News 2024 St.Kilda Media Thread

Im Out See Ya GIF by ADWEEK

Cornes doesn't seem to rate our kids. Hopefully Windy proves him wrong. My feeling is Windy is very damaging with the ball, if he can start getting it 25+ times in midfield he'll be a gun. And Phillipou is an unusual type, if he starts dominating midfield we'll have a special player on our hands.

My oath. Lyon has brought so much more to the club than just wins.
Someone said it is a bit like Roos giving the souls back to Sydney.
Bassett has the admin humming, and despite our discussions on certain staff going, I am on board with Bassatt and Lyon.
Last season was not Lyon's list, the players had to learn a new system over preseason, had a shocking run with injuries but was still the only club bar the Premiers to be in the 8 all year.
Lyon got the defence right, now put over 100 games into first and second year players ( Lyon can't develop apparently), got what he wanted in trades and draft and will now develop the attack.
So I don't care who gets the arse, Gallagher, Toce, Lethlean, Roughhead, if we get on field results I will support what Lyon does.
Enright has shown, you don't need to be a Lyon crony if you are good at your job.
Lenny, bj, Harvs, Enright, SoS, Allen, Misson, Dalrymple are all proven football people and are at least as competent as those who they replaced.
Good results this year and arguments over personnel will be insignificant.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app
Boris will be our next coach 100%

Cornes doesn't seem to rate our kids. Hopefully Windy proves him wrong. My feeling is Windy is very damaging with the ball, if he can start getting it 25+ times in midfield he'll be a gun. And Phillipou is an unusual type, if he starts dominating midfield we'll have a special player on our hands.
Kane really underated Windy and no not every team has a Pou. Pou's difference is his attitude, he knows he is the best.

I hate to admit it but Cornes is probably right (not denigrating our up & coming young guns) but Kangas have been gifted a treasure trove of young talent which has seriously compromised the draft - that’s the reward they get for having rubbish coaches, admin & development - go figure?!

If we got half the leg up I’m confident we would be lifting up silverware for 3 years.

North have some incredible kids but we have plenty at the moment too. Might be like Geelong v Saints youth in the early 2000s.

King going in to bat hard for us hahaha
Kane saying Norf have "10 Phillipous" lmao

Good to see Kane lump 1st year players who haven’t played a game and Charlie Comben in line with Phillipou and Windhager. Not to mention he called windy a “role player” who turns the footy over! Like seriously? Shows he has absolutely nfi.

Will seriously eat his own words on windy in 2-3 years time

Cornes whole thing is to get viewers through outrage

His opinion means **** all

King on the other hand atleast has some moments in the sun where he forms his opinion from something. I don't necessarily give his opinion much weight but he's atleast on some kind of ****in path opposed to cornes.

G'day BF Crew

I think the attached Wed 31 Jan two-page spread on pages 56-57 of the SPORT AFL Section in the Herald-Sun titled 'Beware Lion's King - Poised for Max Impact, Ultimate Player Ratings - St Kilda', rating each player on the current Saints List, by John Ralph and Glen McFarlane, may be of interest to some.

I checked for a previous posting, but couldn't see one, so I apologise if its a double-up.

I hope its Ok to post the images of the article too and that the are readible.

Please delete Admins if not appropriate on either front.

I'll be interested in opinions on the ratings.

Cheers, SaintersFan

Attachments

• 20240202_171654.jpg
    20240202_171654.jpg
    1.8 MB · Views: 204
  • 20240202_171632.jpg
    20240202_171632.jpg
    1.6 MB · Views: 214
Pou's performance in the time trial is really exciting. People probably forget be was almost in the following draft. I think he'll be a special player for us.

He’s also nearly a year and a half younger than Marcus. His age profile is closer to Darcy Wilson than it is to Windy, Naz and Chito.

I expect Mattaes will still get pushed around a little bit this year, but his run will be better and hopefully that means more goals.

Good to see Kane lump 1st year players who haven’t played a game and Charlie Comben in line with Phillipou and Windhager. Not to mention he called windy a “role player” who turns the footy over! Like seriously? Shows he has absolutely nfi.

Will seriously eat his own words on windy in 2-3 years time

Imagine how skewed your brain must be to spruik Comben and brush Ming. If Charlie is playing key defender this year, Max will eat him alive.

G'day BF Crew

I think the attached Wed 31 Jan two-page spread on pages 56-57 of the SPORT AFL Section in the Herald-Sun titled 'Beware Lion's King - Poised for Max Impact, Ultimate Player Ratings - St Kilda', rating each player on the current Saints List, by John Ralph and Glen McFarlane, may be of interest to some.

I checked for a previous posting, but couldn't see one, so I apologise if its a double-up.

I hope its Ok to post the images of the article too and that the are readible.

Please delete Admins if not appropriate on either front.

I'll be interested in opinions on the ratings.

Cheers, SaintersFan
Thanks for posting this.

Hard to argue with most of the ratings, particularly at the top of the list. Reckon they are a bit harsh on having Stocker so low (compared to who is in front of him) and the gap between Caminiti and Sharman is a bit big for me, even if they are taking 'growth' into account.

Poor Hugo being last - someone has to be last but putting him way below the other draftees and the Irish recruit is a bit stiff.