Review 2024 National Draft Thread Part Deux - Welcome FOS, M.Whitlock, L.Urquhart & River Stevens

Three names I’m interested in still J Whitlock, Shanahan and Mraz. We clearly won’t get the first two for a F2 as that will only start appealing to clubs after pick 40. Are we allowed to trade both F2s otherwise I’ll have to hope Mraz slides for a single f2

I’ve said it before but people are underestimating Parker’s influence on this team. A natural born winner. A proper leader.

Just having him wins us 3-4 extra matches from a leadership point of view. Add in 12 months of development to others and that hopefully pushes us up the ladder.

Either way, we’ve got our KP. A spine of:
  • W. Dawson
  • Logue into Whitlock
  • Xerri
  • Comben
  • Larkey
Being served up by:
  • LDU
  • Sheezel
  • McKercher
  • Wardlaw
  • FOS
🤤 🤤

Only if you're a sook who thinks we'll be bottom 3 again.
We’ve been there for 5 seasons.

The word sook has nothing to do with it.

We lost our 2 last games by a combined 200+ points.

The idea that we have not just over paid requires a mixture of blind faith and mental gymnastics most of us are too worn down by the last series of consistent let downs to entertain.

The trade reeks of desperation.

Hopefully it works because we are at a point where we absolutely need it to.

The idea that we have not just over paid requires a mixture of blind faith and mental gymnastics most of us are too worn down by the last series of consistent let downs to entertain.

And only sooks think we'll be there forever.

The reason we didn't get any early takers for our F1 is that other clubs clearly worry we'll rise up the ladder fast next year.

Three names I’m interested in still J Whitlock, Shanahan and Mraz. We clearly won’t get the first two for a F2 as that will only start appealing to clubs after pick 40. Are we allowed to trade both F2s otherwise I’ll have to hope Mraz slides for a single f2

Richmond’s F2 will be one removed from a F1.

I think anyone offering anything more will be wanting change.

If Jack lasts through the Eagles and no one moves for him, someone will bite our hand off for that pick.

You don’t get 12-13 pick upgrades often in the late second round.

I will feel far more comfortable if we can land Jack tonight, as it will mean we can play Comben behind the ball and then develop Matt wherever we want.

Trading our F1 for both of them will definitely change the narrative.

Suspect we won't get any given we've now flagged what we're prepared to pay for a pick in this range

If we start poorly, the media pile on will be something we honestly haven't seen before.

Not only do we need to improve as an actual football side, but we will be asking this same group of young players, to deal with that pressure at the very same time.

There's an equal, if not higher chance, they capitulate rather than rise to it.
The media is and always will be external noise. Particularly AFL media, given how f*cking god awful it is. Some will lay into us even if we're winning, it's just their default setting, so who cares how rabid they get if we're losing? Just like if we were doing well the players should still ignore it, don't get caught up in the hype. The players will be, or damn well should be, instructed to ignore it. Focus on your development, your role, your contribution to the team.

There is the potential motivational strategy of intentionally exposing the players to their bile in a controlled manner, personally i dont rate that strategy.

To say that they are likely to capitulate because of the media i think gives the media exactly what they desire, relevance beyond just telling the scores and what happened in the game. No less dismisses all the other relevant factors for success/failure.

And only sooks think we'll be there forever.

The reason we didn't get any early takers for our F1 is that other clubs clearly worry we'll rise up the ladder fast next year.

even if we triple our wins and claw our way out of bottom 4 we still just gave up around pick 5 for two picks in the 20s.

Or maybe they weren’t takers until we were desperate enough to take unders or pay overs.

Because it seems like a bit of a theme that we do that.

Hopefully it works because we are at a point where we absolutely need it to.

I reckon desperation would have been trading it for an established B grader. This is the opposite. Whitlock is a long term prospect.

And we got what will almost certainly be pick 19 next year with it.

Also, it's blindingly obvious the reason other clubs didn't trade for our F1 early is they think we will rise up the ladder quickly next year.

