News 2024 St.Kilda Media Thread

Is there not a 2nd ground in Adelaide with proper AFL dimensions?

Footy park got demoed as AO was preferred, in reality, they could have referbed Thebarton oval, that has capacity of 15k at 161 x 135 as an actual oval shape.

Footy Park is basically like Waverley now. An oval with houses.

Gee Whately, Kingy and the AFL media are precious. Having a dig at Steeley for his comments on Norwood, which i thought were pretty reasonable. All he said is it felt like a community series game and that he was back playing juniors.

They carry on that AFL players are all robots and then when someone voices an honest valid opinion they cut them down. Like what do you want?
Agree. Jumped completely to the negative.
Of course it would’ve felt like a community game, the crowd were right on top of them.

Was stating a fact, not being critical.

Way to make a mountain out of a molehill, luckily no one actually took the “story” and really ran with it.

Gee Whately, Kingy and the AFL media are precious. Having a dig at Steeley for his comments on Norwood, which i thought were pretty reasonable. All he said is it felt like a community series game and that he was back playing juniors.

They carry on that AFL players are all robots and then when someone voices an honest valid opinion they cut them down. Like what do you want?
Wheatley has bought an entire carriage-full of tickets on the Adelaide Gather Round train, you should have heard him on AFL360 the frikkin' sycophant.

I don't get what the big deal is about Adelaide getting the gather round every year, why do they have to ram it down our throats?

Wheatley has bought an entire carriage-full of tickets on the Adelaide Gather Round train, you should have heard him on AFL360 the frikkin' sycophant.

I don't get what the big deal is about Adelaide getting the gather round every year, why do they have to ram it down our throats?

3 year contract, SA want longer as they make money from it, hence the ramming.

Logistically it makes sense to have it in SA just due to timezone and where it's located really, but yeah it's monetised, SA DGAF hence Norwood as opposed to any of their other ovals they use for the SANFL, the AFL really just need to make it an actual carnival to promote the game across interstate lines, have the regional parts of said states showcase things like SA with their wine regions and food culture for the current example, but then they all might just chase that dollar.

Another great interview from Stocker. He's always worth listening to if you have the time.

That was brilliant. Thanks for posting it Brut.

Awareness is one thing but attempting to provide practical advice as well. Good on Stocks. I'm a massive fan of his play and his attitude on field but even more impressed by him as a person. I've seen people very close to me that live with anxiety. It's real and it's a terrible burden.

Agree. Jumped completely to the negative.
Of course it would’ve felt like a community game, the crowd were right on top of them.

Was stating a fact, not being critical.

Way to make a mountain out of a molehill, luckily no one actually took the “story” and really ran with it.
Agree…I have no issue at all with what our skipper said!

More credit to him for being honest and saying what he thinks. The media constantly say they dont want robotic answers and when they do get honesty they jump on them. Is it any wonder players and coaches are reluctant to say things. What about RTB laughing about losing his licence (points) and lending his car to Collard, that could have been taken blown up and made something it is not.

If the media want honesty then give people room to express themselves rather than trying to create click bait stories ala the rubbish regarding Jack's comments.

Today the AFL is basically one big soft HR department and the media pundits are Karen’s.. where the personality in our game? Anyone with fire in their belly is cancelled and deported to the Taliban.

Listening to Lachie Neale talk is mind numbing. Bring back The Warrick Cappers, bring back Fevola street talk at the Brownlow

Jack Steele on Tom Green's GWS podcast (~27mins in).

More credit to him for being honest and saying what he thinks. The media constantly say they dont want robotic answers and when they do get honesty they jump on them. Is it any wonder players and coaches are reluctant to say things. What about RTB laughing about losing his licence (points) and lending his car to Collard, that could have been taken blown up and made something it is not.

If the media want honesty then give people room to express themselves rather than trying to create click bait stories ala the rubbish regarding Jack's comments.
The media love Lyon at the moment as he gives quality interviews/pressers with heaps of bites for them to publish on. They arent going to risk ire there by hanging on him having too many speeding fines.

But Steele is fair game to them as he isn't an amazing interviewer normally and is a somewhat stoic guy so any sort of controversy, even if its completely dumb and which no one agrees, with will be jumped on.

Seb Ross has compared Jack Steele to some of the AFL’s great modern-day leaders after having a front-row seat to St Kilda’s captain willing his side to a come-from-behind victory over Richmond.

