AFLW 2024 Fixture

One must wonder what still needs to be "seriously considered" at this point re a night Grand Final.

If they were going to make the final decision based on venue (i.e. dim lights at Norwood Oval might be a deterrent) then fair enough. But that's not what today's Riley Beveridge article says:
clubs have become aware it is now a possibility the season's showpiece event will be played at night regardless of where it’s held

Anyway, if the AFL does go ahead with it, I sense people will kneejerk complain. A game in late November pushed back out of the heat of the blazing sun, what a travesty!

If North or Hawthorn host, surely the AFL could pay the BMX guys some compo to move it to Sunday and just have the Grand Final at Docklands on a Saturday night where they can get a decent crowd.

The atmosphere at the Grand Final I admit was good last year, but having the big game at a very small venue is detrimental to the game. The girls deserve to be playing in front of more than 13k. I'm glad common sense will likely prevail next year and the season will start and finish earlier.

If North or Hawthorn host, surely the AFL could pay the BMX guys some compo to move it to Sunday and just have the Grand Final at Docklands on a Saturday night where they can get a decent crowd.

The atmosphere at the Grand Final I admit was good last year, but having the big game at a very small venue is detrimental to the game. The girls deserve to be playing in front of more than 13k. I'm glad common sense will likely prevail next year and the season will start and finish earlier.
Princes Park has also been ruined as a venue in my opinion. With two of the old stands demolished and the other two not usable by spectators, the entire ground has a very disjointed, mangled feeling to it. At it's peak capacity it would have been the perfect venue for it.

I agree. They should have built the shed not on the fence line so more seating could have been included! Why couldn’t they put money into restoring the heritage grandstand and making the other ‘media’ stand fan friendly? Could have even built the shed on that part of the ground too!

They build it up as the home of AFLW but it is a terrible venue. Not as bad as Punt Road but still terrible. In my opinion Mission Whitten Oval is now the best Melbourne AFLW venue (that isn’t used for mens matches) in the competition.

The track takes days to build, can't just play footy there one day and have supercross the next.

Plus multiple concerts by both Coldplay and Pearl Jam throughout November means the turf will be wrecked anyway.

Being able to use the cricket grounds would be the perfect venue for it.

Imagine if Carlton or Essendon ever got to host, with the drought their men's team have they'd pull a good crowd at the MCG.

North definitely would have gotten a good crowd at Docklands.

Not to mention the amount of neutrals that would go, especially the support women in sport brigade.

If we ever earn the right to host, it NEEDS to be at the Gabba, the Brisbane public would 100% fill the Gabba. It's gotten to a point where I don't want us to finish minor premiers because a GF at Springfield or Carrara just isn't it.

At the very latest, it should be released immediately upon the conclusion of the Freo-Dogs game. The matchups are going to be exactly as ladder form suggested, no reason the AFL shouldn't already have it sorted.

I'm expecting it'll be announced Tuesday night... (or Monday 11am per last year... but that's still silly)

If Freo finish fifth which looks certain now, my educated guess is:

Saturday
North v Adelaide at Princes Park 3.05pm AEDT
Fremantle v Essendon at Fremantle Oval 7.15pm AEDT/4.15pm AWST (maybe a little bit earlier if 7 want to show it on the main channel in WA, it's gonna be on 7mate in Victoria anyway).

Sunday
Hawthorn v Brisbane Lions at Princes Park 1.05pm AEDT
Port Adelaide v Richmond at Alberton 3.05pm AEDT/2.35pm ACDT.

Yeah they butchered it, not a surprise. But there would've been a lot of sooking about no Friday night game, as was the case last year, so it's a no win situation for the AFL.

What's the problem?
I can think of at least two irregularities:

1) Higher-ranked teams (North Melbourne and Fremantle) playing off 6-day breaks vs lower-ranked teams (Adelaide and Essendon) getting 7-day breaks.

2) AFL HQ last year said "we have scheduled all games on a Saturday and Sunday to maximise crowds and viewership".

I can think of at least two irregularities:

1) Higher-ranked teams (North Melbourne and Fremantle) playing off 6-day breaks vs lower-ranked teams (Adelaide and Essendon) getting 7-day breaks.

2) AFL HQ last year said "we have scheduled all games on a Saturday and Sunday to maximise crowds and viewership".
Break differences by one day really don’t mean that much of a difference though!

The timeslots were already blocked into the TV guide:

Friday 7.00pm on 7mate
Saturday 7.00pm on 7mate
Sunday 1.00pm on 7
Sunday 3.00pm on 7
Had the Black and White had qualified for home final on the Friday night would have been on main Channel 7 Channel and to mark the game would have wheeled at Bruce for the game.
Channel 7 have the AFL over a barrel when it comes to broadcasting games.

AFLW 2024 Fixture