Centreline:Blake AcresPatrick CrippsEd Curnow
Half-forwards:Sam WalshHarry McKayJack Silvagni
Forwards:Corey DurdinCharlie CurnowJesse Motlop
Followers:Marc PittonetGeorge HewettAdam Cerra
Interchange:Alex CincottaOllie HollandsJosh Honey
Brodie Kemp
Emergencies:Lachie CowanZac FisherLachie Fogarty
Matthew Kennedy

Brisbane remain in a very good position health-wise. Sure, they'll miss Zorko and Rich, but that's about it. They've got 3 players that are a test for this week, the rest of the list is available. We'd kill to be in that position.

They're missing Zorko, Rich and you could throw Adams in there.

We are arguably only missing Williams and maybe Owies from our best 22 now with Motlop available and possible Cottrell.

Dont think can really count Martin, Cunners, Boyd, Marchbank etc as lock best 22 players these days, nor TDK.

So we are arguably in a better position injury wise for this game than they are, or at worst around even.

We are arguably only missing Williams and maybe Owies from our best 22 now with Motlop available and possible Cottrell.

Dont think can really count Martin, Cunners, Boyd, Marchbank etc as lock best 22 players these days, nor TDK.

So we are arguably in a better position injury wise for this game than they are, or at worst around even.
Yep this may be the strongest side we can put on the park all season. Huge game

Brisbane are consistently a top 4 team for last 4-5 years, Baggers on the other hand haven't even made the 8 for a decade, last year we showed we choke when even a modest amount of mental pressure is applied. Eg. Just win 1 of your last 4 games.
Approximately 18 of the 23 blokes that played last year's 4 game choke are in the current side, sure they are older, stronger and fitter than last year but they are also well aware of their previous year and the pressure is even more than last year which they didn't handle... It's all between the ears this game (and life for that matter)just look at Collingwood loving the pressure and playing til the final siren every game, every week.
Brisbane pantsed us last year, we looked like a bottom side, we did kick 8 in the last but don't be fooled as the Lions had already put the cue in the rack. Lions by 6-8 goals.
Just hope Doc has a great game for his 150th.

Not trying to be a downer and I was very impressed with Kemp's game but West Coast are half a step up from VFL. If he can bring his game like that against Brisbane then Ill be 100% on board. We really need these draft picks to start paying off, I look enviously at Collingwood and see guys like McCreery and Noble play solid to exceptional games and hope our guys like Kemp, Cincotta, Cowan can get to that level.

On Binns, again not trying to bring him down and I havent watched much VFL but heard from mates that his kicking skills are a bit suspect, is this true? One of the things that really stood out in our earlier rounds (besides Geelong and the 40 mins against North) were our skills in hitting targets was atrocious.

Brisbane are consistently a top 4 team for last 4-5 years, Baggers on the other hand haven't even made the 8 for a decade, last year we showed we choke when even a modest amount of mental pressure is applied. Eg. Just win 1 of your last 4 games.
Approximately 18 of the 23 blokes that played last year's 4 game choke are in the current side, sure they are older, stronger and fitter than last year but they are also well aware of their previous year and the pressure is even more than last year which they didn't handle... It's all between the ears this game (and life for that matter)just look at Collingwood loving the pressure and playing til the final siren every game, every week.
Brisbane pantsed us last year, we looked like a bottom side, we did kick 8 in the last but don't be fooled as the Lions had already put the cue in the rack. Lions by 6-8 goals.

That game was at the Gabba - they're a 5-6 goal better team there...

We had no Pitto, Kennedy or Newman that day.

Dow was in the team!

His first game for a while - ditto Marchbank and Martin (who did his calf again in game).

Zorko had 22 disposals, including nine score involvements.

Charlie and Big H were goalless till the last quarter....

