• Jagga Smith

• Harvey Langford

• Josh Smillie

• Alix Tauru

• Murphy Reid

• Other

Results are only viewable after voting.

Agree with this but Smillie did average 24 in his two afl academy games vs VFL competition (Footscray and Coburg).

Personally I’d take Smillie over Allen, but not by much and would love both.

agree, I would too - just pointing out the false narrative. Academy games vs VFL aren't quite the same as playing at the level either IMO, you're still playing amongst your peers as opposed to fitting in with a team of seniors with established structures etc., but point taken

Definitely not on par with WAFL finals.

Don’t come to hard at me since I’m the first to admit I have nfi when it comes to the draft

But would Vlastuin be a similar type of player to Allan in terms of early years and ability to play midfield and half back?

I understand Allan is a little taller but just in terms of how they play

Don’t come to hard at me since I’m the first to admit I have nfi when it comes to the draft

But would Vlastuin be a similar type of player to Allan in terms of early years and ability to play midfield and half back?

yep

But Allan a much much better athlete, and more a midfielder

I know a lot of people are complaining about Adding Lalor, Allan and Smillie into our midfield would make us slow, but their ball winning and defensive capabilities mitigate this.

Look at Sydney a few years ago with Keiran Jack, Tom Mitchell, Luke Parker and Josh Kennedy. They weren't very quick midfield but they were a very good midfield unit because they could all win their own ball, and worked hard to shut down the contest, not allowing teams to explode from the contest.

Reckon we will try to model this as well.
Does it matter the SCG is a lot smaller than most other grounds especially our MCG?

On SM-A426B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Possibly. I've heard Allan played most of his junior footy as a rebounding defender. Only switched to midfield this year
Maybe the club figure if he doesn't make it as a midfielder he can switch back to defence. I'd rather pick best available at pick 6. We'll see what happens I guess.

I think a slide from the Saints is odds on if they take Tauru at 7.

It won't be sliding back to 10 or 11, because we don't have the assets to facilitate it. The Saints want to split 8 but only if they get 2 x 1st round picks back, so going from 8 to 10 would see us giving up say pick 23, too expensive for us.

They might be tempted with 23 & 20 though. Would leave us with 1-6-8-10-11 and there's a world where we land...

Pick 1: Lalor
Pick 6: Smillie
Pick 8: Allan
Pick 10: Lindsay
Pick 11: J Whitlock
Pick 18: Oliver
Pick 24: Faull
JFC mate. Atleast lube us up first 😂

In all seriousness. Our picks are all on the table.

7,8 and F1 according to mission yesterday.

But a trade with you blokes would have to involve 10 in some capacity so we can take Lindsay. (You would imagine)

I’d be perfectly happy swapping 7,8 for 6,10.

We take Smillie at 6 and Lindsay at 10.

You blokes Grab Allan & Travaglia (or Tauru)

Hard to remember back 12 years ago, and I’m probably influenced by vlas’ career when considering him as a prospect but it’s a decent comparison. Both highly credentialed leaders and fearless. Vlas a better decision maker and kick, Allen a far superior athlete.

Allen is more Jordan Dawson than Vlastuin.

Seeing a bit of Jack crisp. No fuss kinda player

Have warmed to Smilie now that he seems to be more so in our targets. If Twomey puts him in the phantom draft it probably happens. He's usually bang on.

Guys that have physical gifts that are out of the box different are generally the best/most damaging players in the AFL. Bont, Dusty, Fyfe, Dangerfield, Cripps, Pendlebury, Dane Swan, Judd types. All of them are physically big, strong and/or explosive. Ablett Jnr was not tall but had the best core strength of any player I've ever seen. Along with the best explosion I've probably seen.

Physical traits that separate them. Smilie is huge and moves well. Once that frame fills out completely he is a top 1% physical freak.

Yes, there are Neale types but I would argue there are way less of these smaller types who have dominated the AFL over the last 10+ years. Compile a list of the best mids over the last decade plus and tell me I'm wrong.

FOS and Jagga Smith are both small for modern day midfielders. They don't have physical traits that separate them. FOS has a sidestep and elusiveness but not the size. They both looks special in certain areas to compensate but with that size they need it.

I know a lot of people are complaining about Adding Lalor, Allan and Smillie into our midfield would make us slow, but their ball winning and defensive capabilities mitigate this.

Look at Sydney a few years ago with Keiran Jack, Tom Mitchell, Luke Parker and Josh Kennedy. They weren't very quick midfield but they were a very good midfield unit because they could all win their own ball, and worked hard to shut down the contest, not allowing teams to explode from the contest.

Lalor dosnt look slow. He seems to have a burst ala.......D.Martin

None of those 3 boys are slow, Lalor and Allan are fast, Smillie fast for his size.

Literally nothing alike, dumb campaigner

this narrative about him averaging 11 touches therefore being unable to win the ball is so weird... no consideration for it being at state league level? A level Smillie didn't even play at this year? Not to mention he averaged more touches than Smillie did during the champs (20 vs 19)

Speaking of his WAFL performances, sure he had some quiet weeks - to be expected - but there were plenty of highlights too, a 20 disposal game (rd 18 vs Claremont), a 16 disposal 11 tackle game (rd 14 vs WC), and he played pretty well in the GF where he was entrusted with a midfield role.

Not saying I think he's the best choice at 6 but don't cherry pick stats to suit your argument.

It’s really strange isn’t it

I suppose there might be ways of doing it without exposing the club to any risk. For eg:

1. Recruiter meets a player informally, takes the opportunity to sell the benefits of playing at his club
2. Player, suitably impressed, equires what sort of position he would need to get to in the draft to land at the recruiters club
3. Recruiter says "our 2nd pick we would certainly take you"
4. Player enquires as to how he could best make this happen
5. Recruiter says I can't tell you that & we are certainly not allowed to instruct players to play below their capabilities, but my suggestion would be speak to your manager and see if he can assist you with some suggested strategies.
6. Player speaks to manager. Manager says I am not allowed to advise you to play below your capabilities, but if you wished to fall to position x in the draft to get to your favoured club - & they have committed to taking you with that pick, it would clearly require that enough players play better than you to make you fall to that position.
7. Player hits a moderate patch of form.
Load of dribble.

What's happened in 24 hours that now sees us Taking Allen as a lock now?

Which player do we jump on as a certainty on draft day?

Nothings changed. Our recruiting team just isn’t talking so Twomey is making “educated” guesses based on what other clubs are telling him we might do and what he’s hearing from managers.

We have the most to gain from the first round and conversely the most to lose. It’s a poker game as much as a draft.

I think Smillie makes it past st kilda, they love runners and endurance athletes. I think Melbourne could take Smillie at 9 if tauru is off the board, but maybe they look at Armstrong or a small like Joe berry if tauru is off the board. Anyone have any insight into Melbournes plans? Heard their recruiter say they are going best available as opposed to previous years when they’ve occasionally gone for needs, sounds like something you’d say when bluffing

The idea Richmond would suggest to a player that they tank to any degree is ridiculous. What happens when that leaks? Why would Richmond be so stupid and take that risk? Would set the club back a long way.
Imagine the fines and loss of draft picks we’d get if we asked a draftee to tank. I’m with you, absolute rubbish. Tiger’s would be stupid/mad to suggest anything like that.

List Mgmt. 2024 Draft - The Final Countdown