Game Day 2024 Malcolm Blight Medal - Congratulations Ben Keays & Jordan Dawson

He’s talked up ROB at times and been critical at other times

At what expense do we replace him though ? And what out of trades and picks would we have been willing to sacrifice

And who ? And where from

Ned Moyle was prob the one, wouldn’t have come real cheap
Been critical of ROB? To quote the old AFL ad “I’d like to see that”

Why did he throw up all those other rucks B&F results which actually did the opposite of what he intended?

At what expense? Well this is the issue isn’t it? Mutineer has been calling for us to draft a developing ruck for years. I have also. Others have said we can easily just get one easily cheap, I’ve said from where?

Now the person responsible for our drafting, who Mutineer has also defended, has decided not to draft a ruck besides 2 rookie picks in 12 plus years.

Moyle, well yes, would have come cheap had we drafted him before the skinny midget half back we just delisted!!!!

Well I’m pleased that Laird didn’t finish in top 5 and Murphy not in the top 10. Rory has been in the top 3 every year from 2017.

Gives me hope for our R1 team.

If you follow any of players on Instagram, there is a tight group of young players. The chances of Murphy being in the leadership group should be quite low in 2025.

Players vote in a silent ballot, coaches then select the group. They'll veto if they want and add in who they want.

Been critical of ROB? To quote the old AFL ad “I’d like to see that”

Why did he throw up all those other rucks B&F results which actually did the opposite of what he intended?

At what expense? Well this is the issue isn’t it? Mutineer has been calling for us to draft a developing ruck for years. I have also. Others have said we can easily just get one easily cheap, I’ve said from where?

Now the person responsible for our drafting, who Mutineer has also defended, has decided not to draft a ruck besides 2 rookie picks in 12 plus years.

Moyle, well yes, would have come cheap had we drafted him before the skinny midget half back we just delisted!!!!
No Moyle would not have come cheap but was a clear upgrade so was prob worth it so that was a good ploy

I think mutineer doesn’t defend that we haven’t taken a ruck , we all agree we should have been developing one at least

Re throwing up B and F results I think it’s to show we aren’t the only ones to have an average ruck

Heck ROB absolutely towelled up English this year who would have been close to our highest paid player if we targeted him as a free agent

The question is what should we be spending when we’ve still got other stuff to sort out , maybe the idea is that after this off season our midfield build should be done then we look to ruck upgrade

It actually happened and Nicks said he did it. So yes, absolutely I do. There's absolutely no way the coaching group just selects exactly wgat the players voted without review and adjustment where the feel it's needed. Every club would do this.
Is there a link to this?

No Moyle would not have come cheap but was a clear upgrade so was prob worth it so that was a good ploy

I think mutineer doesn’t defend that we haven’t taken a ruck , we all agree we should have been developing one at least

Re throwing up B and F results I think it’s to show we aren’t the only ones to have an average ruck

Heck ROB absolutely towelled up English this year who would have been close to our highest paid player if we targeted him as a free agent

The question is what should we be spending when we’ve still got other stuff to sort out , maybe the idea is that after this off season our midfield build should be done then we look to ruck upgrade
Moyle would have come cheap had we drafted him in the MSD over Parnell.

I know he’s said we should take a ruck but then defends Hamish. Hamish who drafts our players.

Except the B&F results he showed were Oscar came 9th in a Premiership year, English just outside the 10 for a finalist, made it last year though, Nank 3rd in a bottom team whereas ROB has finished outside top 10 3 years running and has been dropped last 2 years.

We’ve drafted 2 rookie rucks in 12 years, reckon we could have identified a ruck during period so we haven’t had to carry ROB.

Not sure why you’re even debating any of this. It’s all pretty blatant shit drafting and list management.

I know he’s said we should take a ruck but then defends Hamish. Hamish who drafts our players.

Except the B&F results he showed were Oscar came 9th in a Premiership year, English just outside the 10 for a finalist, made it last year though, Nank 3rd in a bottom team whereas ROB has finished outside top 10 3 years running and has been dropped last 2 years.

We’ve drafted 2 rookie rucks in 12 years, reckon we could have identified a ruck during period so we haven’t had to carry ROB.

Not sure why you’re even debating any of this. It’s all pretty blatant shit drafting and list management.
Yeah not sure those B and f results prove much re rucks making a diff but do agree poor drafting not at least getting someone on the list that can ruck particularly since Strachan is even bigger battler than ROB and can’t even run out an afl game

For starters I DID NOT say Oscar McInerney finished 9th, I said he finished equal 10th

And what don't you get about list management, Hamish is not the only voice on list management.

He puts his draft board before list management and the draft strategy is worked out from there. It's a known fact via Phil Bunn that Hamish and his recruiting team put forward Tim English but were outvoted by Don Pyke who had the final say hence we drafted Gallucci.

Lions Top 10
1st - Lachie Neale (73)
2nd - Dayne Zorko (72)
3rd - Josh Dunkley (71)
4th - Hugh McCluggage (64)
5th - Darcy Wilmot (61)
6th - Ryan Lester (60)
Eq.7th - Harris Andrews (56)
Eq.7th - Jarrod Berry (56)
Eq.7th - Joe Daniher (56)
Eq.10th - Oscar McInerney (54)
Eq.10th - Cam Rayner (54)

For starters I DID NOT say Oscar McInerney finished 9th, I said he finished equal 10th

And what don't you get about list management, Hamish is not the only voice on list management.

He puts his draft board before list management and the draft strategy is worked out from there. It's a known fact via Phil Bunn that Hamish and his recruiting team put forward Tim English but were outvoted by Don Pyke who had the final say hence we drafted Gallucci.

