AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Out-of-favour North Melbourne midfielder Will Phillips is expected to be at a rival club next season.
The off-contract 22-year-old has managed just three senior games this year thus far. He has just 35 AFL matches to his name since being drafted at No. 3 overall in the 2020 national draft.
“I don’t think Will Phillips will be at North Melbourne next year,” Herald Sun journalist Sam Landsberger told Fox Footy’s Midweek Tackle.
OOC next season
Here we goIt's obvious managers and clubs are starting to squeeze the club.
I know it's harsh but the club may have to start thinking about moving on someone who is on decent coin, over 30 and clearly outside the best 22.
Parker is a club great, however the club needs to think with its head and not it's heart. It's not worth losing a potential 10 year player for the sake of an ageing legend who's not even in the best 22 anymore
It's not about pissing him off. It's about making sure we have the financial flexibility to keep this list together. You don't want to lose someone like logan or chad and have Parker sitting in the vfl on 500+.Here we go
Just piss him off then
There were concerns over his character. He would have gone much earlier otherwise.Arie Schoenmaker, drafted at No. 62 from Tasmania, is debuting for St Kilda against Brisbane tonight.
Did we take Patrick Snell at No. 53 ahead of Schoenmaker?
The young Tasmanian has shown a bit down back tonight for the Saints. A good size, and is a beautiful left foot kick.
Character concerns and he went to St KildaThere were concerns over his character. He would have gone much earlier otherwise.
No current season stats available
I’m not sure we need to save coin, but agree that if so Parker would be a good player to move on. Several building clubs would value his services and I reckon he is on good coin.It's obvious managers and clubs are starting to squeeze the club.
I know it's harsh but the club may have to start thinking about moving on someone who is on decent coin, over 30 and clearly outside the best 22.
Parker is a club great, however the club needs to think with its head and not it's heart. It's not worth losing a potential 10 year player for the sake of an ageing legend who's not even in the best 22 anymore
Ok fair enough, the coaches are closer and would have done their due diligence.There were concerns over his character. He would have gone much earlier otherwise.
He was actually in the range of our pick that we took Green with but his character made him drop out of the first day and then he kept on dropping until Saints took a stab with him and looks like it paid off. Basically the same characteristics as Blakey so would have been interesting if we had grabbed himOk fair enough, the coaches are closer and would have done their due diligence.
With Tassie coming in 2028, the go-home factor might also have been on their minds.
Won't happen. Clubs with culture don't do this stuff.I’m not sure we need to save coin, but agree that if so Parker would be a good player to move on. Several building clubs would value his services and I reckon he is on good coin.
He really stretched out his last negotiation and got 4 years (which felt too long to me at the time) - though who knows, maybe the swans were low balling him and he was fighting just to get a fair price.
If it did happen (and again, I don’t think we should need to offload players to save coin), it would need to be mutual.Won't happen. Clubs with culture don't do this stuff.
Parker I don't think would be on huge money anyway and he's required player for my mind especially if Sheldricks injuries keep cropping up. Adams is not known for being injury free either.
I don't think we would save that much cash and Parker is only contracted until end of next year.
If he wants to move fair enough.
There were concerns over his character. He would have gone much earlier otherwise.
Nah im massive on Harvey Langford, Jobe Shanahan, Josh Murphy, Archer Day-Wicks. Think we take atleast 1 medium forward need to start branching out and looking at other potential weak points, maybe another small forward? But is that just feeling weak because Corey Warner has been out for a large chunk of the year?Random question but is Jett McLaughlan on the draft radar this year?
He's on Rookie Me Central because of a record yo yo test and that he's playing for the northern knights. Played in the loss to the Tassie Devils. All I could spot.Random question but is Jett McLaughlan on the draft radar this year?
If it did happen (and again, I don’t think we should need to offload players to save coin), it would need to be mutual.
But it might happen without coin being an issue. Longmire will be upfront with Parker about his starting chances next year. If they are low, I reckon Parker may want to explore an option elsewhere. He could sign a 2-3 year contract with another team (vs one year at Sydney) with almost guaranteed starting chances and a potential pay bump.
I can’t see Sydney standing in Parker’s way if he wanted this (to your point on culture, we ensure good player outcomes where we can).
He might not be on the bench as such, but he has definitely been around plenty of match day. Seen him the last two home games we've been to in the lead up to games.It will just be interesting , thinking from Parker's perspective and not the clubs. If he feels he is just getting in when others are hurt, will he want to get out?
It's kind of odd he isn't on the bench or around like Mills (while suspended) to pass on experience (unless I Missed him ). He also is not really the man I want to rush back for a final.
But yeah maybe he gets back in at some stage , just haven't missed his dump kicks,
Campbell tried to replicate them.
I have no issues reducing the ability to use lots of junk picks for points to get high ranked players. Think it is a sensible change, as long as done within reason.I don’t hate the changes to be honest, think something had to be done and this is a compromise
I have no issues reducing the ability to use lots of junk picks for points to get high ranked players. Think it is a sensible change, as long as done within reason.