List Mgmt. 2024 Trade Thread - No.2

I dont get the strategy with Curtis Taylor. Do we think he could do a Dan Butler type job for us? He's 24, doesn't really scream pick me and we are reasonably served in the small forward dept.

Anyone?
There is a Curtis Taylor thread on the North board ... sounds like he is a bit of an Instagram party boy .... but .... does have some talent .... if you can get him to put his head down ... some think he is worth persevering with ... others have had enough

Is there enough upside there? Even if he costs us nothing it doesn't excite me at all. May as well have kept one of the blokes we let go on the list.

Mason Wood's next project perhaps

Is there enough upside there? Even if he costs us nothing it doesn't excite me at all. May as well have kept one of the blokes we let go on the list.
I'm guessing we will be saying something similar after any trade we make this year while we are so heavily invested in the draft.

Next year, it might be a different story though

I dont get the strategy with Curtis Taylor. Do we think he could do a Dan Butler type job for us? He's 24, doesn't really scream pick me and we are reasonably served in the small forward dept.

Anyone?
Not even a small forward in the normal sense. Won’t be getting Butler pressure and we already have Owens Pou and Higgins as those non KPP marking fwds. It’s very odd. He has photos of someone perhaps?

Maybe the strategy is find another bit part player that we can pay next to nothing and that costs next to nothing. What mid size forwards have we let go of so far this year?

Curtis Taylor draft profile

Curtis Taylor​

Height: 186cm
Weight: 79kg
D.O.B: 06-04-2000
DRAFT ANALYSIS: “An energetic medium forward who is strong overhead and has serious match-winning capabilities”
Leagues: AFL U18 Championships, Coates Talent League Boys

OVERVIEW
Curtis Taylor is a player who has all the pieces of the puzzle, it is just a case of putting them together. The exciting half-forward is rated anywhere between the top 10 and second round. There is little doubt he has the capability of turning a match on its head, kicking multiple goals in a short space of time, but it is just that consistency that has not quite developed, to do it on a week-by-week basis. Taylor has quite a few party tricks in his arsenal and in terms of player comparisons, he is not too dissimilar to Jordan De Goey in the way that he can dominate in the air or at ground level and just outsmart and outmuscle his opponent. He has had some amazing highlights this season, but has also had some quiet games, and for Taylor, it is about closing the gap between his best and worst as to how far he can go with his AFL career.

STRENGTHS
  • Vertical Jump
  • X-factor
  • Scoreboard impact
  • Overhead marking
  • One-on-ones
There is no doubt Taylor is a special player. He is strong in the air or at ground level, has that great goal sense that worry his opponents into fumbling or making errors in the forward 50, while also having that innate term everyone loves to use, called X-factor. Taylor is exciting, he has a great vertical jump which saw him record a 76cm running vertical jump in the pre-season testing and it is clear when he gets a jump at it, his strong overhead ability and cleanliness with one-grab marking makes it very difficult for defenders to spoil. He has multiple ways of conquering goals, both from leading out, dropping back or crumbing a taller forward, and his versatility within the forward 50 has him as one of the most touted forwards in the draft crop.
Taylor has also spent time in the midfield, however as his endurance still needs to improve, he has predominantly done his best work inside 50. His kicking can be hit and miss at times, but his ability to create a scoring opportunity out of nothing in the forward half is what adds to his ability. He backs himself to win one-on-ones against any opponent and is that challenging player to match-up on because he is too nimble for taller players, and too strong for smaller defenders. Taylor is the type that will excite fans at the next level due to his ceiling and what he is capable of when he is "on".

IMPROVEMENTS
  • Endurance
  • Consistency
For all of Taylor's exciting traits, there are still improvements to be made to his game. The first is building his endurance, which is still a working progress. He recorded 20.4 on the Yo-yo test in the pre-season, and spent more time in the forward 50 arc compared to the midfield for this fact. His endurance is another reason why his consistency is an issue, with Taylor floating in and out of games at times. In the final two games of the season against the Geelong Falcons, Taylor had a quiet start in Round 16, before kicking a couple of late goals in the final term. In the Wild Card Round, Taylor started strongly, but faded out of the game, albeit copping a knock in the final term. It is bridging the gap between his high production and low production games that is the biggest thing for Taylor going forward.

DRAFT PROJECTION: 10-30

SUMMARY
Curtis Taylor is a forward who can pinch hit as a midfielder and win a game off his own boot. He has the X-factor, the vertical leap, the strength overhead or at ground level, and the goal sense to have an impact early on in his AFL career inside 50. He does have to work on his endurance and build into four-quarter games, with some impressive quarters, and some quiet quarters, but he has all the tools to become a very damaging player at the top level. While he could go as high as top 10 or as low as second round, expect him to land at a club somewhere in between, with recruiters drafting him on future scope rather than current production - although his current production is still very impressive. One to watch long-term and enjoy with his highlight reel no doubt one to watch.

Anyone?

His draft year bios refer to his position as being Midfield/Forward.

It’s the magic M word

9OjyHlP.gif

Curtis Taylor draft profile

Curtis Taylor​

Height: 186cm
Weight: 79kg
D.O.B: 06-04-2000
DRAFT ANALYSIS: “An energetic medium forward who is strong overhead and has serious match-winning capabilities”
Leagues: AFL U18 Championships, Coates Talent League Boys

OVERVIEW
Curtis Taylor is a player who has all the pieces of the puzzle, it is just a case of putting them together. The exciting half-forward is rated anywhere between the top 10 and second round. There is little doubt he has the capability of turning a match on its head, kicking multiple goals in a short space of time, but it is just that consistency that has not quite developed, to do it on a week-by-week basis. Taylor has quite a few party tricks in his arsenal and in terms of player comparisons, he is not too dissimilar to Jordan De Goey in the way that he can dominate in the air or at ground level and just outsmart and outmuscle his opponent. He has had some amazing highlights this season, but has also had some quiet games, and for Taylor, it is about closing the gap between his best and worst as to how far he can go with his AFL career.

