Rumour 2023 Rumours and Speculation (Rumours total 37!, 1 (busted) BIG FISH ALERT last October 9th) (9 confirmed! 17 Busted!)

Motlop, Rockliff and McKenzie were all miles ahead of any player they traded in this year

Hinkley is going for it now knowing he only has two years left at the club, this will be someone else’s mess to clean up down the track

5 years without going to the draft with a first round selection, and again next year will hurt Port

Most of us know you don't make s**t up as a long standing informative poster.

Most of us know CroMo's main interest to personally snipe other posters to make him feel better.
Agree mate. There are some sad posters on here who play the man constantly, go out of their way to snipe or take others out with insult after insult.

A little potential insight into their anger/bullying/sniping. My sister in law who is a PHD Psychology (worked with Craigy at the Crows in the 90’s and he tried to recruit her again when he was head coach) told me recently that some profiling of internet bullies were actually surprisingly or perhaps not strangely when you think it through) disproportionately physically shorter men who ONLY had the ability to bully someone online. They would never be able to physically get away with it in “real life” for obvious reasons (being smashed/trampled on in an altercation). Therefore they take out any personal anger issues online where lack of physical height doesn’t disadvantage them.

One of the well known ‘Snipers’ admitted in a previous alias (20 ish years ago) being short and picked on. Sort of all adds up when you rationalise it.

thankfully it’s only a small minority and most lower than average men are just normal decent humans.

Now that they have 25, I don't see Geelong feeling any need to split their pick.

I don't see any potential upgrades left on the board - likeliest outcome would seem to be us flipping 20 for a future first to a team who can reach someone on their talent order and also think they're going deep into finals the year after, like our trade with Carlton so they could take Liam Stocker. Bulldogs, Essendon, and Sydney are the closest fit for the profile.
The absolute ideal scenario would be say WCE or Hawthorn have a player they really rate at either 14 or 20 and would do the said carlton type deal..ie our 14 or 20 + 24 1st for their 24 1st.

Always a risk but its hard to see how we would not be improving our 24 draft hand significantly that way

Do you really want to move Keays back in there? Go watch the GWS game again where he got cut to ribbons by Coniglio.

The other three are lucky to get scraps of midfield time.
Sloane being another year older and slower should reduce his midfield time next year. On the flip side, Pedlar, Rachele and Soligo being another year older and fitter will increase their midfield time.

I am pretty confident Sloane won't have the 4th most CBA's by the end of next season.

I find it easier to just scroll past his posts. Actually putting him on ignore would require effort he doesn’t deserve.

I also like to lol at the timestamps. Anyone posting on a footy forum at 2am needs to meet a woman.
There’s a whole other side of the world people post from.

Lol...in hindsight i should have called myself Sugar McGoodwin... rather than using Johnson's Christian name.

Don't worry, reckon there are still a few jigsaw pieces missing...
Oh they’ve got all the pieces, it’s just that the pieces they have don’t match the picture on the front!

There are some pretty wild rumours floating around about involving Max Gawn and Clayton Oliver.

If true it would a massive bombshell.
Item?

On SM-A115F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Rory attended 30.8% of CBAs.
This is using percentages to muddy waters. He attended 207 CBAs - the 4th most by player behind Dawson and Laird and 3 most of non-rucks
I'm happy to take a bet on this. Rory Sloane will not be fourth or better on CBAs in 2024.
3rd but we quibble. I also hope he doesn't have the 3rd to 6th amount of CBAs

Worst I can remember in recent times.

The Clayton Oliver stuff was fun, however apart from that, from a competition-wide viewpoint, it was ridiculously underwhelming.

One player traded for a first rounder who if you bumped into him you wouldn't know he was an AFL player, and even if he introduced himself you'd only have a vague feeling that someone who played for Fremantle or Footscray or the Gold Coast or some other club you don't watch much had the same name.

The fun comparison is players traded by games of reserves played this year. From memory nearly all of them spent substantial time not in their respective ones. Total fizzer.

One player traded for a first rounder who if you bumped into him you wouldn't know he was an AFL player, and even if he introduced himself you'd only have a vague feeling that someone who played for Fremantle or Footscray or the Gold Coast or some other club you don't watch much had the same name.

The fun comparison is players traded by games of reserves played this year. From memory nearly all of them spent substantial time not in their respective ones. Total fizzer.
My favourite part is that we received a rating of a D because we didn't pick up more of these reserve players that were available!

Was that the worst ever trade period. Not 1 A grader traded at all. The closest would probably be Grundy?
I just listened to the AFL podcast and they thought the best player traded was Lachie Schultz.... Yikes!

Nothing against Schultz, but if he's the best player traded then it's definitely a fizzer of a trade period!