Preview 2024 National Draft Preview Thread

He does look good but there will be so much pressure for him to be something that he will never be able to live up to.
Who knows. Raynor starting to really come into his own now. Lalor plays in that brutal style, will take a while for him to match strength wise.

Edit …..I hope you are right though 😂

Onya mate. I was hoping you would upload this soon so I could do a side-by-side against Draper.

Geez FOS' hangtime is ridiculous. Its like he's got some prototype Nike antigravity shoes before they hit the market.

Some of those penetrating monster kicks really get the imagination going too.

When you see all the different athletic attributes on display, I can see how his ceiling is higher than Draper's. But if you were to go by his proven form to date, I reckon there's greater probability that Draper makes it as an top-line AFL player.

I'm taking Sid by a smidge, but FOS is more than fine too, easily my second fave.
I love that Draper can work in space and on the inside just as well. He is the anti-Ford and always looks to move the ball on quickly. This could be a huge selling point for the club if they are (stupidly) wanting to push more of the Russian roulette style game plan.

He seems to always be involved, one-twos to break defensive structure and beautiful 10-15 metre handballs forward to cut up the zone.

He is the complete package for mine and the accumulating and running power of Don,Kerch and Sheez would be almost unmatched for a young midfield.

Just make it happen. I wouldn’t be trading with the Crows for anything short of 4+a ‘25 first.

I love that Draper can work in space and on the inside just as well. He is the anti-Ford and always looks to move the ball on quickly. This could be a huge selling point for the club if they are (stupidly) wanting to push more of the Russian roulette style game plan.

He seems to always be involved, one-twos to break defensive structure and beautiful 10-15 metre handballs forward to cut up the zone.

He is the complete package for mine and the accumulating and running power of Don,Kerch and Sheez would be almost unmatched for a young midfield.

Just make it happen. I wouldn’t be trading with the Crows for anything short of 4+a ‘25 first.
He also has the exposed form against adults. Hard to argue he lacks defensive intent when he's shown he can rack up 10 and 11 tackles a game.

1730760906241.png

Disregarding that last game, where South Adelaide were annihilated, that's a pretty respectable series of numbers for an underager.

By contrast, FOS, playing kids for the Chargers, only averaged 17 disposals this year.

who do the crows take if we are after draper at 2? Seems a massive risk for them to hope we don't call his name. Do they have future first or second they can send across?
As of 13 oct : Adelaide: 6 - Future first (Adelaide), Future thirds (Adelaide, Melbourne, GWS), Future fourths (Adelaide, GWS) not sure if it has changed since.

I think that would've been our plan from the start, and would've been perfect.......but Crows don't have the F1 or weren't interested. The problem this year is 1 club holding 8 of the first 23, with that club's supporter base desperate to rape and pillage all and sundry, so it's a different game than previous years.
I still stand that I don't think it's a supa-draft.
Next year will be talked up in a different way, like maybe the top 5 is unbelievable then drops off or something. Giving up our F1 for a teens picks would be the ultimate stupidity from us, but who knows, we've got form in death-riding backwards.
It's hilariously North Melbourne that the year we don't need a high pick we have one, and are looking at a sub-standard deal to move back, then the following we've could've already traded out of the only spot we need to be. You can bet ya house that we will come 3rd last, and there will be a monster KPF that goes at pick 3.....it's the North way.
I wouldn't be giving up our F1 this year, AT ALL, if the media(Richmond) are to be believed....unless we are GUARANTEED to be getting one of the 3 players we are obsessed with.
As of 13th oct these are Adelaides Future picks..:

Adelaide: 6 - Future first (Adelaide), Future thirds (Adelaide, Melbourne, GWS), Future fourths (Adelaide, GWS) l'm not sure if it has changed since then

Updated with the added traits of Accumulation, Versatility and Goal Kicking.

Of the top tier midfielders:

O'Sullivan
1.Footy IQ :greencross:
2.Aerobic capacity :greencross:
3.Ability to win 50/50s :greencross:
4.Defensive intent :greencross:
5.Skills :greencross:
6.Speed :crossmark:
7.Accumulation :crossmark:
8.Versatility :greencross:
9. Goal Kicking :crossmark:

Smillie
2.Aerobic capacity :crossmark:
4.Defensive intent :crossmark:
7.Accumulation :greencross:
9. Goal Kicking :greencross:

Smith
8.Versatility :crossmark:

Draper
6.Speed :greencross:
8.Versatility :question:

Lalor
7.Accumulation
8.Versatility
9. Goal Kicking

Harvey Langford

Xavier Lindsay

Murphy Reid

Next Tier Below:

Bo Allen
5.Skills :crossmark:

Moraes
3.Ability to win 50/50s :crossmark:

Taj Hotton

Tom Gross
7.Accumulation:question:
8.Versatility:greencross:

Luke Urquhart

Cooper Hynes
1.Footy IQ :question:
5.Skills Inconsistent

How does this Tauru, Armstrong compare to King and Walter in their draft years?