STRENGTHS
  • Vertical Jump
  • X-factor
  • Scoreboard impact
  • Overhead marking
  • One-on-ones
There is no doubt Taylor is a special player. He is strong in the air or at ground level, has that great goal sense that worry his opponents into fumbling or making errors in the forward 50, while also having that innate term everyone loves to use, called X-factor. Taylor is exciting, he has a great vertical jump which saw him record a 76cm running vertical jump in the pre-season testing and it is clear when he gets a jump at it, his strong overhead ability and cleanliness with one-grab marking makes it very difficult for defenders to spoil. He has multiple ways of conquering goals, both from leading out, dropping back or crumbing a taller forward, and his versatility within the forward 50 has him as one of the most touted forwards in the draft crop.
Taylor has also spent time in the midfield, however as his endurance still needs to improve, he has predominantly done his best work inside 50. His kicking can be hit and miss at times, but his ability to create a scoring opportunity out of nothing in the forward half is what adds to his ability. He backs himself to win one-on-ones against any opponent and is that challenging player to match-up on because he is too nimble for taller players, and too strong for smaller defenders. Taylor is the type that will excite fans at the next level due to his ceiling and what he is capable of when he is "on".

IMPROVEMENTS
  • Endurance
  • Consistency
For all of Taylor's exciting traits, there are still improvements to be made to his game. The first is building his endurance, which is still a working progress. He recorded 20.4 on the Yo-yo test in the pre-season, and spent more time in the forward 50 arc compared to the midfield for this fact. His endurance is another reason why his consistency is an issue, with Taylor floating in and out of games at times. In the final two games of the season against the Geelong Falcons, Taylor had a quiet start in Round 16, before kicking a couple of late goals in the final term. In the Wild Card Round, Taylor started strongly, but faded out of the game, albeit copping a knock in the final term. It is bridging the gap between his high production and low production games that is the biggest thing for Taylor going forward.

DRAFT PROJECTION: 10-30

SUMMARY
Curtis Taylor is a forward who can pinch hit as a midfielder and win a game off his own boot. He has the X-factor, the vertical leap, the strength overhead or at ground level, and the goal sense to have an impact early on in his AFL career inside 50. He does have to work on his endurance and build into four-quarter games, with some impressive quarters, and some quiet quarters, but he has all the tools to become a very damaging player at the top level. While he could go as high as top 10 or as low as second round, expect him to land at a club somewhere in between, with recruiters drafting him on future scope rather than current production - although his current production is still very impressive. One to watch long-term and enjoy with his highlight reel no doubt one to watch.
Just a little reminder to take profiles with a grain of salt. They have to be kind.

See. We’re putting out there. The intern could be on the calculator when the contract drops at Afl House in October and guess what he says - “saw it on Fox Footy, band 1”.

And ffs Clarky - we go not need another fn HBF
It will be band one - anything over 850k and 5 yrs.
and by what I can gather his contract is around 900k and 6 years.

What other position would he play?
There’s likely nothing surer
His Size for an on-baller concerns me. Especially in our midfield we're becoming Dodoro's Essendon Midfield with all of these slight of frame mids.

Maybe a half backer or GWS type high half forward? He's got the tackling ability, work rate and pace. Just not sure he's going to put the size on to monster a centre bounce in the future.

So can Zac Jones. So did Ben Long. And of course, so can the modern messiah Max King.

If we're going anywhere, we need to minimise our numbers of inconsistent players and maximise the dependable guns. We've been a "unbeatable at our best" team for too long now.

He's from Max King's draft. He's had ill-defined roles and looks like the ideal type to give set position to. He's got better stats than Cooper Sharman and probably had a similar season where he's been thrown around everywhere. Last year he'd kicked 39 goals and looked on his way back to SA for two FRDPs.

It’s absolutely pointless and with academy’s it’s out of control. People talk about the romance yet conveniently forget that we have live trading as well as a trade week. Do you think Brisbane are trading up for Ashcroft if they had to, hell no. Did Collingwood move heaven and earth to get Ed Richards 🤔, Hawthorn had josh Kennedy and said yeah nah see you kid, it’s a sham.

Get rid of it, there’s no need for it and if any club or player really felt that strongly there is already a way to make it happen. If you dream of the Riewoldt boys being stars for us at some point down the track or some cosmic justice evening things out you’ll be waiting a long time. If you want a fair chance to win on merit then axe this rubbish asap, axe it when Tassie concessions come in that’s enough advance warning. If it’s deemed that the afl needs academy’s then let the afl run them, that seems simple enough.

100% need to clean up the double dipping and using late picks to make up value. That was a ridiculous free hit. At the moment the free agency and loss of loyalty have taken some romance and love for the game away. We don't want to completely remove the last of it. Just need them to pay fair value for them.

North obviously couldn't squeeze the best out of Taylor but maybe we have the structures in place to do so .... and the connections?

He has the skills to make it but seems to be that the desire is lacking ... maybe its a North problem ... but we seem to think that we can turn him around

Also he slid in his draft year as there were question marks around his "application at training"

More interesting though is comments from him below ....

“I was in the (AFL) Academy with Tarryn (Thomas) and Bailey Scott, so I had a relationship with them already.

Mason Wood is someone that I have been friends with for a while, so he has helped as well.”

Well ... there we have it ... the possible connection as to why we have some interest

Can he be developed into a HF Fritsch type ... too nimble for talls and too strong for smalls .... guess we will know soon enough

List Mgmt. 2024 Trade Thread - No.2