List Mgmt. 2025 List Management 📃

Pickett didnt 'throw his career away' mate. Like the Irish kid Byrne ( and his mate Sheehan) - these blokes were cruelled by injury. Pickett was a fee kick to Carlton as part of the Marchbank trade ( IMSMC) - because his first 2-3 years at GWS was him trying to recover from (lipsfrank? - a foot injury that ends most careers) after getting fixed at Carlton, he played a few games in the Bolton era - where he pretty much showed generational talent and electric speed - only to go down with more injury - culminating in a bad knee injury suffered in pre-season ....very sad day for him and the CLub...

In no way is there any evidence that he 'threw away' his career. Some kids just dont have the bodies for AFL - despite having all the attribute of elite players - unfortunately Carlton has had too many of these types - Byrne, Pickett, Marchbank, Cuningham and even imported a couple - like Martin and lets be honest here McGovern.

Saying criticisms of Motlop are without basis? He had a terrible season last year, partly due to injury and partly due to the condition he came back in when he was healthy. I don't see what's wrong with the comments that were made.

Where did I say any of that and your previous answer was completely irrelvant to what I said. I honestly have no idea your point or what you are on about

Saying criticisms of Motlop are without basis? He had a terrible season last year, partly due to injury and partly due to the condition he came back in when he was healthy. I don't see what's wrong with the comments that were made.

In running there are different types of speed... You can have a fantastic top end speed without being quick out the gates. Look at the new Australian sprinting prodigy Gout Gout, he's woeful out the blocks compared to the rest of his opponents but as soon as he hits full stride he runs away with it like he's racing a pack of toddlers.

As a small forward it is far more beneficial to be quick out the blocks than it is to have good top end speed. A position like the Wing would generally be the opposite.
Be interesting to see as his body matures whether that changes, he looks to be a powerful build, cripps gained some extra burst but not really increased his speed I wouldn't say
Of the 2 areas, perhaps burst is easier to improve, but I'm not a sports scientist so 🤷‍♂️

Regarding Motlop. People always mistake being unfit for being slow. You can't run fast when you are fatigued. Motlop hasn't ever been really fit as an AFL player. If he gets fit we will get to see he has pretty decent pace and hopefully that means he can use his pace for repeat efforts and defensive efforts. He seems to be going well so far with his training so let's see what he can bring. Hopefully our new high performance person brings a style of training which suites him.

Pickett didnt 'throw his career away' mate. Like the Irish kid Byrne ( and his mate Sheehan) - these blokes were cruelled by injury. Pickett was a fee kick to Carlton as part of the Marchbank trade ( IMSMC) - because his first 2-3 years at GWS was him trying to recover from (lipsfrank? - a foot injury that ends most careers) after getting fixed at Carlton, he played a few games in the Bolton era - where he pretty much showed generational talent and electric speed - only to go down with more injury - culminating in a bad knee injury suffered in pre-season ....very sad day for him and the CLub...

In no way is there any evidence that he 'threw away' his career. Some kids just dont have the bodies for AFL - despite having all the attribute of elite players - unfortunately Carlton has had too many of these types - Byrne, Pickett, Marchbank, Cuningham and even imported a couple - like Martin and lets be honest here McGovern.
Nah. Pickett had issues with injury no doubt but the reason he was delisted mid season was for this stuff.

Then only a few weeks or months before the club and him decided to part ways.
1736994069188.png
1736994103322.png

Marchbank and Cuningham never ever rocked up in this sort of shape no matter how cruelled by injury they all were. McGovern miraculously survived a cull because he was on such a massive contract when he came back out of shape.

Be interesting to see as his body matures whether that changes, he looks to be a powerful build, cripps gained some extra burst but not really increased his speed I wouldn't say
Of the 2 areas, perhaps burst is easier to improve, but I'm not a sports scientist so 🤷‍♂️
Regarding Motlop. People always mistake being unfit for being slow. You can't run fast when you are fatigued. Motlop hasn't ever been really fit as an AFL player. If he gets fit we will get to see he has pretty decent pace and hopefully that means he can use his pace for repeat efforts and defensive efforts. He seems to be going well so far with his training so let's see what he can bring. Hopefully our new high performance person brings a style of training which suites him.
I sincerely hope so. He's easily our most natural forward so if he can have a big year we'll be much better for it.

Durdin I worry about his shoulders, not as much of a goal threat as Motlop, but his pressure is fantastic when he's able to apply himself at the contest without getting injured.

Nah. Pickett had issues with injury no doubt but the reason he was delisted mid season was for this stuff.

