Preview 2024 Elimination Final Carlton vs Brisbane Saturday 7th September 7:30PM AEST @ The Gabba

I am big believer that you can’t take players into finals that aren’t close to fully fit and I don’t care how talented

TDK can’t even train yet
Martin can’t train at all for long
Docherty for all the story and how good he is can’t just come into a final
Moir for all he has shown is a risk for 4 quarters
Cerra has missed too much footy with a recurring injury

I will take 23 fit players any day. Finals need 4 quarters of sustained team effort
Hawks player said before the game they knew Carlton couldn’t run out four quarters. He said when they heard there were injuries it only made them go harder. My concern is guys like Motlop and Williams have no tank either. They can’t gut run. For this reason I would play Doc. He can run.

My concern is guys like Motlop and Williams have no tank either. They can’t gut run. For this reason I would play Doc. He can run.

🤔 Doc is only just back training and has only played a half a game all year? Can we expect him to play a full game?

The concern I have (which you raised) is we may have Williams McGovern, maybe Motlop, maybe Moir who’s fitness has question marks and we want to add Docherty?

It’s a big call which ever way we go

yeah i assume just having subluxations when shoulder is forced in the right orientation...strengthening the rotor cuffs will help
Depends, if there is bone damage.

I've got chunks of bone missing from both the ball and socket. So when they align, my arm just slips out of the joint because there's nothing mechanical holding it in.

Doesn't matter how strong the rotator cuff is.

On SM-F926B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Pittonet won't be doing that against McInerney, he will dominate him and just reach over him as he has in the past.

TDK is very good at keeping the ball in a 50/50 situation which most sides are happy with. We would be as well if our mobility and pressure was a bit better. The fact that our midfield seems to need control from the ruckman to perform suggests that the followers are the issue and not the ruckman.

He could improve his palming a little better, but there are some rucks you really don't want to be going in with Pittonet.

If anyone wants to know what I am talking about, go to the AFL site, click replay on last years preliminary final and watch the first hitout. It wasn't even a good one but look how easily he wont it. When McInerney got comfortable as the game went on he just took control.

We can't take Pittonet into this one... Unless he has something different up his sleeve.
Pitto needs to do what Xerri did to TDK. Repeatedly stomp on his foot, knee in the ribs, and so on.

How rude.

🤔 Doc is only just back training and has only played a half a game all year? Can we expect him to play a full game?

The concern I have (which you raised) is we may have Williams McGovern, maybe Motlop, maybe Moir who’s fitness has question marks and we want to add Docherty?

It’s a big call which ever way we go
Doc with no game time would run further in a game FOR SURE by miles than Motlop and William’s. He laps them in preseason running. If his knee is right he will give us a LOT of running power. I have him at about number 7 in runners at the club. Cotts, Binns, Ollie, Lij, Charlie, Acres and then Doc.

In a 2km race he would beat William’s and Motlop by over a minute. Footy fit or not he def adds to us.

Depends, if there is bone damage.

I've got chunks of bone missing from both the ball and socket. So when they align, my arm just slips out of the joint because there's nothing mechanical holding it in.

Doesn't matter how strong the rotator cuff is.

Yeah He may need surgery as well but strengthening the 3 rotor cuffs would help.

In my case strengthening the rotor cuffs stopped sublaxations and I still play contact sports in old man comps. 👴

Am I the only one that doesn't want Docherty to play? After such a short lay-off from an ACL, my heart will be in my mouth every time he goes near the ball.
No there are a few of us that don’t want to risk it with doc…for his and the teams sake.

Running around at trainings does not give you match gfitness unfortunately.

Doc with no game time would run further in a game FOR SURE by miles than Motlop and William’s. He laps them in preseason running. If his knee is right he will give us a LOT of running power. I have him at about number 7 in runners at the club. Cotts, Binns, Ollie, Lij, Charlie, Acres and then Doc.

In a 2km race he would beat William’s and Motlop by over a minute. Footy fit or not he def adds to us.
Im sure you would already know this but Running freely in straight lines is not the same as running in a game…back and forth and sideways whilst getting bumped tackled pushed/pulled/contact very different

Martin ks cooked….Kemp will be taking Martin role….need Williams and at least another small forward to keep that pressure up….

I know they will name Charlie but if he’s not 100% I’d go McKay and Kemp with Kennedy as the talls…..Then keep Fanta in
you didn't answer the question.
Only problem is Martin would be literally on one leg 5 minutes into the game and most likely on the bench not long after icing it … don’t get me wrong Motlop should not be playing either …
let's see what the MC determines, reckon they have better insights on a player's fitness than us.

Im sure you would already know this but Running freely in straight lines is not the same as running in a game…back and forth and sideways whilst getting bumped tackled pushed/pulled/contact very different
Yeah it is.

But my comments stand. He would murder them in any physical competition you set them. Wrestling. Repeat sprinting. Running. Bumping. Tackling. Cross fit. Burpees. Tumbling. Side planks.

Pick whatever you want. Any day of the week he would flog them at any contest.

So if we are talking “ability to get through games” then PICK HIM.

Cowan Weitering Young
Saad McGovern Newman
Acres Cripps O Hollands
E Hollands Harry Fantasia
Williams Charlie Kemp

Pittonet Hewett Walsh

IC: Cincotta, Kennedy, Docherty TDK
Sub: Lord
EM : Carrol/Binns

Cowan Weitering Young
Saad McGovern Newman
Acres Cripps O Hollands
Williams Charlie Kemp

Pittonet Hewett Walsh

In MCG Harry Williams Charlie Doc TDk
Out Motlop Carroll Durdin Binns Owies Moir

Cowan Weitering Young
Saad McGovern Newman
Acres Cripps O Hollands
Williams Charlie Kemp

Pittonet Hewett Walsh

Reckon Binns stays. I don’t see TDk playing. Reckon Lord in the 22 with Fantasia Sub - he couldn’t run out the game against Saints.

It’s really tough…you could make a case for Moir, Binns and Fanta to all stay in the side…

Motts is struggling to get near it at times
but he’s the type of forward that could bob up and change the momentum of the game with a cheeky goalmouth snap or some forward pressure…

Owies loss is canceled out by Williams but we need another 1-2 smalls at the feet of the big boys
Yes, we need a couple of little crummers, applying pressure and getting to dangerous positions.

However, I don't want to see Motlop named after his pathetic display last week. We were basically playing one man down

against the aints, because of him.

Am I the only one that doesn't want Docherty to play? After such a short lay-off from an ACL, my heart will be in my mouth every time he goes near the ball.

i'd be ok with him not playing, put it that way. not sure who he replaces aside fom binns, ollie/carroll half back, or someone else such as lord/walsh moving to elsewhere on the ground. his ball usage will be at least as suspect as any of those i've mentioned.

Hawks player said before the game they knew Carlton couldn’t run out four quarters. He said when they heard there were injuries it only made them go harder. My concern is guys like Motlop and Williams have no tank either. They can’t gut run. For this reason I would play Doc. He can run.
At least with Willo, we know he is class. Has burst speed and knows how to kick a goal. Maybe he should be instructed to

stay inside forward 50, at all times. Going to be warm up there and we don't want to see him get gassed.