The Saints dramatically flipped the script to turn a 22-point half-time deficit into an eight-point three-quarter-time lead by turning the open-corridor clash into a closed-circuit contested battle, which St Kilda won 9.13 (67) to 9.6 (60).

Steele was at the forefront of the resurgence, producing a gilt-edged captain’s quarter of clearance and contested ball-winning industry from the centre-square.

Ross believes his on-ball comrade and skipper is back in the form that earned him successive All-Australian jackets in 2020-21.

“He’s a similar sort of player to Joel Selwood, Trent Cotchin ... a player who can really lift his side with the way he attacks the man and wins the ball at contest.

“He’s so tough, he’s had a huge summer, and it’s great to see him healthy.

“With the footy he’s playing at the moment he’s getting back to his All-Australian form.

“For a few years it was like ‘if he doesn’t perform, where are we going to win?’

“He lifted us today, but if we can all do our bit and take the pressure off him, he’ll blossom even more.”

The seeds of Steele’s third-quarter virtuoso were sowed during a mid-week conversation with Ross.

“It’s funny I said to him during the week, the way Richmond like to play – they like to build the ball up, then take the long, quick contest – he should just plant himself at the fall of the ball because he’s such a good, clean player in that space.

“From there, he can feed it out to our runners like Riley Bonner, ‘Naz’ (Nasiah Wanganeen-Milera), ‘Hilly’ (Brad Hill).

“He was the one who got us going, Steeley. He turned the game for us. He was enormous.”

Ross and the Saints are also thankful to have a fit-and-firing Max King in front of goals.

King missed two set shots in the blustery conditions towards The Parade end in St Kilda’s vapid opening half before conjuring a miracle goal from the scoreboard pocket in the third stanza.

King’s incredible finish from a near-impossible angle gave the Saints their first lead of the afternoon, which they did not cede thereafter.

After enduring a wretched injury run, including three shoulder operations inside 12 months, King’s return from suspension straightened St Kilda up and kept the Tigers backmen on their toes.

“Maxy is such an important player and key cog in what we do,” Ross said.

“He’s had a tumultuous few years with injury. To just have him out on the park, he’s only going to grow from here.”

But Saints coach Ross Lyon had a different explanation for what produced his team’s third quarter turnaround, quipping that a UFO armed with 22 aliens landed in Norwood, donned Saints uniforms and completed the victory.

It was his light-hearted way of deflecting personal praise for the Saints’ Jekyll and Hyde performance.

“We actually landed a UFO in, walked out 22 aliens who put on St Kilda jumpers and went out and played,” he said cheekily.

“I didn’t do anything, to be honest. The players were responsible for the first half and they were responsible for the second half.”
The Tigers, led by marquee duo Shai Bolton and Dustin Martin, ran rampant early on the skinny oval’s confines.

Martin’s ability to find space and control the corridor was complemented by Bolton’s sublime finishing up forward.

The Saints, held goalless until the final 30 seconds of the first half, turned the match from an athletics meet into a contested battle of wills after the break.

Martin was curbed in the final two quarters, while Bolton’s moments of magic became more fleeting.
“Dusty is the best player in the last 10 years ... you reckon we might pay him some attention?” Lyon said.

“Early on, we gave them too much transition space, and they were going end to end on us.

“We came out after half-time and adjusted a few things, which really got the game to a contest.

“If we kept playing the game the way it was going, they were going to run rampant on us.

“Getting the ball into a contest suited us. It allowed us to get our pressure game going, and we scored on the back of that.

“We did well to tighten the screws after half-time. Fortunately, it got glued together OK and we got a result.”

Ross's press conference today was pretty weird. Asked about Richmond game, says "I've basically already discussed it". Asked about Steele - "yeah I praised him after the game but he's only as good as his next moment".

Has a crack at our travel schedule over the next month - "nice of the AFL to give us time to bond together."

Clocks in at just over 3 mins which must be the shortest pre-game coach press conference of all time.

Didn't seem too happy.

Ross's press conference today was pretty weird. Asked about Richmond game, says "I've basically already discussed it". Asked about Steele - "yeah I praised him after the game but he's only as good as his next moment".

Has a crack at our travel schedule over the next month - "nice of the AFL to give us time to bond together."

Clocks in at just over 3 mins which must be the shortest pre-game coach press conference of all time.

Didn't seem too happy.
Nasty RTB is what we want 😍