Then only a few weeks or months before the club and him decided to part ways.
View attachment 2204938
View attachment 2204939

Marchbank and Cuningham never ever rocked up in this sort of shape no matter how cruelled by injury they all were. McGovern miraculously survived a cull because he was on such a massive contract when he came back out of shape.

He didnt leave Carlton becaue he was overweight mate and he wasnt 'overweight' when he did leave...I think you are being harsh or focussing on one stoopid article. Justliek those who foicusse don McGovern being overweigt - when they bloke couldnt train because he literally boke his neck.

Exgtending the discussion....Yes so called standards have iomproved at Carlton - it will be good when 'standards' marry up to team results for a full year. The proof is in performance week to week - no excuses this year none zero nada and I'm looking at Voss and his crew of assistants including Russell who apparently is a gun forwads coach.

He didnt leave Carlton becaue he was overweight mate and he wasnt 'overweight' when he did leave...I think you are being harsh or focussing on one stoopid article. Justliek those who foicusse don McGovern being overweigt - when they bloke couldnt train because he literally boke his neck.

Exgtending the discussion....Yes so called standards have iomproved at Carlton - it will be good when 'standards' marry up to team results for a full year. The proof is in performance week to week - no excuses this year none zero nada and I'm looking at Voss and his crew of assistants including Russell who apparently is a gun forwads coach.
Never going to agree on this so may as well move on.

On the second part of your post I agree. We are right in the sweet spot for our list and need to make the most of it.

Need to pick one of Nigel or Phillips as a step in back up for Weiters...

Though I note Young is still with us....

Phillips to me makes more sense - younger and arguably more durable....

Durdin is 28 and Phillips 25

Durdin has missed a lot of football. So has Phillips (not as much)

We are in the window and looking for a Weitering back up. I think if we had moved on Young we might have picked both. The way Durdin is spoken about, if he gets through pre season I reckon that's the way we will go

Phillips has signed with our 2's so if Durdin Weitering or Young go down early we can bring him in mid year

Just my take

We are in the window and looking for a Weitering back up. I think if we had moved on Young we might have picked both. The way Durdin is spoken about, if he gets through pre season I reckon that's the way we will go

Phillips has signed with our 2's so if Durdin Weitering or Young go down early we can bring him in mid year

Just my take
Can you not see us rolling with a Weitering/Haynes/Gov situation? Then a combo of Saad, Cowan, Boyd, Ollie and Doc off the half-back? JSOS as stand-in/backup for the latter 2, and Young/Durdin backup for Weiters?

That's my take.

Just my take
Not sure the point of having Durdin & Phillips and Young potentially playing reserves when we drafted O'Farrell as a young development defender, makes a whole lot more sense to go with the younger Phillips.
Durdin offers nothing more and has had enough time in the system.

Weitering going down is the number 1 risk to our success.

Phillips or S Durdin are our best bets to replace him should that nightmare play out. I’d be very surprised if one of them isn’t on our list come round 1.
While I don't disagree that Weitering is important, you can win a flag without a dominant key defender. They're nice to have and can certainly compliment the rest of your back half, but team defense has reduced the importance of that dominant presence significantly.

If we get fitness and continuity through the middle and HBF - specifically, Newman, Doc, Cowan, Acres, Walsh, Hewitt, Gov; those with the size to compete third man in and/or leadership chops and organization skills to call people in - there's no reason why with good organisation we can't cover for his absence for a month. Young doesn't work because he and Weitering make the defense too slow and they cover the same players; he's played some pretty decent footy when Weits has been out before.

We'll see, I guess.

While I don't disagree that Weitering is important, you can win a flag without a dominant key defender. They're nice to have and can certainly compliment the rest of your back half, but team defense has reduced the importance of that dominant presence significantly

You can but Weitering is the player I reckon we can least afford to lose

From what it sounds like Durdin is most likely going to be resigned while Phillips will be signed with our reserves and the audition for a contract in 2026 will be played out this season. I would think DGB will be offered a contract with the reserves as well and will also play for a 2026 contract.

I would think if Durdin fails this season then he will be delisted and Phillips or DGB will be a part of our plans to sign up for 2026 otherwise Durdin may well hold his spot. Obviously we will be looking at all available key defenders and we may end up with someone better than both.

Haynes is a really high level player who should hold a spot but it's a matter of how well his body holds up.

Weitering, Young and Durdin all play the same position as the biggest defender. They are all fullbacks. While Silvagni and Haynes are more your CHB, your second biggest defender types. I think we see Phillips and DGB as more of a fullback type.

