114. John Nash
  115. Wally
  116. Clint
  117. Judas
  118. Derrick
  119. Hog Daddy
  120. Telstra
  121. Diesel

I still love Showbag. I asked these country guys why they gave their mate the name Showbag....cheap and full of shit. So good. I tried to give it to one of our mates and he lost it. He was a real go home as soon as it was his round type operator.

That is it in a nutshell - spot on!

This regime (which includes some astute drafting/trading) means we are no longer a laughing stock - just need to be a little patient - we are building something to challenge!
Things can shift very quickly if you have all the right pieces in place and everyone is on the same page!

I still love Showbag. I asked these country guys why they gave their mate the name Showbag....cheap and full of s**t. So good. I tried to give it to one of our mates and he lost it. He was a real go home as soon as it was his round type operator.

Used to work with a guy who copped SFB. After a while he answered to it and more and more people started calling him SFB.
I don't think he ever worked out it was : Shit for Brains.

Similarly you sometimes get Youbie. ( UB Useless Bastard).

D9 means you are a massive crawler. ( named after a huge Caterpillar earth mover ).

Then there was Gunner , for the useless bastard who's always gunner do something.

Ever since some crap comedy in the 80s, people with the surname "Hunt" have been nicknamed "Mike".

121 Funniest Aussie Nicknames

1. Champ
  2. Big Guy
  3. Big Dog
  4. Big Fella
  5. Little Fella
  6. Buddy
  7. Husky
  8. Hero
  9. Maverick
  10. Muscles
  11. Rooter
  12. Dusty
  13. Shania
  14. Sister
  15. Cinnamon
  16. Cordless
  17. Scooter
  18. Pretty Boy
  19. Turbo
  20. China
  21. Chief
  22. Captain
  23. El Capitan
  24. Cheese
  25. Ace
  26. Vegan
  27. Skippy
  28. Snake
  29. Sport
  30. Spider
  31. Squirt
  32. Slugger
  33. Surgeon
  34. Shooter
  35. Sniper
  36. Sensor Light
  37. Kinder Surprise
  38. Foreskin
  39. Amigo
  40. Tough Guy
  41. Dick Toucher
  42. Dad Kisser
  43. Big Nuts
  44. Big Hoss
  45. G-Spot
  46. Grenade
  47. Fredo
  48. McGregor
  49. Tiger
  50. Tugger
  51. Tugboat
  52. The Juice
  53. Cob
  54. Cobba
  55. Wombat
  56. Tool
  57. Junior
  58. Buckaroo
  59. Morphine
  60. Mustard
  61. Ankles
  62. Buttercup
  63. Flog
  64. Sheriff
  65. Slick
  66. Jed
  67. Ranger
  68. Pal
  69. Pup
  70. Pillock
  71. Pothole
  72. Perth
  73. Nonce
  74. Herpes
  75. Cold Sore
  76. Chode
  77. Cupcake
  78. Cosby
  79. Twister
  80. Two-stroke
  81. Peanut
  82. Hotshot
  83. Harvey Norman
  84. Mastercard
  85. Speedy
  86. Deck Chair
  87. Professor
  88. Bruiser
  89. Blister
  90. Mother
  91. Princess
  92. Joycey
  93. Church
  94. Superstar
  95. Squire
  96. Sunshine
  97. Slinky
  98. Decaf
  99. Handsome
  100. Sparky
  101. Old Mate
  102. Boss
  103. Big Show
  104. Kingpin
  105. Copernicus
  106. Operator
  107. Radar
  108. Robin
  109. Stubby
  110. Six-Pack
  111. Showbag
  112. Slippery Pete
  113. Johnny Bravo
  114. John Nash
  115. Wally
  116. Clint
  117. Judas
  118. Derrick
  119. Hog Daddy
  120. Telstra
  121. Diesel
Who put this list together?

Where is Nackers (or Knackers whatever is your preference)?

And a Nonce in pommy is a pedophile. Your mates call you that, kick them in the nickname above.

s8D8AxF.gif

3iYAstG.gif

Here's one from William McGuinness, the actor.

His father ran a fencing company, and an Egyptian bloke would honk the horn at the front to let them know to put their dogs inside.
Every time he did it his old man would say, 'Oh jesus, the Pharaoh is here'

McGuinness didn't understand the nick name and thought it was because he was Egyptian.

His old man said, no you fool he is the 'tootin' car man'.

i think Ross just confirmed the rumour around his unhappiness with Dougal Howard last pre-season. watch today's presser:
  • "King dislocated his shoulder in our first pre-season session"
  • "If there's a spectrum of having contact at training and there's a club that likes it day 1, i'm the opposite end of the spectrum over here. Haydn Crozier took a speccy over Zac Dawson one year and i told him to get off and go run 400m"
How strange - a forward gets injured in a contest with a defender. Big leap to make more of it than that.

If Ross was really p***ed off with Howard, Howard wouldn't have selected for every game for the year except for the last one, which Ross later admitted was a mistake.

How strange - a forward gets injured in a contest with a defender. Big leap to make more of it than that.

