Preview 2024 National Draft Preview Thread Part Deux - Draft Picks: 2 (R1), 62 (R4), 76 (R5), 86 (R6)

No, waste of this talented on baller, imo.
Not often do you find a kid at u17 then u18 dominate, consistently find the ball, read the tap work, read the play, slippery and always constantly moving and such a sharp football brain...if he can adjust to the speed of the AFL game, whoever drafts him will have a star in the making.
Slight frame, whatever that's what strength and condition coaches are there for.
Lol. You must not have read the preseason thread. The amount of posters ranting about us taking rake thin players and/or not having a decent strength and conditioning program. Jagga will have his work cut out at North.

Because clubs don't just look at just their form this year. They look at years of performances and try to predict the upside or what will translate in each of them as prospects at AFL level. They don't think he'll be the best prospect imo.
He’ll be the best performing mid from this crop long into the future

PICK 2: NORTH MELBOURNE – FINN O’SULLIVAN

Position: Midfielder

Size: 182cm

Clubs: Oakleigh Chargers/Koroit

AFL player comparison: Marcus Bontempelli/Sam Walsh

Foxfooty.com.au Draft Power Rankings: 3

Yep, Finn O’Sullivan to North. Came into the year as the No. 1 pick favourite — and despite an injury-interrupted season, he’s expected to be taken at the pointy end on Wednesday night. After making the Under 18 All-Australian team as a bottom-ager last year and winning the Kevin Sheehan Medal as the Under 16 MVP the year before that, O’Sullivan endured a luckless run throughout 2024 with thumb and finger issues. He came back for Vic Country’s last two matches of the national carnival then represented the Tigers in the VFL for one game against the Sandringham Zebras, with scouts noting he didn’t look out of place against state league opposition. O’Sullivan finished off his 2024 campaign with two impressive Coates Talent League outings for the Oakleigh Chargers, kicking 3.2 from 18 disposals against Sandringham before starring against the GWV Rebels in a losing preliminary final, booting 2.1 from 20 disposals, eight marks, eight inside 50s and five tackles. He’s not a big accumulator of the footy, but recruiters love his athleticism and ability to change a game without having mass disposals with his on-field class and explosiveness from congestion.

In the mix/trade watch: The Kangaroos, for months, have been linked to Gippsland Power high-flyer Alix Tauru, with rivals believing North would be prepared to trade down from Pick 2 – albeit not too far down the order – in order to get him. If the Roos traded, it would most likely be with Adelaide (Pick 4) – but only if the Crows could find a future second-round pick from another club on draft night. Scouts believe it’ll be tough for the Crows to satisfy the demands of the Roos, meaning North is now more likely to keep the pick. Despite North’s strong like to Tauru for months, the sense in recent days is that North will take O’Sullivan then use their future first-rounder to trade back into this year’s first round to select a key-position prospect. If Richmond took O’Sullivan instead of Sam Lalor at Pick 1, the Roos would either consider trading down to the Crows’ pick and taking Tauru, or hold the selection and simply take Tauru at Pick 2.

NORTH MELBOURNE
Current Draft Picks: 2, 62, 76, 86
Intrigue surrounds North Melbourne’s pick two call. Do they pick on talent order and select another midfielder, slide back and gain other selection, or draft on needs and take a punt on interceptor Alix Tauru? North Melbourne have attempted to swap their prized selection with Adelaide, St Kilda and Richmond, with this publication reporting last week that the Roos are believed to be after pick four and a future second rounder from the Crows in exchange for pick two. This deal would allow the Roos to select Tauru – who they may take at two anyway – and add an additional pick in next year’s draft. North Melbourne has been strongly linked to Tauru for some time, but there is a growing feeling that dynamic midfielder Finn O’Sullivan is right in contention. O’Sullivan impressed the club in his stint at Arden Street this pre-season as part of the AFL Academy and is different to the current midfielders in their engine room.

North Melbourne list boss Brady Rawlings expressed after the trade period that the club is open to getting back into the draft, and it is understood the Roos’ future first round selection is on the table. Interestingly, the Roos have been interviewing players in the teens range of the draft – which is set to feature ket position forwards, a glaring need for the Roos – so don’t be surprised if they slot back in.

North Melbourne has nominated River Stevens, the club great and Australian football Hall of Fame member Anthony, as a father-son prospect. There has been no guarantee from the Roos, but Stevens may slide through the national draft, allowing the Roos to take him as a rookie.

If either of them leave we will get high draft picks and do a GWS and replenish them

I don’t think we will. If we don’t improve as expected, you wouldn’t blame players for leaving. If LDU goes to a team that is in the finals window. They would be picks on the teens, and this board would be melted. If Colby leaves, the AFL aren’t giving us a top end compensation pick.

LDU is RFA so how would picks be in the teens unless we make finals? 90% sure he stays anyway.

Also, I expect colby to sign a long term extension this year.

I don't think either would leave, bot both players would guarantee top end selections.

Now that we're into the last few days before draft night I'd really appreciate it if all you North posters could resist posting in this thread. This thread should be solely for St Kilda and Richmond supporters to tell us what to do with pick two and who to take. Thanks in advance.

Mate I didn’t intend it to be a
shot at thursfield, who I reckon is doing a good job; my gripe is - like many others I suspect - how the whole thing is dragged out as click bait. I mean a trade period that goes for 2 weeks and anything of substance gets done in the last 30 minutes? Great for Riley and Cal but for the rest of us ….

I was just being silly, I agree to a large degree.

I would be more than happy to have any of Lalor, Tauru, Jagga Smith or Draper on our list. One of those would be my first options and I would see that as a win as its really hard to split them all . FOS behind them would also be a good result so for me its really about getting one the first big 5. I havent been impressed with Langford. Its just a very even draft with no obvious stand outs so its a hard draft to get it totally right. Some of those players will go on and become great players I have no doubt whilst probably a couple will fail to live up to expectations. Only time will tell.

I like the sound of this Pernorkel guy.
Herman Pernorkel (sauce as he's known to his friends) has all the talent in the world, it's just his commitment that's questionable.

Teammates and coaches have been quoted saying at times "it's like he's not even here" at training and on gameday.

I see we've entered the stage of worrying what picks we're gonna get for Free Agents leaving. Umm we need to win 8 games next year to get worse (potentially) than #5 for him. Once you think about that for more than second, you should be pretty calm.

Preview 2024 National Draft Preview Thread Part Deux - Draft Picks: 2 (R1), 62 (R4), 76 (R5), 86 (R6)