List Mgmt. 2024 Trade & List Management Thread

it’s come straight from the horses mouth that LDU needs help shouldering the midfield while our young blokes come of age.
Thinking outside the box here - so tell me if I'm crazy - but maybe Jy might still have the shoulders for the job?

Lionel Richie Hello GIF

I'd be a little disappointed if willphill leaves but completely understand it from his perspective. Hope he goes on to have a good and successful career if he does end up leaving for more opportunity or a fresh start. I was surprised when we drafted him but then pretty quickly excited. I remember one of his early interviews he spoke about surrounding himself with the most professional and best trainers to try and get the best out of himself. Surprised it's worked out the way it has (although still lots time for him to come good)

NO RUSH FOR TASSIE PAIR​

TALKS haven't picked up yet on extensions for Tasmanian pair Colby McKercher and Ryley Sanders as the pair begin exciting AFL careers.

The duo, both top-five picks last year to North Melbourne (McKercher) and the Western Bulldogs (Sanders), have impressed in their debut seasons.

09GCNM24DB1851.jpg

Colby McKercher during the round nine match between Gold Coast and North Melbourne at TIO Stadium in Darwin, May 11, 2024. Picture: AFL Photos

Their initial standard three-year deal expires at the end of 2026, with the Tasmanian Devils due to come into the competition in 2028.

But the pair's agent Nick Gieschen from Connors Sports Management, who also manages West Coast's Harley Reid, Melbourne's Caleb Windsor and Hawthorn's Nick Watson as top-10 picks from the 2023 draft, said there was no rush on kickstarting discussions on McKercher and Sanders.

"Not really, to be honest. I've had brief chats with the clubs on both of them, but same as Harley, there's no rush. They've got time," Gieschen told Gettable, AFL.com.au's trade and draft show.

"If you compare it to [other] AFL players, like someone who has two and a half years to go on their contract, it is early. Normally those talks start to happen 18 months out, so I feel the clubs are comfortable with where these guys are sitting.

"They're all playing, they've all played the majority of the footy in their first season, so I'm sure individually there'll be a time to look at all those guys. I'm happy to start whenever the clubs are wanting to start but for now I think everyone's happy for them to keep playing footy."

Under the new rules, draftees could only extend their deals once round six had passed. Only one top-10 pick – Gold Coast's Ethan Read – has penned an extension so far. – Callum Twomey

Thinking outside the box here - so tell me if I'm crazy - but maybe Jy might still have the shoulders for the job?

Lionel Richie Hello GIF
He’s a stalwart of this club and there’s no denying he lifted us to victory on the weekend. But with the history of concussion I’d be nervous to depend on him as one of our bigger bodies.

Would be stoked for Jyza to be the missing piece, but I see him shifting positions to more of the pressure forward, this simultaneously addresses our issues with locking the ball inside F50 and putting Jye in a position with more control over putting his body on the line (while still letting him play to his strengths)

He’s a stalwart of this club and there’s no denying he lifted us to victory on the weekend. But with the history of concussion I’d be nervous to depend on him as one of our bigger bodies.

Would be stoked for Jyza to be the missing piece, but I see him shifting positions to more of the pressure forward, this simultaneously addresses our issues with locking the ball inside F50 and putting Jye in a position with more control over putting his body on the line (while still letting him play to his strengths)
Agree I reckon this might be simpkins final year as mainly midfield. Next year onwards more high half forward flank using his tank to work up and back and chain up which he did earlier this year

But I also think we don’t need to get a senior elder mid for the sake of it

Happy to pump games into LDU, Sheezel, Powell, Wardlaw and get some into wilphil as our core mids

And if we did recruit a mid as mentioned it should be Berry from lions as a free agent. With Ashcroft due to come in and the younger one his mid days are numbered

NO RUSH FOR TASSIE PAIR​

TALKS haven't picked up yet on extensions for Tasmanian pair Colby McKercher and Ryley Sanders as the pair begin exciting AFL careers.

The duo, both top-five picks last year to North Melbourne (McKercher) and the Western Bulldogs (Sanders), have impressed in their debut seasons.

