List Mgmt. 2025 List Management 📃

Durdin needs to play at least 20% mid time I think. His vision and disposal into the forward line is very good. Now Owies is not there to come up the ground, I think Durdin should be the one. Motlop's explosive pace is more suited to staying inside 50 and pouncing on the loose balls.

Go watch Motlop at training doing centre bounce work. It’s impressive.

We are talking about a few minutes a game to give our guns a rest.

And I quote directly from your post:

“Trying to fit Cripps Walsh Cerra Hewett Smith Elijah Lord Docherty and get maximum benefits is going to be interesting. I also hope we give Williams Fogarty Durdin Motlop and even Kemp & Charlie some mid minutes at times to mix it up.”

I furiously disagree with you that we use 14 players through the midfield. I cannot see us doing that. Particularly the last four names you suggested.

So don’t say I have misquoted you, when I haven’t. I just disagreed with you and gave you my opinion. No need to be so defensive, everyone’s entitled to their opinion.

Go Blues…..and my boy Billy

I have never said use 14 players in a game or all at once and I mentioned the players you want first. All of those players won’t even be in the side all at once

I made it clear who are the major mid players and questioned how we will use them to be most effective.

I said I hope we give Williams Durdin etc them some mid minutes when we are talking about a season just to break things up and have options

Talk about a massive overreaction to nothing

I’m in furious disagreement with both of you. Why would we use these players when we have better options? My suggestion would be that Dunedin, Motlop and Kemp nail down their positions as forwards before they are thrown on ball.

Each to their own. It’s not a personal attack, I just can’t see it happening.

Go Blues!!
We're not entirely in disagreement here....Durdin and Motlop do have to get themselves fit and nail down their positions primarily as forwards firstly.

The point being that we have potential midfield options above the current status quo. And the fact that we were trialing Motlop in centre stoppages last preseason before he got injured suggest that it may actually be happening contrary to your view. Durdin was a mid/forward when we drafted him so also gives us that option without trying to create something out of nothing.

And as an aside, I also reckon that Billy the Kid could slot nicely into the midfield over time. We do love a local lad, and his pace gives us a point of difference we don't currently have. I can see him and Jagga forming a nice duo....

We're not entirely in disagreement here....Durdin and Motlop do have to get themselves fit and nail down their positions primarily as forwards firstly.

The point being that we have potential midfield options above the current status quo. And the fact that we were trialing Motlop in centre stoppages last preseason before he got injured suggest that it may actually be happening contrary to your view. Durdin was a mid/forward when we drafted him so also gives us that option without trying to create something out of nothing.

And as an aside, I also reckon that Billy the Kid could slot nicely into the midfield over time. We do love a local lad, and his pace gives us a point of difference we don't currently have. I can see him and Jagga forming a nice duo....

If you look at roughly how most believe our side will line up. This is our structure

B: Boyd Weitering McGovern
HB: Ollie Haynes Saad

Foll: TDK Hewett Walsh
C: Acres Cripps Docherty

HF: Elijah McKay Williams
F: Kemp Charlie Motlop

Int: Cerra Smith Durdin Newman

We have our mids plus Cerra & Smith. They will do most of the work. Doc Elijah would be next

The conversation is around having options, back up for injuries and at times mixing things up when we may be struggling. Names like Motlop or Durdin could well give us a spark at centre bounces when we need it. Also, the option to be able to rest Cripps forward. Will they play mid week in week out or have major mid minutes? NO, but good sides have depth and options

It's a long year and the more we can share the load the better off we will be

I still just don't really get why we would put Motlop in the middle though? Sharing the load won't be an issue, we have plenty of midfield depth on our list, and we have options

Durdin I understand, he's quick, extremely agile, tackles like a frenetic lunatic when he's fit and healthy. Williams the same, and he's got elite skills kicking inside 50.

What does Motlop actually provide as a mid? He's not quick, he's decent in terms of agility but nothing special, he's strong through the hips (which Cripps, Hewett, Cerra, Lord etc also are) and he's never shown to have any sort of elite vision with his hands of kicking. On top of that, he's never shown at any level an ability to accumulate.

I'd much rather give Jagga more CBAs or a Durdin, Williams type. Even Lord as an extra rotation off a flank if needed.

I still just don't really get why we would put Motlop in the middle though? Sharing the load won't be an issue, we have plenty of midfield depth on our list, and we have options

Durdin I understand, he's quick, extremely agile, tackles like a frenetic lunatic when he's fit and healthy. Williams the same, and he's got elite skills kicking inside 50.

What does Motlop actually provide as a mid? He's not quick, he's decent in terms of agility but nothing special, he's strong through the hips (which Cripps, Hewett, Cerra, Lord etc also are) and he's never shown to have any sort of elite vision with his hands of kicking. On top of that, he's never shown at any level an ability to accumulate.

I'd much rather give Jagga more CBAs or a Durdin, Williams type. Even Lord as an extra rotation off a flank if needed.

Ohh FFs 🤦

Agreed. And why would we do it any different to other pointy end teams of recent times

Cripps, Walsh, Cerra, Hewett.

Smith, Elijah, Lord, possibly Doc

All others would be an occasional cameo, moreso to probably get them into the game

Mots, Durdin, Kemp still trying to cement a spot in the side

His best trait is his forward smarts. Don't want him anywhere but planted at the feet of Harry and Charlie, has shown over his career so far that that's what he does best.

