• Jagga Smith

• Harvey Langford

• Josh Smillie

• Alix Tauru

• Murphy Reid

• Other

Results are only viewable after voting.

I definitely get the anxiety about picking both Lalor and Smillie, both have no ceiling, but a bit of bust potential. I think they’re the best option by far, if it plays as it looks it might
I know I have my blinkers on but I don't see much bust potential in those two, the top 7 mids (inc ashcroft) I feel like are all a good chance to make it, but I'd even have fos with the biggest chance of busting. it all depends on who is drafted where

best news for lalor and smillie is we wouldn't have to bulk them up, just a solid recomp

Fox Footy's Phantom Draft

1 Lalor
7 Smillie
12 Lindsay
14 Armstrong
21 Datolli
24 Oliver
27 Matt Whitlock

would be very happy with that but gimme jhitlock>armstrong for the twin towers and pray that hotton lasts til 21

Thanks for taking the time to reply and offer an honest appraisal.

We've had our fair share of those that lack that competitive drive and have been lucky enough to have scored two that do, Reiwoldt and Lynch.

It's what I've been looking for in this pool but just haven't seen it, along with what I consider sub standard skills. Good to hear about Faull and I'm sure that we'll do our due diligence.

One that has piqued an interest is Gerreyn, I think he has the skillset along with that bit of mongrel/competitiveness, just a pity that his exposure in the WAFL was limited to a couple of washed out games where he didn't get a chance to perform. Obviously dominated the Colts given his size, just wondering whether he could transition to playing AFL
I'd feel more confident about Gerreyn becoming an AFL level forward if he'd shown a bit more at the champs. As it is, I think you take him in the middle rounds and accept that he's a risky pick.

apart from labor and smilie, don't think anybody knows what we'll be taking. our team will have to be nimble with the 5 minutes b/w picks. plenty of possibilities and reckon we'll have many offers of swap picks as well. the exciting thing being whoever the 7-8 we pick, there is quality there in talls and smalls. go tigers !!!

You sold on Smillie?
Not especially. I mean I don’t dislike him but I don’t covet him - more often a second possession mid, who doesn’t dominate in the air as he should against U18’s & can really burn the footy.

Do get he’s a stud, who can launch it, and he tested well, just wish he’d play like it more often. Happy to take the ride, especially if the ticket is pick 10, but tallness not enough IMO

About 1/4 of our premiership dynasty were late draft or rookie draft picks that required googling. Back our recruiters in

I’m talking about first round picks … Ala Jarrod Oakley Nicholls and Reece Conca. I’m the biggest supporter of our recruiters and list
management team .. much to the annoyance of others in multiple threads.

I know I have my blinkers on but I don't see much bust potential in those two, the top 7 mids (inc ashcroft) I feel like are all a good chance to make it, but I'd even have fos with the biggest chance of busting. it all depends on who is drafted where

best news for lalor and smillie is we wouldn't have to bulk them up, just a solid recomp

would be very happy with that but gimme jhitlock>armstrong for the twin towers and pray that hotton lasts til 21
all aboard on J Whitlock
Really the only 200cm power forward / 2nd ruck option in this draft.
That’s a big list requirement for us.

Yesterday or day before Fos was rated 6th or 7th today back to one so the merry go rounds continue thank f by tomorrow this nightmare will be over lol
geelong are paying media muppets to throw our draft team off

Don’t wanna get my hopes up re Lindsay, as like someone said in here, there’s been barely any link from us to him. Compared to the noise with Lalor, Smillie, Allan.

But then again we’re not saying much.

He’s a serious weapon, we need elite elite skills, we’ve lost a serious cog in Rioli

I loved Rioli and he gave great drive and speed off half back with brilliant agility, but he was not an elite user of the ball like Whitfield or Houston.

I’m talking about first round picks … Ala Jarrod Oakley Nicholls and Reece Conca. I’m the biggest supporter of our recruiters and list
management team .. much to the annoyance of others in multiple threads.

Say what you want about Conca, whilat unlucky with injuries, he was still a 150 game player which is above average for a top ten pick, further above the cursed pick 6 average.

Smillie has some pretty special highlights

We need to remember his champs performances were down a bit as he wasn’t playing heaps of midfield as he could play other positions unlike many others.

I’m stoked if we get Smilie at 6… who cares if he’s not a great overhead mark? People only care about this because he’s 195cm … if he was 188cm it wouldn’t even rate a mention and he’d still go at pick-6 with his clearance skills, power, balance and ball use.

all aboard on J Whitlock
Really the only 200cm power forward / 2nd ruck option in this draft.
That’s a big list requirement for us.
I do also like gerryn as a fwd/ruck, but our picks are too early I think for where you'd want him, big risk

and if our plan to fix our kpf stocks rely on us trading back and having him still available, I don't think he'd be a part of our plans unless something goes awfully wrong

I do sometimes wonder if I'm just too harsh on tall forwards in general and I have my biases, so perhaps take my opinion with a grain of salt. There's every chance one or all of these guys are going to make it.

I prefer my key forwards to be highly competitive and have some white line fever. I think its far more common for the key forwards who lack that competitive drive to end up as busts, like Schache and Weideman.

The toughtest key forward competitor in the pool is Jonty Faull without a doubt. He was fantastic at the tail end of last year, entered the season as the top ranked key forward prospect and a top 10 fancy. But then he had the back injury, and just didn't really look like the same guy even after he got back on the field. He kicked some bags, but wasn't moving freely and didn't look right to me. Back injuries are a probably for tall guys. I'd want to see the medical report on that, but if it looks like its not going to linger then I'd take Jonty over the others.

I agree with this. Just because you’re 198cm, it doesn’t mean you love physical contact and getting smashed in marking contests by similar sized defenders. At junior level only a very small number of players match the really tall forwards physically, and there’s nowhere near the same level of defensive numbers or defenders willing to throw themselves into every contest without care for their own safety - like Rance, McGovern, Moore, Wilkie, McCartin etc….

This is why Boyd, Schache, Weidemann, P Wright, Max King and many more could never replicate their junior prowess … they simply didn’t relish or welcome the physical side of the game needed to be a gun forward.

I do also like gerryn as a fwd/ruck, but our picks are too early I think for where you'd want him, big risk

and if our plan to fix our kpf stocks rely on us trading back and having him still available, I don't think he'd be a part of our plans unless something goes awfully wrong
Gerryn has plenty of admirers, I’m over in the west at the moment, and he was being interviewed on local news and mentioned being keen to get over to VIC . We were one of the clubs he mentioned (Hawks and Pies there other 2).

I’m not a big fan. I didn’t see him crashing packs, or clunking too many contested marks in the Nationals. And at his size you’d probably expect that. He dominated some junior games over in WA later in the season, so maybe there’s late development.

Say what you want about Conca, whilat unlucky with injuries, he was still a 150 game player which is above average for a top ten pick, further above the cursed pick 6 average.

I remember that draft well and there were loads of highly rated players we bypassed to reach for Conca, so it peeved me at the time - and he never lived up anywhere close to his top-6 billing.

Looking back now on a phantom draft at the time and Conca was rated 21st … and we reached at 6. Was just a strange selection at the time.

I know almost everyone has us taking Smillie at 6.

After the pod tonight I watched 10 min of footage of him and I honestly didn't have anything jump out at me saying 'yep, we MUST take this guy'.

If Jagga or Draper somehow get to 6 I'd be all on board for them I think.

List Mgmt. 2024 Draft - The Final Countdown