Preview 2024 Elimination Final Carlton vs Brisbane Saturday 7th September 7:30PM AEST @ The Gabba

I am big believer that you can’t take players into finals that aren’t close to fully fit and I don’t care how talented

TDK can’t even train yet
Martin can’t train at all for long
Docherty for all the story and how good he is can’t just come into a final
Moir for all he has shown is a risk for 4 quarters
Cerra has missed too much footy with a recurring injury

I will take 23 fit players any day. Finals need 4 quarters of sustained team effort

I am big believer that you can’t take players into finals that aren’t close to fully fit and I don’t care how talented

TDK can’t even train yet

I will take 23 fit players any day. Finals need 4 quarters of sustained team effort
Do we have 23 fit players though?

How could anyone expect Martin to see out a game? I’d be horrified if they selected him.
It is the last roll of the dice for him.......Would need to be pushed to breaking point on the track this week and if he can get through that genuinely without any soreness/stiffness then I would change my mind on Jack.

Should play......He is just TOO GOOD to leave out. Could be the difference.
Having said that not likely he will get up.

I also feel that no way Lord is left out. Vossy good as said so, he is a ripper.

Moir too, needs to be retained in some capacity and Binns would be very stiff if not selected.

At least Moir has played every game this year. He will have built a base and be building further.

This time of the year, most players across the league would be carrying a niggle

Coaches/clubs know/state that a 90% best 22 player is a better option than a 100% fit fringe player

In H, CC, Williams, Gov, Doc
Out Owies, Carroll, Fanta, Binns, Moir

Newman - Young - Gov
Saad - Wieters - Cowan
Ollie - Cripps - Acres
Pitto - Walsh - Hewitt
EH - Charlie - Kemp
Williams - H - Motts
Kennedy - Lord - Cinc - Doc Durdin
Don’t mind it AB but I would swap Durdin and Moir
Moir to stay in as sub
Durdin too risky- shoulder

The potential Doc return is definitely engulfing the media’s attention and straddling them away from Charlie looking hindered. If Charlie does play then he’ll command Andrews which means we should look to target Harry and Kemp more who will have inferior opponents (compared to Andrews).

Kemp could play a negating role on Andrews

Comment to me is that Charlie needs at least 6-8 Weeks rest on his foot to get it right

Depends which Pittonet turns up.
This year I have seen him play some great footy and look great and then absolutely go missing in others
Main thing is we stop McInerney winning and controlling the hitouts cleanly and controlled. If he gets to put it where he wants it and gets distance on his hitouts like last year, we are in trouble. I don't care if Pitto hardly gets a touch, this is number one.

I'm sceptical because Pitto is shorter, outreached and doesn't jump. A ruck like McInerney needs to be jumped into and disrupted.

Andrews has taken McKay the last two matchups from memory. Payne/Gardiner taken Charlie

Who would you rather roaming I50?

Mots or Martin?

Martin on 1 leg offers way more than Mots presently.

I'll leave it up to the MC...

Martin ks cooked….Kemp will be taking Martin role….need Williams and at least another small forward to keep that pressure up….

I know they will name Charlie but if he’s not 100% I’d go McKay and Kemp with Kennedy as the talls…..Then keep Fanta in

TDK can’t even train yet

You can put the house on Doc being recalled

Listen to Cripps talk after training….Voss the same….We won’t know if it’s the right or wrong call until after the game

But if Doc plays you can rule Martin, TKD and Cerra out….they won’t go with that many risks

Don’t mind it AB but I would swap Durdin and Moir
Moir to stay in as sub
Durdin too risky- shoulder

It’s really tough…you could make a case for Moir, Binns and Fanta to all stay in the side…

Motts is struggling to get near it at times
but he’s the type of forward that could bob up and change the momentum of the game with a cheeky goalmouth snap or some forward pressure…

Owies loss is canceled out by Williams but we need another 1-2 smalls at the feet of the big boys

It’s really tough…you could make a case for Moir, Binns and Fanta to all stay in the side…

Motts is struggling to get near it at times
but he’s the type of forward that could bob up and change the momentum of the game with a cheeky goalmouth snap or some forward pressure…

Owies loss is canceled out by Williams but we need another 1-2 smalls at the feet of the big boys

Not only is Mots struggling to get near it... defensively he's been a disaster...

I reckon Fanta stays in.

Retraction of earlier call from my source.
From the horses mouth.
TDK is playing.

Who would you rather roaming I50?

Mots or Martin?

Martin on 1 leg offers way more than Mots presently.

I'll leave it up to the MC...
Only problem is Martin would be literally on one leg 5 minutes into the game and most likely on the bench not long after icing it … don’t get me wrong Motlop should not be playing either …

This time of the year, most players across the league would be carrying a niggle

Coaches/clubs know/state that a 90% best 22 player is a better option than a 100% fit fringe player
Unclear who the options might be though
Eg is it ....
Binns v Doc ?
Moir v Martin/Kemp?
Williams v Durdin/Motlop?
Lord v Carroll?
Fantasia v ??