09GCNM24DB1851.jpg

Colby McKercher during the round nine match between Gold Coast and North Melbourne at TIO Stadium in Darwin, May 11, 2024. Picture: AFL Photos

Their initial standard three-year deal expires at the end of 2026, with the Tasmanian Devils due to come into the competition in 2028.

But the pair's agent Nick Gieschen from Connors Sports Management, who also manages West Coast's Harley Reid, Melbourne's Caleb Windsor and Hawthorn's Nick Watson as top-10 picks from the 2023 draft, said there was no rush on kickstarting discussions on McKercher and Sanders.

"Not really, to be honest. I've had brief chats with the clubs on both of them, but same as Harley, there's no rush. They've got time," Gieschen told Gettable, AFL.com.au's trade and draft show.

"If you compare it to [other] AFL players, like someone who has two and a half years to go on their contract, it is early. Normally those talks start to happen 18 months out, so I feel the clubs are comfortable with where these guys are sitting.

"They're all playing, they've all played the majority of the footy in their first season, so I'm sure individually there'll be a time to look at all those guys. I'm happy to start whenever the clubs are wanting to start but for now I think everyone's happy for them to keep playing footy."

Under the new rules, draftees could only extend their deals once round six had passed. Only one top-10 pick – Gold Coast's Ethan Read – has penned an extension so far. – Callum Twomey
Angry What Is This GIF by Adult Swim

There is not a ****ing chance in hell Yeo packs his shit up and moves anywhere.
And it would be a massive red flag if he did.

Blokes who leave a club to go home then leave home to go to a third club?

Mercenaries.

We do not need another injured one on our list given the last bloke that fit the profile.

Haha alright so re-cap.

We’ve got no update on Colby, Ldu, and Zuurhar.

2/3 reported older mids we’ve missed out, but no one really wanted.

We haven't missed out on anything as yet.... still 4 mths till the circus comes to town

Why would he extend already? Not a single first round draftee from last year has extended yet lol
Exactly.

He's contracted to the end of 26 and they're trying to link him not signing an extension to the Tassie team lol

I guess they can't report on the losing streak anymore so they have to think of a different angle to create some NMFC clicks..

Grampa Simpson Meme GIF by MOODMAN

Agree I reckon this might be simpkins final year as mainly midfield. Next year onwards more high half forward flank using his tank to work up and back and chain up which he did earlier this year

But I also think we don’t need to get a senior elder mid for the sake of it

Happy to pump games into LDU, Sheezel, Powell, Wardlaw and get some into wilphil as our core mids

And if we did recruit a mid as mentioned it should be Berry from lions as a free agent. With Ashcroft due to come in and the younger one his mid days are numbered
I had to check the date of this post. Nostra, you weren’t alone last year in calling for Jy to be moved from the middle, but he provided a pretty stark reminder that he still has weapons and can be a force in the middle.

I like the idea of getting Parker and the fact he's playing ressies could help us.
Parker is the best option floated so far I reckon.

✅ Doesn’t have Yeos injury history.
✅ Has more versatility than Wines.
✅ Will cost less draft capital than Wines cause he’s two years older
✅ Found himself on the outer now thanks to Heeney, Gulden, Warner, Rowbottom (and Mills).

Parker is the best option floated so far I reckon.

✅ Doesn’t have Yeos injury history.
✅ Has more versatility than Wines.
✅ Will cost less draft capital than Wines cause he’s two years older
✅ Found himself on the outer now thanks to Heeney, Gulden, Warner, Rowbottom (and Mills).

Most importantly, has been involved in and helped drive a consistently good, winning culture.

We gave up pick 44 and what will probably end up a pick in the mid-low 20s this year for Dylan Stephens and pick 25 last year.

So we swapped Disco for pick 44 and effectively this years spare second rounder for a second rounder last year. We then used it to trade into the late first round.

Another epic fail by rAWLING!!!
Giving him four years was the mistake.

On SM-S901E using BigFooty.com mobile app