No reason to ran past the ball and then lay a hit like that
He didn't collect him high - contact was to chest and shoulder.
Injuries were sustained as a result of Smith's head whipping into the back of Parker's.
The penalty seems to be based more on injuries sustained than the act, which I find problematic.
Obviously, you tempt fate when you elect to bump but I don't see this as worse than Wright's, for example.
Yes.I’m struggling to understand what the distinction is between getting him high and the force of the bump causing head contact???
Does the fact that smith’s head only hits Parker because the force of contact Into his body causing a whiplashing effect, and that contact(secondary) is forceful enough to cause significant injury, somehow reduce his guilt?
Yes.
It’s not like Parker did a Pickett and jumped into his head. He did the wrong thing, but got very unlucky. He slowed down, stayed low.
It’s not the same as Wright, or Webster.
Luck has plenty to do with it.I’m not sure luck has much to with it.
He forcefully bumped a player who was off the ball and the bump caused significant injury including concussion.
What is unlucky about a deliberate action?Luck has plenty to do with it.
Forcefully? He clearly slows down, and is almost stationary when he bumps, and he stayed low and applied the bump to the body.
Ive just watched the vision again multiple times, Parker increases speed just prior to impact and lifts his shoulder, which lifts his arm through the motion of the bump.Luck has plenty to do with it.
Forcefully? He clearly slows down, and is almost stationary when he bumps, and he stayed low and applied the bump to the body.
There certainly is loading for damage that was caused, but Parker ran past the pill to lay a block
Yes - I think intent has to play a significant part when determining culpability, as it does in pretty much every judicial system, I'm not sure what there is to understand tbh.I’m struggling to understand what the distinction is between getting him high and the force of the bump causing head contact???
Does the fact that smith’s head only hits Parker because the force of contact Into his body causing a whiplashing effect, and that contact(secondary) is forceful enough to cause significant injury, somehow reduce his guilt?
- He intentionally bumped.
- Didn't get him high with his action
- It wasn't any more off the ball than many shepherds
The question is..
If Smith weren't injured:
Would he be sitting out 4-6 weeks?
Would he be suspended at all?
IMO the answer to both is no, so 6 is heavy.
Yes - I think intent has to play a significant part when determining culpability, as it does in pretty much every judicial system, I'm not sure what there is to understand tbh.
He was slowing down (ie minimising impact) & the injuries were accidental. That the penalty is 1 week less than Webster's is incomprehensible.
The act itself wasn't as bad as Wright's effort - yet he wears a couple more weeks.
He deserves a stint on the sidelines, zero argue argument there as in electing to bump he cops what comes his way but I think the punishment doesn't match the crime.
Fair enough mate,Didn’t get him high with his action, but his bump caused a blokes head to smash against his causing serious injury.
Im not seeing the relevance that the bump didn’t hit him in the face, the bump cause significant head trauma.
To answer your question regarding suspension if Smith weren’t injured, i doubt he would be, because Smith wouldn’t have had his face smashed in, so I wouldn’t see the need to suspend Parker.
The player was actually slowing as the play moved away. He was not accelerating to involve himself in the play. Have always “liked” Parker more than most oppo players, but it was a dog act. There was no need to even contemplate a shepherd.I'm generally not in favour of suspensions purely based on outcome
Throw a punch at a player's head, suspension for a non footy act should be 4 weeks, then I can understand loading for injuries sustained
This a tad more tricky. If there was no injury, he probably doesn't get sighted
But, run past the ball to block/bump an opponent, causing injuries, anywhere from concussion to bone breaks, then a suspension is warranted
The player was actually slowing as the play moved away. He was not accelerating to involve himself in the play. Have always “liked” Parker more than most oppo players, but it was a dog act. There was no need to even contemplate a shepherd.
Reckon he would be playing angry. A club great in great form in the twos returning from injury and the coach has pointedly moved past him with another year and a half of contract to come. Very mentally challenging to a proud and still capable clubman.
I hate outcome based penalties and personality based judgements. I hate that an attempted “king hit” that misses gets no censure.
The bloke received a fair whack for the nature of the act.