List Mgmt. 2024 Draft/Trade/FA Thread – Tom Campbell the first (of many) big fish to join the Dees 🐟🎣

Who do you want with Pick 5 (6)?

• Luke Trainor (194cm, Key Defender, Sandringham Dragons)

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Bo Allan (191cm, Midfielder/Defender, Peel Thunder)

• Tobie Travaglia (187cm, Defender, Bendigo Pioneers)

• Taj Hotton (182cm, Forward/Midfielder, Sandringham Dragons)

• Alix Tauru (191cm, Key Defender, Gippsland Power)

Confirmed outs:
  • Angus Brayshaw (Retired)
  • Ben Brown (Retired)
  • Lachie Hunter (Retired)
  • Josh Schache (Delisted)
  • Kyah Farris-White (Delisted)

Confirmed ins:
  • Tom Campbell (Free Agent)

Last edited by a moderator:
If we could trade Clarry for F1 or R1 pick this year and open up 1-1.1m in cap space would you:

A) trade for Dan Houston with Clarry and Nibs picks (F1 + 28) and pay him 8-900k so we still have ~200k spare

or

B) keep the picks, hit the draft and bank the cap
You can't bank the cap with the floor the way it is.

GEELONG list manager Andrew Mackie says the club's interest in Clayton Oliver was "fleeting" and the Cats are keen to put any trade talk to bed.

Oliver met with the Cats last week before Melbourne president Brad Green seemingly shut down any trade prospects over the weekend.

Mackie says the Cats have moved on from the possibility of recruiting the star Demon.

"Melbourne has come out and had their stance on it and we're respectful of that," Mackie told Trade Radio.

"He's got six years to go on a contract so from our end, it was fleeting.

"When he was up for a catch up, we obliged. It's always time well spent ... but we'll just put it to bed." - Martin Smith

GEELONG list manager Andrew Mackie says the club's interest in Clayton Oliver was "fleeting" and the Cats are keen to put any trade talk to bed.

Oliver met with the Cats last week before Melbourne president Brad Green seemingly shut down any trade prospects over the weekend.

Mackie says the Cats have moved on from the possibility of recruiting the star Demon.

"Melbourne has come out and had their stance on it and we're respectful of that," Mackie told Trade Radio.

"He's got six years to go on a contract so from our end, it was fleeting.

"When he was up for a catch up, we obliged. It's always time well spent ... but we'll just put it to bed." - Martin Smith

Pretty funny from Mackie. Trying to sell it like Geelong weren't even that into Oliver.

Anyone catch Lambs interview? Sounds like he has SFA planned and isn’t entertaining anything.

**** Tim Lamb and this trade period.

Another year where SFA is done all whilst watching the likes of Collingwood and Geelong improve their list.

Do we want to sell the farm in terms of picks for 27 year Olds? In this case you can't criticise Lamb because he is "doing something". Or do we want to revitalise the list via the draft? In this case Lamb is apparently useless because he is doing nothing.

I am quite happy with the "do little" approach. Much rather JT target the guys he wants and start the rebuild than kid ourselves we are still in the premiership window by topping up (only to properly bottom out when Tassie hits the league).

DO NOTHING TIM LAMB! (please).

So Collingwood with zero draft capital will nab Perryman and most likely Houston this offseason lol. That's a better haul than what Tim Lamb has managed in 4 offseasons. Absolute scrub of a list manager. We've had clear issues in the front half and midfield yet have done SFA. I don't care how hard a sell it is, if our list manager isn't capable of landing anything decent in 4 years, while watching nearly every club improve their list, then he's gotta go. Throw in the contract debacles. Sheesh. How the hell does he still have a job?

He has pictures.

What do you want him to do if no decent player wants to join us while our club is a mess.
Mate, he hasn't done anything for 4 years. Plus, that's a small club mentality. If a list manager can't sell the club, or can't convince anyone decent to join us while in a premiership window(granted this offseason is different but the last 3 we were well and truly in it), then you move them on and try and get someone in who is capable. Isn't he a fn police officer or some s*? Just his voice infuriates me. Incredibly incompetent. Holding out hope this review will see him gone.

He has pictures.
He and Goody simply have to go..can't stand either of them. Both have f*d us over completely. Pert can redeem himself by giving these two their marching orders immediately after this review.

Wtf is our strategy? If Lamb honestly can't land anyone, then sell the farm and head to the draft. We're losing quality depth or good players and replacing them with duds. Even if we blew the place up, or sold the farm.for Houston it shows we are doing something. The club are just sitting on their hands expecting the same blokes to keep winning games of footy. What's the path here? It's either rebuild or have another serious crack. We just seem to be doing neither last 2 or 3 years.

Mate, he hasn't done anything for 4 years. Plus, that's a small club mentality. If a list manager can't sell the club, or can't convince anyone decent to join us while in a premiership window(granted this offseason is different but the last 3 we were well and truly in it), then you move them on and try and get someone in who is capable. Isn't he a fn police officer or some s*? Just his voice infuriates me. Incredibly incompetent. Holding out hope this review will see him gone.
Well given he's an ex-cop he might have leverage somehow, IDK.

He and Goody simply have to go..can't stand either of them. Both have f*d us over completely. Pert can redeem himself by giving these two their marching orders immediately after this review.
Yep a couple of cue-balls in the corner pocket.

Hey guys,

Can someone please explain Tim Lamb to me? He seems like the most out of his depth person I've seen speak in a long time.

Literally just straight up lied when interviewed, and acting like it's all 'hunky dory' at Melbourne, Oliver wasn't offered up for trade, and Oliver is perfectly fine and happy...and it's not unusual that he went and had a meeting with us...after liking an Instagram post about joining us.

I know you had Pert and co. saying 'best culture ever', so it seems aligned with that...but surely you can't believe this crap when all of the aforementioned has taken place?

I actually liked what Morris said better, as it made a lot more sense - 'Pert made contact with a couple of other clubs regarding Oliver, Oliver's management got wind of this and Oliver decided to look at Geelong as a place of interest...once Green and the board got wind of this, they shut it down and made the call that he wouldn't be leaving.'

The above sounds much better, and at least admits fault/dedication to player, rather than 'nope never happened, nothing to see here...he loves us and everything is fine - insert dog sitting in fiery room with coffee cup gif

How are they getting Houston exactly?

He did sell the club by all reports had Houston lined up it fell through cause of the mess off the club, Even when there was reports Melb was going to get Houston bring in good player supporters where still whinging. Seems whether Melb bring in players or look to hit the draft hard Supporters just complain.

Because we are 14th with no clear list strategy as our list continues to degrade while our competitors consistently improve there’s around us.

The Lamb bashing here is 100% on the money, bloke is just going about the motions trying to survive another day.

List Mgmt. 2024 Draft/Trade/FA Thread – Tom Campbell the first (of many) big fish to join the Dees 🐟🎣