Ultimate Glory 2023 Trade speculation and Shinbeggars discussion

I think it will be pick 44 in return for Koschitzke and 52 for Brockman. Even though it might be slightly under market value. I hope I’m wrong I don’t think West Coast will part with pick 38. If we can get some late picks for Morrison & Frost that would be good too.

3, 29, 44, 48, 52

I wouldn't mind them trading 52 to GC for Chol, cheap pick up and upgrade for Kosi

Tbh I think the AFL already knows what the compo is.
I think North will end up with a end of first compensation for McKay and receive a priority pick at 3 or vice versa- they won't be given two top 5 picks for effectively nothing but they will get a lot of assistance- the PR engine is already in overdrive

Maybe their assistance should be to the soft cap so they can recruit the very best off-field team they need?
It just feels like early picks is not going to help because they have had them in the past.

I can't believe people have written him off.
The thing about Scrimmers is that I have heard a steady dialogue about how he needs to get to the next step to gain Sam's faith, apply himself defensively, etc.

And that's true to an extent but even if he doesn't get to the next step and going forward he just gave a similar output to what he has given over his time at the Hawks so far (disregarding this year which was a bit of a cluster duck for him) that's still a very solid B to B+ player.

Finds plenty of the footy, excellent kick, great set of hands and second best contested mark behind Sicily. In essence all the traits you'd expect from a pick 7.

You'd be crazy to trade an asset like that for a pick around 30. Seems like a case of cutting of your nose to spite your face.

Why would you trade Scrimshaw who was pick 7 with 6 years in the system and just coming into the peak of his career at 25?? For an end of 1st round pick which will likely be around pick 22 (after 1st round gets diluted)
Some people really confuse me on this forum.

Foolish to do it for Pick 22 but for Pick 14 , we should. That's the pick we should target. Maybe even package deal with Frost/Morrison or F3 or 48.

So ideally don't want to see North being in a position to package that pick 14 with anything else to get Suns pick 4, so hope teh Pick 11 news was furphy or Suns find our F1 more useful once they get enough points.

Any news on the Mackay compensation?
is it pick 3 or 20?
The descision was to be made prior to GF I had read somewhere.

Only after FA opens and they file the contract will Compo get decided. I have a feeling Dodo will try to engineer North to trade their pick 14 under a threat to add clauses that reduce McKay baseline deal. Mackay will be asked to make his money by satisfying easy triggers.

* motives to get 14 would be to package with their F1 to get Suns Pick 4. So hope other clubs are awake to that prospect but if Norf blink, not much anyone can do about it. Catch 22 for us. Ideally we want FA pick for McKay to be pick 19( will degrade Eagles current Pick 19) and be in pole position to get Norf's pick 14.

I don’t reckon the AFL will sign off on the F/A component they’re relying on.

Really as soon as you start trading assets as part of the deal it’s no longer F/A, it is a trade.

I am sure Dodo knows his ways around that. Good that FA period is before trade period and doesn't overlap.

I reckon Essendon have just landed themselves another Shiel deal. Huge money/contract for someone that we were also into, but ultimately is a long long way from being an A grade player.
That was Dodo’s parting shot of incompetence. 6 years of likely Essendon regret on big money for a mid-range talent. Next year the Don’s may make the finals... but will only make up the numbers. Dodo’s entire career of effort will result in abject failure.

And yet, even after leaving the job, he still gets to stay! WTF?

Is he a silent powerful person’s pet project? Did he kiss that powerful person’s ... Pride. Seriously? WTF? He should be out the door with a foot-print on his ass … and a “never come back“ sign on his back

Rosa is the new head of player selections… but Dodo will still be there!! 😂 saying “I just don’t agree.… you need to fck over every other club“… “stop being considered and nice” … “I gave you my poison chalice, if you don’t drink from it yourself, find someone else dumb enough to try!!“

I am not a Don’s hater, but Dodo staying gets my hackles up.

This whole article is just speculation

one that sends Gresham to Essendon, the bad Shiel contract to StKilda and a first rounder...back to Essendon? Herald Sun once again doing it all for the Bomber clicks

Correct.
And any two clubs can play that same game.

First rounder for Shiel. My God.
You have to laugh. This is supposed to be a media outlet with some credibility. Nothing more than an Essendon rag as we have know for years.

Shiel will be 31 by the time 2024 season rolls around (and comin off an injury) is worth more than Mitchell was last year. FMD

There has been a certain amount of discussion around Bailey Smith and Hawthorn. I believe that Bailey is a Hawk supporter and this is seeming to be a bit of a trend in Hawthorn's recent trading aquisitions. Now while the Herald claims that Bailey will be with the Bulldogs in 2024, others are saying that is not a done deal. I believe on Footy Classified it was suggested that Hawthorn use their first pick in the draft, which was pick 3 but will be pick 5 plus a future? and the Bulldogs would take it in a heart beat.
I belive that this would be a grrat pick up. With pick 5 the club will probably get a great up and coming talented player such as Duursma but he would need a couple of seasons to get the necessary games under the belt. However, Bailey Smith is already there and he is just 22. Breust and Wigard most likely will be entering their final season with the club and Bailey would be the perfect powerful midfield/ forward runner with the X factior to boot.If you had the choice at pick 5 to get Bailey or one of the up and coming under 18 draft crop-I know who I would be taking.
Go Hawks!!

There has been a certain amount of discussion around Bailey Smith and Hawthorn. I believe that Bailey is a Hawk supporter and this is seeming to be a bit of a trend in Hawthorn's recent trading aquisitions. Now while the Herald claims that Bailey will be with the Bulldogs in 2024, others are saying that is not a done deal. I believe on Footy Classified it was suggested that Hawthorn use their first pick in the draft, which was pick 3 but will be pick 5 plus a future? and the Bulldogs would take it in a heart beat.
I belive that this would be a grrat pick up. With pick 5 the club will probably get a great up and coming talented player such as Duursma but he would need a couple of seasons to get the necessary games under the belt. However, Bailey Smith is already there and he is just 22. Breust and Wigard most likely will be entering their final season with the club and Bailey would be the perfect powerful midfield/ forward runner with the X factior to boot.If you had the choice at pick 5 to get Bailey or one of the up and coming under 18 draft crop-I know who I would be taking.
Go Hawks!!

Smith will consider his options at the Doggies if some things don't change next season.

He is top 5 talent. When they get their FA compo they should use it on the kid so they can add to the non KPP brigade.
respectfully dont agree with you, I have him at #8 on my board that I have been working on all year (sounding like a real fun filled bloke here)

I have Reid, Walter, Duursma, McKercher, Watson, Curtin and Read ahead of him as it stands.

He has a great Championships but if they take him top 3 it would raise my eyebrows big time

respectfully dont agree with you, I have him at #8 on my board that I have been working on all year (sounding like a real fun filled bloke here)

I have Reid, Walter, Duursma, McKercher, Watson, Curtin and Read ahead of him as it stands.

He has a great Championships but if they take him top 3 it would raise my eyebrows big time
It would be a high quality top 8 if that is the case