List Mgmt. 2025 List Management 📃

I realise that neither have played a game yet. But I think Billy Wilson or Lucas Camporeale have the capability to change the way we play (at least at the margins). If they tear it up in the VFL and we feel the need to mix things up, they might end up as viable replacements for Nic Newman.
I like Lucas - good size for a wingman and should be able to win his fair share of 1-on-1s in a couple of years.

Still very surprised both Camporeale's fell as far as they did in the draft. The 2024 draft crop must have been deep!

I like Lucas - good size for a wingman and should be able to win his fair share of 1-on-1s in a couple of years.

Still very surprised both Camporeale's fell as far as they did in the draft. The 2024 draft crop must have been deep!

Have been told Ben would have been taken much earlier if he wasn't a genuine father-son prospect.

Question Mark What GIF by MOODMAN

I'd like us to take 3 players in the SSP.

1. McMahon
2. Phillips
3. White

We have to cover areas we have no depth in - KPD, KPF & small/quick forward.

*Boyd, Doc, Silvagni, Cincotta (although not ready immediately) & Wilson can fill the void left by Newman (although I rate his leadership and footskills very hightly). Binns and Lucas C can step up to the wing if Doc is needed in the backline.

Still think a quality 2nd KPD and Small forward are our most pressing short and long term needs. Loved the move up the draft for Jagga as it gives us some real star talent for the future to go with Walsh, Cerra and Cody Walker once Crippa and George finish up.

Going hard at SDK or a similar type at the end of year would really straighten up our list tremendously. Has flexibility to play ruck and forward too which would mean we could do away with the two ruck system by having him chop out for TDK in the backline while Harry covers up forward. We'd also likely be able to do away with the 3rd tall down back in favour of another distributor given the added aerial coverage they'd provide.

For 2026

Lachie Cowan (22) - Jacob Weitering (29) - Jordan Boyd (28)
Nic Newman (34) - Sam DeKoning (25) - Adam Saad (32)
Blake Acres (31) - Patrick Cripps (31) - Sam Docherty (33)
Zac Williams (32) - Charlie Curnow (29) - Elijah Hollands (24)
Jesse Motlop (23) - Harry Mckay (29) - Ashton Moir (21)
Tom DeKoning (27) - Sam Walsh (26) - Adam Cerra (27)

George Hewett (31) - Jagga Smith (20) - Lachie Fogarty (27) - Ollie Hollands (22)

For 2028 and beyond

Jack Ison (21) - Jacob Weitering (31) - Jordan Boyd (30)
Billy Wilson (23) - Sam DeKoning (27) - Lachie Cowan (24)
Jaxon Binns (24) - Cody Walker (20) - Lucas Camporeale (22)
Lachie Fogarty (29) - Charlie Curnow (31) - Elijah Hollands (26)
Jesse Motlop (25) - Harry Mckay (31) - Ashton Moir (23)
Tom DeKoning (29) - Sam Walsh (28) - Jagga Smith (22)

Adam Cerra (29)- Cooper Lord (23) - Ollie Hollands (24) - Corey Durdin (26)

Obviously teams wouldn't look exactly like this but having that flexible high end 2nd KPD would be fantastic. As for another quality small forward, not much on the market atm so a lot rests on Motlop and Durdin staying fit and developing into quality players.

Feel like that 2028 team would be pretty damn good though. Even a Leek Aleer type would fit to great effect as Weiters slows down a touch. Age profile looks just about perfect.

List balance is improving each year

Sign Ethan Phillips then target a Shai Bolton, Zac Bailey type in the off season
Looking at the market theres only a handful of quality HFFs coming OOC in the next couple of years.

Zac Bailey (2026)
Kai Lohmann (Heard the Tigers are throwing enormous cash at him) (2025)
Bobby Hill (2025)
Brad Close (2025)
Gryan Miers (2026)
Callum Ah Chee (2025)
Darcy Jones (2026)
Toby Bedford (2025)
Bailey Fritsch (2026)
Zane Duursma (2026)
Liam Ryan (2026)
Sam Switkowski (2026)

The rest are far more speculative types who no doubt will have 1 or 2 jump up into genuine quality options over the next few years. Watson and Moore are also OOC soon but think it's safe to say they'll be at Hawthorn for life.

Of that group I think Bailey, Hill, Miers and Jones would best suit our needs... But it would be tough to get any of them out of their current clubs imo.

Would be fantastic if we could find a gem late in the national or in the mid season draft or somehow pinch a Rachele type if his relationship with the Crows implodes.

Under 18 All Australian Team interchange bench....one went pick 4, the next at pick 5, and the third pick 43 (matched with pick 56).

View attachment 2207350

It's fair to say we did well at the draft.