If Ross was really p***ed off with Howard, Howard wouldn't have selected for every game for the year except for the last one, which Ross later admitted was a mistake.
No. That’s not the case he isn’t a ****ing child

But he did deliver a spray to the playing group and coaches post that session inside the rooms.

He was fuming and it was a completely avoidable injury.

Editing this to add he practically spells out his opinion on pre Xmas contact in his presser yesterday.

Talk of crouch being pushed out is ludacris. He was fantastic all year imo.
he’s never gonna be bontempelli, but he has been so consistent since he has arrived, hardly playing a bad game.
There is pushed out and there is hope that a great year for us means he is being over taken.

People are referring to the latter and not the former I.e getting pushed out.

If we have a few kids come on and crouch and Hill are on the fringes of the selected side. That’s great news for us.

Mistake? please. Whatever was said i am sure you taking out of context.

Only mistake was drafting a doofus on good coin who couldn't make the senior team we drafted him from.

Oh and we gave up a high pick too.

No surprises everyone who had anything to do with that is gone.

Howard himself would of been gone too from what was said on here but he refused to be traded and he's contracted.

One... more.... year.

Looks you were standing with the group that had the Brains trust caps on, from pic location.
Did you see Lenny and I reckon Bonar handballing to each other flat stick from about 5 meters apart...Lenny still has the touch😍
That’s exactly where we’re standing Yes saw that Thought all assistant coaches looked sharp on the track How could a player not be impressed with the quality of our coaching group
121 Funniest Aussie Nicknames

1. Champ
  2. Big Guy
  3. Big Dog
  4. Big Fella
  5. Little Fella
  6. Buddy
  7. Husky
  8. Hero
  9. Maverick
  10. Muscles
  11. Rooter
  12. Dusty
  13. Shania
  14. Sister
  15. Cinnamon
  16. Cordless
  17. Scooter
  18. Pretty Boy
  19. Turbo
  20. China
  21. Chief
  22. Captain
  23. El Capitan
  24. Cheese
  25. Ace
  26. Vegan
  27. Skippy
  28. Snake
  29. Sport
  30. Spider
  31. Squirt
  32. Slugger
  33. Surgeon
  34. Shooter
  35. Sniper
  36. Sensor Light
  37. Kinder Surprise
  38. Foreskin
  39. Amigo
  40. Tough Guy
  41. Dick Toucher
  42. Dad Kisser
  43. Big Nuts
  44. Big Hoss
  45. G-Spot
  46. Grenade
  47. Fredo
  48. McGregor
  49. Tiger
  50. Tugger
  51. Tugboat
  52. The Juice
  53. Cob
  54. Cobba
  55. Wombat
  56. Tool
  57. Junior
  58. Buckaroo
  59. Morphine
  60. Mustard
  61. Ankles
  62. Buttercup
  63. Flog
  64. Sheriff
  65. Slick
  66. Jed
  67. Ranger
  68. Pal
  69. Pup
  70. Pillock
  71. Pothole
  72. Perth
  73. Nonce
  74. Herpes
  75. Cold Sore
  76. Chode
  77. Cupcake
  78. Cosby
  79. Twister
  80. Two-stroke
  81. Peanut
  82. Hotshot
  83. Harvey Norman
  84. Mastercard
  85. Speedy
  86. Deck Chair
  87. Professor
  88. Bruiser
  89. Blister
  90. Mother
  91. Princess
  92. Joycey
  93. Church
  94. Superstar
  95. Squire
  96. Sunshine
  97. Slinky
  98. Decaf
  99. Handsome
  100. Sparky
  101. Old Mate
  102. Boss
  103. Big Show
  104. Kingpin
  105. Copernicus
  106. Operator
  107. Radar
  108. Robin
  109. Stubby
  110. Six-Pack
  111. Showbag
  112. Slippery Pete
  113. Johnny Bravo
  114. John Nash
  115. Wally
  116. Clint
  117. Judas
  118. Derrick
  119. Hog Daddy
  120. Telstra
  121. Diesel
Many years ago at Uni guy I knew with the surname Leahy (pronounced as Lay) had two brothers Their nicknames were Easy, Lucky & Loose

My dad was a country publican in Victorian high country He gave nicknames to everyone Three of my favourites of his given to locals were:
“Wireless” - as he didn’t work in the hills
“Hydraulic” - as he was light fingered and would LIFT anything
“Dog” - After loosing his licence for DUI He would chase after a ride in any car

Very confusing times for me. Like you I've spent a decade complaining about how poor the direction or the club, the poor appointments, the lack of vision, standards, quality etc. It's really hard to find anything negative to say since Lyon came back. It's like a new club.

It might not get us to the top of the mountain but it's much more likely than where we were heading not that long ago. Brave decision from Bassat and at a high cost to his credibility if it hadn't gone well.
It’s actually incredible from where we were just three years ago - purely on a list basis. We were heading towards a competitive team with no decent picks (still true), a bunch of aging and expensive guys that we brought in, no kids to speak of and a full rebuild.

Now, like Ross said, Sandy will be exciting let alone the stack of kids we have playing ones.

Training 2024 Pre-Season