Didn't want to trade pick 11 in a strong draft for what might be pick 8 in a weak draft

You mean kind of like what we did with Daniel that you could really argue that led us to needing make this trade?

And we got what will almost certainly be pick 19 next year with it.

Also, it's blindingly obvious the reason other clubs didn't trade for our F1 early is they think we will rise up the ladder quickly next year.

Didn't want to trade pick 11 in a strong draft for what might be pick 8 in a weak draft

Thursfield has identified this kid from hours of live viewing, tape, interviews with him and family. Blokes with 2 million years of collective experience have ticked off a trade. They know more than me.

Let's not put that pressure on him then.
This place will easily be where the most pressure about a trade, that the player had no control over, will come from.

Which is exactly why players are instructed not to come here.

Carlton traded pick 12 and 14 for 3. We gave up a likely top 3 pick for a sausage roll and red bull combo from the local servo in comparison. Pretty easy to understand the outrage.
Yes - and Carlton traded a future first rounder and future second rounder to acquire Pick 14, which they then ontraded. It underlines the relative strength of the two drafts.

You also have to understand that each trade has to have two willing parties. The only reason they got that trade done was because the Eagles took a risk that they'd get Allen. Teams were not looking to exit the first round this year due to the strength of the draft.

The reason no other future first round deal got done in the current year, is that clubs rated the depth of this draft, and didn't rate next years. The club aren't morons (though it may seem it at times). They'll have compared the Whitlock + a guy we'd get with Richmonds 2nd vs a top 5 pick (and in liklihood a pick in a position we have heaps off), and they've obviously decided that this deal is better. So the picks become academic at that point; maybe we can argue that we could have got 28 instead of a 2nd potentially; but that's in the fringes for mine. With the clubs aggressive trade strategy - there's every chance that gets traded anyway.

This is all before you price in the benefit of a years extra development to a KP player, in a team that is trying to steadily build; and desperately needs to provide an AA forward with support. I think people do forget this. We've got a limited window (1/2 years) where Darling acts as that second forward; so any ability for Whitlock to even play 2nd/3rd banana becomes invaluable.

My guess is when we made the Daniel trade it was made under the assumption we would be able to get back into this draft using our future first or our pick 2 to nab 3-4 of Richmond's picks or something along these lines.

Effectively pay a little more for Daniel and make up for it. As a few poster have pointed out if we were that keen on Daniel and happy to part with out Future 1st surely there was a trade we could have done which netted us pick 20ish, a future 2nd and Daniel for our Future 1st pick.

Having said that it is what it is and all that matters now is the gap between Richmond and ourselves next year on the ladder. If we are in the positive by 6-8 ladder positions then it doesn't matter, if the gap is 4 or under its half a disaster, although it's unlikely to be a defining factor in our future on field success/failure.

Question for the draft watchers - what is the field of 17 year old key positions like? Are there many good talls who are likely to be at the pointy end of next year's draft that we have potentially forgone?

Dunno if trading pick 25 qualifies as desperation. Anyway, we see it different which is fair enough.

It was overs for a bloke who played a bunch of VFL this year.

Also if we kept that pick there is next to no way that we need to trade our future first round pick to move up 2 spots.

We over paid for Daniel and then doubled down and overpaid again for the pick 27 last night.

hopefully MattLock is Horse Longmire incarnate and he kicks 90+ goals as a teenager

Also if we kept that pick there is next to no way that we need to trade our future first round pick to move up 2 spots.

We over paid for Daniel and then doubled down and overpaid again for the pick 27 last night.

hopefully MattLock is Horse Longmire incarnate and he kicks 90+ goals as a teenager

We see it differently. Fair enough.

Thursfield has identified this kid from hours of live viewing, tape, interviews with him and family. Blokes with 2 million years of collective experience have ticked off a trade. They know more than me.

The same people that after watching every minute of game play judged LMAC in our best 7 players?

Daniel is going to be great for us. This is one trade that I am 100% behind. His best footy is still to come & he'll be a rock for 5-6 years.

Review 2024 National Draft Thread Part Deux - Welcome FOS, M.Whitlock, L.Urquhart & River Stevens