I watched some replays of SA Under 18s and Ben was as effective as Sid Draper in the middle. They were a good combination. Sid is just more dynamic and stands out but Ben was very good

Ben's a very good footballer. Smart, tough and reads the game well. Only reason he fell down the draft order was limitations on his kicking and us putting the twins on ice late in the year. Out of sight out of mind.

At worst he'll be very solid depth like Carroll and Dow before him, at his best he'll be a very solid defensive mid at AFL level - Something neither Dow or Carroll showed much proficiency for.

I think Weitering and Young are the only two currently signed for 2025 who would be #1 key defenders, the others I'm fairly comfortable with 2nd tall (3rd only in some cases). If it's one or two games you can make do, but more than that & it's a worry. I'd definitely be going EP over SD for one of the SSP spots.

Has Lemmey played or trained much down that end of the ground? Will be interesting to see what happens with him this year, key fwd (not 3rd) appears a much more difficult position to earn selection than key def, and looking forward with Young, Hayes & EP/SD it could be beneficial to get him up & running down back

Don't forget Jack. If what he is producing as a KPD in only last week is an example many people are going to be very surprised and I think he may affect how we pick our SSPs.

Saw Jack standing next to Weitering and there was no real difference in size. Jack was probably slightly leaner but that was it. He is just as tall and looks in great nick

Weitering Young Jack and one of Durdin/Phillips should be enough big bodied defenders on our list

Ben's a very good footballer. Smart, tough and reads the game well. Only reason he fell down the draft order was limitations on his kicking and us putting the twins on ice late in the year. Out of sight out of mind.

At worst he'll be very solid depth like Carroll and Dow before him, at his best he'll be a very solid defensive mid at AFL level - Something neither Dow or Carroll showed much proficiency for.

Couldn't disagree more. I think he could be a lot better

Both the Campo have got great 2way work ethic

Not sure of their ceiling, but they'll get the best out of themselves

Lucas more versatile, good speed, leap and clean left peg

Ben could be a reasonable bull inside

He won the John Halbert Medal for the best South Australian player in the Under 18 championships ahead of Draper.

Reckon him and Lucas are gonna bring a lot of smiles to Blues supporters over the years.

Don't forget Jack. If what he is producing as a KPD in only last week is an example many people are going to be very surprised and I think he may affect how we pick our SSPs.

Saw Jack standing next to Weitering and there was no real difference in size. Jack was probably slightly leaner but that was it. He is just as tall and looks in great nick

Weitering Young Jack and one of Durdin/Phillips should be enough big bodied defenders on our list
People have been talking of replacing Newman with Doc, Wilson, Boyd types.

I wonder if instead we go slightly taller. Weitering and JSOS as KPD. Gov and Haynes as hybrids that can intercept and rebound. O.Hollands and Saad running halfbacks. And Cowan to lock down on the smalls.

You never want to lose players, but Newman's position is something I feel we can replace.

Doc/Hollands - They can rotate between wing and HBF
Boyd - He has potential
JSOS - He can play on those hybrid forwards (Lester styled defender)

If someone could act as a Payne from Brissie and allow to Weitering to play a more Andrews styled role, that would be great.

Just need some development in the likes of Hollands, Motlop, Williams, Durdin..... In their forward craft and we should be okay.

I wonder if instead we go slightly taller. Weitering and JSOS as KPD. Gov and Haynes as hybrids that can intercept and rebound. O.Hollands and Saad running halfbacks. And Cowan to lock down on the smalls.

Certainly another viable option is to play taller, as long as it doesn't completely compromise agility

Boyd Young Gov
Haynes Weitering Saad
Cowan

Gov and Haynes are quick enough to play smaller

Allows Doc to play defensive wing, Acres on the other wing and Ollie off the bench where he can cover HB and wing rotations

Both the Campo have got great 2way work ethic

Not sure of their ceiling, but they'll get the best out of themselves

Lucas more versatile, good speed, leap and clean left peg

Ben could be a reasonable bull inside
The thing I like about the Campos is that every one of their junior coaches has commented on how competitive they are. I reckon that gets you a long way (not the full way… but a long way) in footy these days.

Locking down on players like Greene is something we will really miss from Newman and why I was hoping Cincotta was fit

I like that we have options.
  • Phillips /Dudin as KPD.
  • McMahon as KPF (don’t see him as a KPD).
  • Carroll as HBF - adds to depth in this position after losing Newman & Cinc.
  • White as small forward
Hoping we take 3.

Certainly another viable option is to play taller, as long as it doesn't completely compromise agility

Boyd Young Gov
Haynes Weitering Saad
Cowan

Gov and Haynes are quick enough to play smaller

Allows Doc to play defensive wing, Acres on the other wing and Ollie off the bench where he can cover HB and wing rotations
For mine Haynes has plenty to do before he will break into our best 22.

List Mgmt. 2025 List Management 📃