Not trying to be a downer and I was very impressed with Kemp's game but West Coast are half a step up from VFL. If he can bring his game like that against Brisbane then Ill be 100% on board. We really need these draft picks to start paying off, I look enviously at Collingwood and see guys like McCreery and Noble play solid to exceptional games and hope our guys like Kemp, Cincotta, Cowan can get to that level.

On Binns, again not trying to bring him down and I havent watched much VFL but heard from mates that his kicking skills are a bit suspect, is this true? One of the things that really stood out in our earlier rounds (besides Geelong and the 40 mins against North) were our skills in hitting targets was atrocious.
You can be confident that things are different now.

Since having our own vfl side and with power there it looks like players are getting proper development.

Also, Austin has been doing a good job.

Cinc holland Cowan binns acres Boyd have all been good gets.

Kemp is looking fantastic too, trimmed, took a few marks and kicked that long goal and got involved in some chains of ball movement.

I still hold hope for Dow.

That game was at the Gabba - they're a 5-6 goal better team there...

We had no Pitto, Kennedy or Newman that day.

Dow was in the team!

His first game for a while - ditto Marchbank and Martin (who did his calf again in game).

Zorko had 22 disposals, including nine score involvements.

Charlie and Big H were goalless till the last quarter....
They had no Dunkley and Ashcroft in the middle, no Gunston up forward either.

Talking semantics anyway, they are mentally stronger collectively and have more team cohesion/synergy with their ball movement as their core group has been together longer with more success during that period than our core group.
History tends to repeat unless we had some serious momentum/good form which we don't.... Eagles are VFL grade atm, despite our players saying they had good heat around the ball, they were being humble in victory is all.
Would love a win, just can't see us punching above our weight.....

Talking semantics anyway, they are mentally stronger collectively and have more team cohesion/synergy with their ball movement as their core group has been together longer with more success during that period than our core group.
History tends to repeat unless we had some serious momentum/good form which we don't.... Eagles are VFL grade atm, despite our players saying they had good heat around the ball, they were being humble in victory is all.

Again, their backline is their Achilles heel - Marcus Adams a huge loss.

Andrew is a bit flaky and Payne will struggle with the energy and endurance of Charlie...

Rich is their backline general.... probably a bigger loss to them than losing Doch would be to us.

Of course that belting of WCE gives us momentum, folly to suggest otherwise.

That was his one if his weaknesses at draft time but he has improved. Misses the odd target but kicking has mostly been great. Normally goes short but can hit it low and penetrating plus makes good decisions.

Thier only win away this year was vs GWS with losses against port and the doggies, they aint all that away from QLD

How are they mentally stronger exactly?

When did they become a force outside of QLD?

Gunston, Dunkley and Ashcroft are all good players, and while Dunkley does lay tackles in congestion, do they really improve their team defense which has been seen as a weakness?

You talk about their core group being together longer to build more synergy, yet have named two new midfielders who going off last week’s CBAs were comfortably the 2nd & 3rd on-baller. Those three combined with Neale is 72% of the on-ball attendances, after that it’s more part timers and pinch-hitters doing 3-25%

I’m not saying they’re a bad team or that we’re a shoe-in for Friday or anything like that, it’s just kind of feels like you’re probably pumping them up a little more than necessary.

Again, their backline is their Achilles heel - Marcus Adams a huge loss.

Andrew is a bit flaky and Payne will struggle with the energy and endurance of Charlie...

Rich is their backline general.... probably a bigger loss to them than losing Doch would be to us.

Of course that belting of WCE gives us momentum, folly to suggest otherwise.
That’s either wildly optimistic or dismissive of them.
Andrews can seriously football, dude is a 2 time All Australian- “Flaky” is well harsh.
Payne has the strength to trouble who ever he match’s up on.
They are better with Rich but used to playing with out him, I very much doubt it will be an easy night for our forwards

Not sure what the past has to do with this week, different players within both teams, different venues

And, you can't go claiming WC are shite(which they are), after predicting we would lose to them, seems strange

If we can't count Martin & Cunners, they can't count Adams.