Lions Top 10
1st - Lachie Neale (73)
2nd - Dayne Zorko (72)
3rd - Josh Dunkley (71)
4th - Hugh McCluggage (64)
5th - Darcy Wilmot (61)
6th - Ryan Lester (60)
Eq.7th - Harris Andrews (56)
Eq.7th - Jarrod Berry (56)
Eq.7th - Joe Daniher (56)
Eq.10th - Oscar McInerney (54)
Eq.10th - Cam Rayner (54)
You’re not really differentiating between 9th and 10th to try and prove your point are you? Talk about splitting hairs.

Oh cmon, if Hamish said we need to draft a ruck, we would have drafted a ruck, if not English at least ONE other ruck in 12 years besides 2 rookies. But let’s say you don’t want to criticise Hamish as we know that’s abhorrent to you, you’d obviously then have to be criticising Reid then right? Or no one at the Crows warrants criticism?

You’re not really differentiating between 9th and 10th to try and prove your point are you? Talk about splitting hairs.

Oh cmon, if Hamish said we need to draft a ruck, we would have drafted a ruck, if not English at least ONE other ruck in 12 years besides 2 rookies. But let’s say you don’t want to criticise Hamish as we know that’s abhorrent to you, you’d obviously then have to be criticising Reid then right? Or no one at the Crows warrants criticism?
He's not the list manager, that's Justin Reid in the end not Hamish.

You carrying on relentlessly on here with the same old, same old won't make any difference but you do you.

Yes I'd have drafted a development ruck with a mid/late/rookie pick at some point the last 3 or 4 years but going on and on and on and on about it on Big Footy isn't going to make one iota of difference.

He's not the list manager, that's Justin Reid in the end not Hamish.

You carrying on relentlessly on here with the same old, same old won't make any difference but you do you.

Yes I'd have drafted a development ruck with a mid/late/rookie pick at some point the last 3 or 4 years but going on and on and on and on about it on Big Footy isn't going to make one iota of difference.
Look you can’t pose an argument and then sook when it’s countered.

Posts were made about ROBs poor showing in the B&F, last night and today you threw up other ruckmans B&F results to defend ROB, you didn’t have to. The funny thing is it did the opposite.

Jeff jumps in this arvo and then you have again, you can’t blame me for keeping this going.

As for Hamish, yeah the drafter can’t be blamed for drafting only 2 rookie drafts in 12 years, FMD. What about blowing another first rounder in Neddy?

Posts were made about ROBs poor showing in the B&F, last night and today you threw up other ruckmans B&F results to defend ROB, you didn’t have to. The funny thing is it did the opposite.

Jeff jumps in this arvo and then you have again, you can’t blame me for keeping this going.

As for Hamish, yeah the drafter can’t be blamed for drafting only 2 rookie drafts in 12 years, FMD. What about blowing another first rounder in Neddy?
I think we all agree but prefer to argue

We are more in agreeance than not

Back on ignore, I don't need this shit, go beat someone else into submission.

Hate to be pedantic but it more works the other way

Reid says to Ogilvie - I need you to find me a development ruck (18 / 19 yo)

Obvs Reid hasn’t done that , the other option is Reid says to guys that look at mature age recruits - go scout a ruck at another club and see who we got which is Obvs what happened with Moyle

If we want to talk about Ogilvies errors I got plenty of those but that’s for another discussion

Hate to be pedantic but it more works the other way

Reid says to Ogilvie - I need you to find me a development ruck (18 / 19 yo)

Obvs Reid hasn’t done that , the other option is Reid says to guys that look at mature age recruits - go scout a ruck at another club and see who we got which is Obvs what happened with Moyle

If we want to talk about Ogilvies errors I got plenty of those but that’s for another discussion
I agree Reid is equally to blame, but as a recruiter, surely Hamish can recognise some
rucks worthy of drafting, 2 rookies in 12 years can’t be excused.

I agree Reid is equally to blame, but as a recruiter, surely Hamish can recognise some
rucks worthy of drafting, 2 rookies in 12 years can’t be excused.
How many rucks though in that time drafted at 18/19 yo ? ROB ? Who else ? Not sure we’ve had any

In terms of rucks the list manager has high input on when one is needed given it’s a specialised position , then if they are taking a young one it’s Hamish job

Back on ignore, I don't need this shit, go beat someone else into submission.
You see this is an example of where I get a bum wrap as there will a posters that blame me for this. So I’ll spell it out for those who will jump to conclusions.

Comments made about ROB not making top 10 again.
Mutineer doesn’t have to but chooses to try and defend ROB by talking down other rucks using poor examples.
Jeff jumps in.
Mutineer jumps back in.
I’m making my point.
Mutineer doesn’t like it Hamish is being blamed.
Mutineers spits the dummy, blames me and puts me on ignore.

Ok then.

How many rucks though in that time drafted at 18/19 yo ? ROB ? Who else ? Not sure we’ve had any

In terms of rucks the list manager has high input on when one is needed given it’s a specialised position , then if they are taking a young one it’s Hamish job
Sorry I’m confused, are you saying there haven’t been 18/19 year old rucks drafted by any team in 12 years? What do you think the draft age is?

Is there a link to this?

This kind of speaks to it, but where I got it from was the actual video of the announcement session. Obviously back when I could handle listening to him and was interested in what was going on behind the scenes.

F35575DD-020E-4D03-82A9-94FEE864A2EE.png

English copped a bad ankle early in that game to be fair. Moyle would have been a massive upgrade...

Game Day 2024 Malcolm Blight Medal - Congratulations Ben Keays & Jordan Dawson