Review 2024 National Draft Thread Part Deux - Welcome FOS, M.Whitlock, L.Urquhart & River Stevens

Apparently the President and CEO will be making a statement today, acknowledging that we were the only team without a female staff member in our draft room, but declaring that we refused to bow to the AFL's bullshit woke agenda.
How did the Pres and the board allow the football manager to make a decision like that? A decision like that would need to be approved, surely!

Is there an element of compo pick for LDU? So its all good to trade out the first? Is there that thinking?

If we are shit again, LDU will walk, we get a compo for him. If we perform and he stays it’ll be likely a pick 5-8???

I dont understand their thinking.

The fact we offered that first for every pick after 8 and it was shut down by every club, shows what they think of this draft compared to next years
The smart move was always trading the other way and taking advantage of the underpriced future picks. What we did was a mind bogglingly stupid panic buy.

Can't believe that guy with the hair let this happen.

The kid needs to be the next Corey McKernan or it is a bust. No pressure.

That’s just rubbish. Since future pick trading has come in natural draft order just hasn’t meant the same thing. Clubs have continually traded future picks then got back in with other trades. It’s the new norm.

Forget about the 2025 draft order. It will change many times tonight and will change many more times before and during the draft itself next year.

Forget about pick 27 as well. We traded for a particular player who we wanted. Draft picks are just currency and under the current system with two years into the future trading to come in next year the currency just isn’t worth what it used to be

It’s like buying a property and worrying about interest rate and 30 year loans. 2-3 years later when the property has risen 60% in value, nobody cares what exactly you paid for it or how much interest was

So where do yah think we will finish next season on the ladder Vlad? :stern look

Day 2 - get me Jack Whitlock! Feel like Rich will take Shanahan and if not, they’ll trade it to someone who will take him. We can target the bulldogs pick who have 29 and 31. They don’t need anymore talls so we can nab Jitlock with 29. I doubt clubs are gonna offer a F1 for that pick. Seems too good to be true?

Caleb Daniel was contracted to 2026 we had to pay a pick in the 20's MINIMUM to get anyone to come to our shit show let alone a former AA, Club F&B and Premiership Player who is contracted for another 2 years..

Mcrae was contracted as well and on bigger money than Daniel.

We really didn’t need to cough up that much.

I don't care about the trade so much any more. I'm more dirty about who we gave it to.

Who at the club secretly backs the tiges?

That would have to be the best ever draft by a club. We have set them up beautifully for their next premiership team.

GWS & GC have had an awful lot of high draft picks, translated into some slight success for GWS. No premierships.

People getting carried away because Rich.are a BIG club with some recent flags. How many of those kids will stay ? How many are that good ? Can Yze actually coach ? Jury out there too. If they are bottom four for the next 2 / 3 years ?
Jungle drums will start beating if m'ship and crowds drop off and bottom four finishes become the norm.

I suspect a lot of the outrage is because that Tiger supporter in the office or the family is going to say that they did better out of the deal.

I don’t really care because this to me shows that we are going to be bold in trying to achieve success - something that we have not had for a very long time.

This, together with the players that have been moved on, has Clarkson written all over it. It feels like he is fully on deck now.

Anyway, just watch the FOS highlights … looks like a bit of a steal from where I am watching.

2025:

Everyone: the list managers need to do something, we have been so shit for so long it has to change.

List Manager: does something.

Everyone: not that you idiot, my dead grandmother could do better.

2026:

Rinse and repeat.
Bottom 2 for the last 5 years highlights that we haven't got much right in that period of time. So yeah the rinse and repeat is on the cards. :stern look

Carlton traded pick 12 and 14 for 3. We gave up a likely top 3 pick for a sausage roll and red bull combo from the local servo in comparison. Pretty easy to understand the outrage.
This posts hopefully puts this imbecilic trade that we made into perspective for some of the Turkeys that post on this forum. :stern look

Carlton traded pick 12 and 14 for 3. We gave up a likely top 3 pick for a sausage roll and red bull combo from the local servo in comparison. Pretty easy to understand the outrage.

Only if you're a sook who thinks we'll be bottom 3 again.

Personal I reckon we traded 8/9 for 19 and a kid we must havd rated just outside the top 10 or in the early teens.

Review 2024 National Draft Thread Part Deux - Welcome FOS, M.Whitlock, L.Urquhart & River Stevens