1. These are the only calls that the MC has to make

a) Motlop for Honey - I reckon 50/50
b) Ed for Kennedy - I reckon 50/50 depending on Kennedy's fitness; and
c) If Kennedy for Ed then Ed V Cottrell as sub

2. The most interesting thing for the Club is the availability of Boyd/Cuningham/Marchbank/Owies and Martin to play VFL

3. We will win this game with this team on Friday night by 3-4 goals.

Newman Weitering Kemp
McGovern Young Saad ( + Cincotta )

Acres Cripps Hollands
Pittonet Hewett Cerra ( + Kennedy /Ed , Docherty ,)

Walsh Harry Jack
Honey/Motlop Charlie Durdin (+ Fisher)

IC: Fisher Docherty Kennedy Cincotta
EM: Ed / Cottrell/Honey

Kennedy V Ed Curnow because Docherty can play defence or midfield or even HFF - which allows for teh inclusion of both Kemp and Cincotta because Docherty's versatility gioves us 8 'defenders' if required. The addition of Kemp bolsters intercept marking game, whilst Cincotta gives a harder edge and greater attacking run than young Cowan.

Midfield is starting to gel now as Pittonet is approaching 100% match fitness as is Hewett. Cerra/Walsh are the link runners to outside - plenty of run on the outside from Hollands and Acres. Fisher might be slowly improving his between the arcs extra linkman role - will have to as Cuningham is the only other potential player who might be given same duties - so pressure will come there - a good thing.

This will be the strongest team we have fielded in ages - and competition for spots is only just beginning.

I'm bullish.
Oh thank ****.

Welcome back JAB.

That was like the episode of Ted Lasso where he turned into Led Tasso, blacked out, and didn’t realise it for a while.

Massive game for Big Pitt who is so important to our team.
Got towelled up by O’Brien and adelaide spanked us.
Got easily beaten by Marshall and we lose to the saints.
Dominant against the wrangles and we win the midfield battle.
Big O is so important to Brisvegas.
Need Pitt to at least break even.

Hoping to see Cotts play a ripper in the VFL again so he can primed for the Nick Daicos negating role in round 10. Is the perfect matchup. Can run all day and kick goals keeping young Daicos accountable.
Pitto played about half a quarter against Adelaide….

That’s either wildly optimistic or dismissive of them.
Andrews can seriously football, dude is a 2 time All Australian- “Flaky” is well harsh.
Payne has the strength to trouble who ever he match’s up on.
They are better with Rich but used to playing with out him, I very much doubt it will be an easy night for our forwards

Um, where did I say we'd win by 50?

And sure, Andrews is a good player, very good at times....

Their backline has always been their weakness.

That's the reason why they poached Adams.

Actually, a bit like us, when their midfield (which was essentially Neale before 2023) went missing, they bled a bit....

2022 - 2nd worst out of the top 11 teams for points against.

Neale missed out on the 2022 Brownlow by 1 vote :rolleyes:

Surely that is not boo worthy.

I hate it when players are booed!

Work with a Lions supporter who said they hate Cripps for what happened last year - although ex-Fitzroy supporters I find do have a persecution complex.

Pitto played about half a quarter against Adelaide….
Was the presser where Voss mentioned ruck taps to advantage and ruck domination .. he knows why our clearances were crap and after that game he made a selection change . Instant reward as far as midfield went just didn't put it on scoreboard -- there is a reason why we dropped off last year without pitto- and our clearance game picked up with him on one leg ..Doc also a big in from the Adelaide game

Tell Weiters it was Joe who scammed him.. will tear him a new one this weekend
Joey D kicked a goal in every match bar 4 last year.

One of those he was subbed off early
One was the Prelim that Geel won by 71 points
One was against Sam Taylor
One against Weiters

Not worried at all about the current titleholder of world's worst moustache...