It's hard to compare because Tauru has predominantly played as a defender throughout his underage years. However, his form at the championships doesn't even compare imo. He just isn't in the same class at the same age as the other three mentioned. You are drafting him, purely on athletic upside and raw traits.

Armstrong Championships Avg's
3 games, avg 9 disposals, 5 marks, kicked 9 goals

Walter Championships Avg's
4 games, avg 13.3 disposals, 7 marks, kicked 11 goals

Max King only played the one championship game due to injury so his stats don't really compare. He only played the one game for Sandringham in his top age year too.

Talk of Draper having a potentially bad back issue.

Caused him to miss testing at the combine. Article on zero hanger supposedly.

A few of them at the top end have injury concerns.

Draper - Back
Lalor - Hamstring/Back/Hip
O'Sullivan - Various
Trainor - Concussions
Tauru - Back stress fractures
Hotton - ACL
Lindsay - PCL

Updated with the added traits of Accumulation, Versatility and Goal Kicking.

Of the top tier midfielders:

O'Sullivan
7.Accumulation :crossmark:

Smillie

Smith

Draper
8.Versatility :question:

Lalor
7.Accumulation
8.Versatility
9. Goal Kicking

Harvey Langford

Xavier Lindsay

Murphy Reid

Next Tier Below:

Bo Allen

Moraes
3.Ability to win 50/50s :crossmark:

Taj Hotton

Tom Gross
7.Accumulation:question:
8.Versatility:greencross:

Luke Urquhart

Cooper Hynes
1.Footy IQ :question:
5.Skills Inconsistent
FOS should definitely have a tick next to goal kicking, and likely speed too. He tests sub-3 seconds and has definitely shown it at times.

0.7 goals per game this year in the Coates League, he is capable of kicking goals but it isn't a super regular feature in his game imo. Even Jagga Smith who isn't a notable goal kicking averaged more than that.

I'm well aware of his testing, but imo Finn doesn't show game breaking pace in the same way a Draper or a Xavier Lindsay does

who do the crows take if we are after draper at 2? Seems a massive risk for them to hope we don't call his name. Do they have future first or second they can send across?
Let’s swap our F1 with Crows for 4. Take Draper and Tauru.
Sit back and wait till the end. Geyren massively slides.

I don’t think Draper gets to 4.

Crows then have 2 F1’s for Dyson Sharp. Boom!

*I know crows won’t do this, but it’s a possibility. Tiny, but there. Hope it’s been explored.

Cue the TikTok algorithm!!! Here they come people! Avert your eyes.

It's hard to compare because Tauru has predominantly played as a defender throughout his underage years. However, his form at the championships doesn't even compare imo. He just isn't in the same class at the same age as the other three mentioned. You are drafting him, purely on athletic upside and raw traits.

Armstrong Championships Avg's
3 games, avg 9 disposals, 5 marks, kicked 9 goals

Walter Championships Avg's
4 games, avg 13.3 disposals, 7 marks, kicked 11 goals

Max King only played the one championship game due to injury so his stats don't really compare. He only played the one game for Sandringham in his top age year too.

Thanks for that I really appreciate it.

So are you wrong in thinking, ok we have some pretty good picks in a strong midfield draft (rare).

We’ve drafted a few athletic raw types - why not be sensible and go with these top mids?

As of 13th oct these are Adelaides Future picks..:

Adelaide: 6 - Future first (Adelaide), Future thirds (Adelaide, Melbourne, GWS), Future fourths (Adelaide, GWS) l'm not sure if it has changed since then
Ohh. Exciting. Love it. Let’s go Crows! Our F1 for 4.
Can’t see them using their F1 to trade up, that’s robbery, wouldn’t happen.
Keep 2 North. - Draper
Crows 4 - Tauroooooo

Out - our F1 and even F3 or something else.

Preview 2024 National Draft Preview Thread