Sometimes Haynes may be able to fill in at fullback. Young and Durdin can be makeshift Centre Half Backs but are more your fullback types. Silvagni is probably more your CHB type but maybe he can fill in as a fullback, wait and see.

McGovern is a genuine third tall who can play a bit at CHB. Haynes can play that third tall role and I suspect Silvagni will as well. Need to be able to cover smalls though so smarts and pace are important.

O'Farrell I doubt we will see at AFL level for a year or two. I am sure we are hoping that he will be AFL ready after Haynes hopefully gives us 2-3 seasons.

From what it sounds like Durdin is most likely going to be resigned while Phillips will be signed with our reserves and the audition for a contract in 2026 will be played out this season. I would think DGB will be offered a contract with the reserves as well and will also play for a 2026 contract.

I would think if Durdin fails this season then he will be delisted and Phillips or DGB will be a part of our plans to sign up for 2026 otherwise Durdin may well hold his spot. Obviously we will be looking at all available key defenders and we may end up with someone better than both.

Haynes is a really high level player who should hold a spot but it's a matter of how well his body holds up.

Weitering, Young and Durdin all play the same position as the biggest defender. They are all fullbacks. While Silvagni and Haynes are more your CHB, your second biggest defender types. I think we see Phillips as more of a fullback type.

Sometimes Haynes may be able to fill in at fullback. Young and Durdin can be makeshift Centre Half Backs but are more your fullback types. Silvagni is probably more your CHB type but maybe he can fill in as a fullback, wait and see.

McGovern is a genuine third tall who can play a bit at CHB. Haynes can play that third tall role and I suspect Silvagni will as well. Need to be able to cover smalls though so smarts and pace are important.

O'Farrell I doubt we will see at AFL level for a year or two. I am sure we are hoping that he will be AFL ready after Haynes hopefully gives us 2-3 seasons.

It's all matchups these days and mobility. IMO Weitering is our pillar. That key rock back in defence. The days of playing a true Full Back and CHB regularly are over

Round One we play Richmond. They will likely play Lynch at FF possibly supported by Koschitzke and maybe Ryan. There other tall forward options are kids. I would think that Weitering Haynes McGovern could handle them and run off them. Newman can also play tall for periods if needed.

Bonus is we can always throw Kemp back if needed as well

I have no idea what they are thinking but Durdin looks as good as I have ever seen him. In match sims he is playing opposite end to Weitering and has been on McKay a number of times and has done well

Phillips is just solid and calm.

McMahon IMO just doesn’t look physical enough for a KP. I see him behind so many others

DGB doesn’t impress me much and has had some injury issues. Doesn’t do all drills

White & Carroll are impressive. Some run and good ball use. White has been the behind the ball a bit and looks good

Evan’s is a worker but IMO brings nothing we need

I do like we are trialling a number of players and with 5 weeks to go anything could happen.
DGB or Matt Carroll, if we have bad news on Nic Newman?

It's all matchups these days and mobility. IMO Weitering is our pillar. That key rock back in defence. The days of playing a true Full Back and CHB regularly are over

Round One we play Richmond. They will likely play Lynch at FF possibly supported by Koschitzke and maybe Ryan. There other tall forward options are kids. I would think that Weitering Haynes McGovern could handle them and run off them. Newman can also play tall for periods if needed.

Bonus is we can always throw Kemp back if needed as well
Yes and it's also having the structure and the talent to make the most of good team pressure so that when the ball is bombed in, we can get the intercept and rebound quickly.

I've heard that positions aren't a thing anymore. That's not so much the case, the major thing which has changed is the way those positions are played.

Generally teams have two big targets, one is the central figure and the other plays around them. I would call the guy who has the number one pecking order the full forward while the CHF is often the number two ranked tall who plays around them or has to push up the ground at times to create a target. It's not like the old days where the full forward it the one leading out from the goal square and the CHF is the one who is playing up around the 50. It's just a little less defined.

I get the feeling we may move Weitering away from fullback and have him up a little higher if we can intercepting the ball a little further from goal. We did it later in the season and I thought he looked good. That will mean we need a player who we can trust to play on guys like Lynch. But then again this is also how I think Haynes is best played. It's going to be interesting how we go about it.

Losing Nic Newman for 2025 is a big loss for us. Yes, there will be cover. When it comes to SSP selections, I'm not sure I'd want 2 players who had significant injury issues in 2024 in S.Durdin and M.Carroll. Not sure what that means, though. Just wishing Nic all the best in his recovery...

List Mgmt. 2025 List Management 📃