always been that you might be able to get away with winning a flag without pace. Hawthorn did it, and to a lesser extent Geelong and Richmond have as well. However, I am not convinced you can win a flag without kicking skills. Add the two together, and it is probably a lethal flaw.

For the moment, the team needs to use last night as a wake up call. We will be copping St Kilda with them coming off a much shorter break, and we need to have a night where we make them pay. Let’s see if we can get this show back on the road.

The good - we were exposed as a bunch a fraudsters . A lot of people talking up Carlton can now settle . The team can take that away and now go to work on the exposed deficiencies.

The bad - no plan b when the going got tough in the 1st quarter. Let's face it - we were bad in that quarter and the coaches had no answers to stop a rampant Crows. Game lost already.

The Ugly - Dekoning is not a good ruckman. I don't think I saw once he tap the ball to the advantage of our midfield. If they can't get the ball , then the backline is under too much pressure.
Run and carry - pretty much non existent. Players took the option of bombing the ball into our Fwd line instead of bringing it in as a set play. Something has gotta give and it did. Crows defence went to work and their spread from the backline was enormous.
We have 2 Coleman medallists in out team that apparently is the envy of 17 other footy sides , yet we can't kick a decent score. These coaches better work out a better way coz it ain't currently working.
Serious Ugly - there are a few players on our list that continue to remain in the picture and I'm not sure why we continue down the path of holding onto them. Yes , they are considered depth , but , for instance, Crows bring in 2 or 3 players and they stick to the game plan and do a good job for the team. We bring in shmucks who look embarrassingly slow and ridiculous. They should be let go. I'm sure most know who I'm talking about. It's time.

On the sub, I’m confused, last week I complained it was Carrol as he wasn’t the stand in the VFL and this week it was Honey, if Dow, one of the best players in the VFL can’t ge picked because he’s too one dimensional, how does Honey get picked?
panda-cute.gif

Does anyone know how many of our 75 tackles were called for holding the ball? Just asking for a mate.

This stat is a bit of a rort. It is calculated as any time someone makes contact with a player, and that player's subsequent disposal is less than perfect. A bump is a tackle. Holding the ball is a tackle. Not all tackles are the same.

So if you wildly flail your arms at someone while they run straight past you, get a hand on their arm that they shrug off, and they blaze their kick 50m to a contest, you will typically get a tackle stat. We somehow racked up 20-odd tackles in the first quarter last night, much in the same way the witches hats at training tend to rack up the occasional 'tackle' as someone clips them on the way past by mistake.

Carlton(almost full strength?) vs. Bold, fast ball movement team reality check 1
We've got 5 more good tests to face in the next 6 weeks, we'll no exactly where we stand soon.
Yep , and the saints are ranked 1st for ball movement from half back , so look out . It could be more the same unfortunately. They've got a week to correct the mess

so what's changed from the 10 or so wins we had at the start of last season?

pretty much same midfield combo and we've improved our wings.

other clubs were talking about the strength of our team being in the midifeld and of course the two roosters. how we cant build an effective game plan around those is mind boggling.

First things first, let’s not throw the baby out with the bath water. I can only imagine what Big Footy would have looked like in 1995 when we were getting spanked by the Swans and St Kilda. Too old, too slow, would have been just the start.

The other thing is (as even 7’s commentators alluded), there were similarities with the Crows’ first ever game v Hawthorn. Make no mistake about it, they were up for this, and they were always going to be up for this. As a club, we should have been ready for that. But sometimes there are external factors which make an opposition pretty irresistible, especially in a competition which is so even.

That said, Arr0w put some great posts together after the draft last year, where he talked about how we hadn’t addressed speed or kicking skills. This is still hugely apparent in the sections of games (or in this case, the entire game) where we struggle. The Crows were great at getting that half metre separation in-close, which just allowed them to work the ball around. Conversely, when we had the ball they could close us down and we would fumble.

The result of this was those soft forward fifty entries. A different side may not have made us pay, but again, Adelaide has those great kicking skills which slice you open. I mean… Dawson in particular is just a wonderfully weighted kick of the ball. So, they would use their pace to work the ball out of contested situations, into the open, and then they had the kicking skills to hit their forwards on the chest.

In terms of where we are at, my view has always been that you might be able to get away with winning a flag without pace. Hawthorn did it, and to a lesser extent Geelong and Richmond have as well. However, I am not convinced you can win a flag without kicking skills. Add the two together, and it is probably a lethal flaw.

For the moment, the team needs to use last night as a wake up call. We will be copping St Kilda with them coming off a much shorter break, and we need to have a night where we make them pay. Let’s see if we can get this show back on the road.
I just love the posts noting things like “we don’t play fast, modern footy” and “why do we go safe around the boundary line let’s go direct to Charlie and Harry!”

The answer is 100% in this post - we don’t have the Hawks era like laser foot skills to square it up, either coming out of defence or through the middle of the ground.

No Zac, Gov and Doch rams this home. Crippa ball in hand is a real worry too, our biggest disposal winner.

I die inside seeing Plow with the footy coming out of defence.

Hence why getting quicker and better ball users into the team will make a difference next month or so - Boyd, Cuners and Kemp to start with.

Voss needs to make a statement with fisher
Absolutely. I think the issue they face is that Fisher to the 2s could be an interesting situation. Doesnt seem the type to go back and dominate. Same with Martin, if they try it to push a formline, he could be there for weeks and weeks.

Fisher is also the perfect bloke to trade out. His loss, doesnt hurt us and potentially wakes the senior group up from their comfort zone.

Its meant to be a professional football club, not a community mates club.

Add to this...

We havent won 4 in a row in at least a decade and Kingy was laughing at us on 1116 when Whately suggested we would go 5 in a row during this period.

Havent done that since 2001.

Its a little on Voss and a lot on this playing group. They need to take ownership of their performances

Sent from my SM-N981B using Tapatalk

I can handle getting beaten by a better team.

But I am sick of losing when we don't look like we are switched on.
Exactly. I expected nothing less than a fierce, close battle for 4 quarters on what was a huge, showcase night for the 2 clubs and the AFL. I didn't expect that insipid, fraudulent effort by 23 Carlton players. Every single one of them will find the review extremely hard to watch. Absolutely sole destroying that was.

I don't think I've ever seen anything on a football field, including the seagulls at the MCG, have less of an idea about field positioning than Josh Honey.
He just isn’t a good AFL footballer and the fact he played average in the vfl and got a game says it all .. get the feeling won’t be on the list next year

Been woeful since Jones left.
I dont think that's true, lets not judge Weiters on last night. The way the wall was coming in clean and hot you could have had a back six of Doull, Southby, Hunter, Dench, Langford and Silvagni and would not have made one iota of difference.

Autopsy 2023 Rd 5 Blues get smashed by Crows