Old school forward pocket and imo nothing else.
I get what you’re saying walshy and mots would most games still be playing 95% forward where he should be. It’s just to add a different spice if required. May not even happen once a game. Only if needed

I understand the premise of it, I'm saying Motlop doesn't provide anything different to our current mids.

Jagga, Durdin, Williams, even someone like Jack Martin before he left add something different to our mix because athletically they contrast others in our midfield.

Motlop is a nuggety player who has good goal sense and is strong through the hips. Imo he doesn't provide a point of difference like a Kozi Pickett or JDG type would because athletically he's very similar to our other mids.

I understand the premise of it, I'm saying Motlop doesn't provide anything different to our current mids.

Jagga, Durdin, Williams, even someone like Jack Martin before he left add something different to our mix because athletically they contrast others in our midfield.

Motlop is a nuggety player who has good goal sense and is strong through the hips. Imo he doesn't provide a point of difference like a Kozi Pickett or JDG type would because athletically he's very similar to our other mids.
Not sure about that imo
Will need to see some more training footage ect of how/if his fitness and speed has developed over preseason to date? If it has, then I think he can offer a bit of something different that some of the other don’t have. Only my opinion tho and I respect where your coming from mate.

There is nothing wrong with having flexibility and options and giving blokes a chance to play multiple positions and roles - Voss has been an advocate for this himself but I suspect injury concerns nad lack of continuity have frustrated developemnt- either way I dont hink it is a big deal but I can see a case for changing up match-ups at times - the more options the better.

Not sure about that imo
Will need to see some more training footage ect of how/if his fitness and speed has developed over preseason to date? If it has, then I think he can offer a bit of something different that some of the other don’t have. Only my opinion tho and I respect where your coming from mate.
Yeah, hopefully he's made some big strides in both departments. Will help his game considerably imo.

Go watch Motlop at training doing centre bounce work. It’s impressive.

We are talking about a few minutes a game to give our guns a rest.
I have seen Motlop train. Never seen him at centre bounce set ups. Seen him at the foot of the rucks in the forward line stoppages. He needs to nail down his forward craft first and foremost.

I think you need a break. You are now misquoting yourself 🤣

So not the entire game? What did they use during the whole year?

In big games and key moments you use your guns. No brainer but it’s a long year and it would be improbable that they are all fit all year

To win a flag you need depth and options

Cripps last year had his best year ever and we finished 8th. We need to support him and others to win number 17
We need enough others to step up so that we can still win enough games with Cripps coming back to the pack a bit. Can't expect him to get better every year. If he plays really well, that's a bonus but we shouldn't overly rely on that happening.

On SM-F946B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Always good to have viable options and or players used as a change up.

Based on last year, we are no different to any other side in this space, especially where we used more players than the premiers
We know that Voss is conservative and will only play guys he trusts when the whips are cracking. How can they build trust if he won't play them during the H&A season?

Think this is somewhat of a false narrative

Excluding ruckmen, at centre bounces, we used more players than any of the top 8 sides apart from the Cats

This is my take on Motlop as well. Previously he has been dropped from running through the middle and waving his arms at the opponent in what he considers tackling. Basically ghosting the defensive side of the role. He got dropped after that period of time for a large chunk of games (2023 i think).

Motlop can tackle which is a requirement when our mids don't get the clearance/ball. He just falls away with it so dont want him in there until he can prove he can tackle continuously. I really have Motlop as a lock in the forward 6 for his creative ability. A good player there.

We’ve already got a plethora of blokes who we can run through the midfield at the moment so I’d like to see Kemp, C Durdin and Motlop prove they can actually be good consistent players at the highest level before we start giving them midfield minutes.

I'd say 'Lij is a direct one to one replacement for Martin.
Won't be as strong body on body but will make up for it delivering the ball inside the Arc and can Kick from 50
You look at Martin's stats off AFLtables.com and all Lij needs is 13 games a year and 10 goals a season to match Martins last 5 yr numbers. Lij in his first year did 22 games and 17 goals playing a mix of roles. Good times ahead.
We have lost little and gained much. Best ability being availability and all that. If he stays in the right head space and keep putting the work in, has elite upside.

I am in furious disagreement with all of you - can’t remember why, might have accidentally taken a blue pill

Just got back from the future (Training Thread wasn’t active enough) - I like what I am seeing, mids are dominating, defense is rock solid, forwards are kicking goals

List “Supreme Being” keeps merging Pick 19s for Top 5 picks and everything is coming up roses. Its amazing how our half back and half forward flankers all can play in the middle

Those that are wondering - umpires are now AI controlled drones (havent seen a decision I didn’t like in the last 5yrs, I’m not entirely sure why the umps all look like Agent Smith but premiership day deja vu is okay by me).

We are on track for our 20th premiership in a row, other clubs aren’t happy and keep claiming we have rigged the salary cap, Pigs Arse. We can’t help it that Free Agents are coming for the premiership glory

I love the fact that the Tiggers and Filth have just been demoted to the magoos comp. But can’t believe North are playing out of Port Moresby, surely the WFL learnt their lesson in Tassie

BigFooty has lost some of it’s appeal as none of us have any complaints except about the cost of Kayo in our digital membership. I just log on for the opposition melts. Likes have been replaced with a Tips button. Its optional but some of you are still cashing in your BluesCrypto and sharing the love.

For the life of me I still can’t figure out how President Sayers is still around, not sure whose pic he posted this year but it is some next level manscaping

If the mods move this post - sorry I didn’t think this should be in the rumours thread, nor the President Thread and training doesn’t happen in the future it’s all VR

List Mgmt. 2025 List Management 📃