Past #26: Tarryn Thomas [Part III] - 18 week suspension confirmed; ineligible to play in '24 season; NMFC has officially sacked Tarryn.

So a player can be fired over "behaviour" now? Again, wtf did he do? Its all over language issues or his bad "personal" relationships?

He will go to bombers or port most likely lol what a waste

So a player can be fired over "behaviour" now?

Again, wtf did he do? Sick of the corrupt bias AFL

Do you really want to hang on to a guy who keeps reoffending despite the club making heaps of effort to get him support and help?

Agreed. Sorry to see how this ended. Your club did their best for him.
Yep, I am satisfied with how the club has tried to handle it.

Having met him a couple of times, there seems to be two Tarryn's and I only met the good one.

With any luck, this is the trigger that turns his life around in this area.

Do you really want to hang on to a guy who keeps reoffending despite the club making heaps of effort to get him support and help?

The last few weeks have showed there’s plenty of muppets in here willing to look past DV as long as the offender can kick a footy good enough. It’s pathetic.

Anyone got a list of players sacked for a non criminal charge?
Or do your own research into this and report back.

At our own club I can think of 3 occasions where we’ve told a player to go and not come back. None of them involved the police.

No one knows what he actually did apart from having relationship issues which isn't anyone's business unless its a crime. Viney conference was vague as ****

If anyone knows and its been said in here already then my bad!

Or do your own research into this and report back.

At our own club I can think of 3 occasions where we’ve told a player to go and not come back. None of them involved the police.
Nathan "Sticky Fingers" O'Keefe?

No one knows what he actually did apart from having relationship issues which isn't anyone's business unless its a crime. Viney conference was vague as *

If anyone knows and its been said in here already then my bad
From the AFL statement:

After being alerted by a complaint through the AFL portal in late January, Thomas was interviewed by AFLIU investigators on 29 January 2024. It was ultimately determined by the AFL that Thomas had engaged in multiple acts of misconduct including threatening a woman via direct messages multiple times.

In determining the sanction, the AFL took into account the evidence over a period of time which included Thomas engaging in misconduct while he was undertaking education in 2023 to deal with similar behaviours from earlier that year.

So a player can be fired over "behaviour" now? Again, wtf did he do? Its all over language issues or his bad "personal" relationships?

Players all over the league quickly deleting their messages as we speak

Gerard Healy nearly wet himself in excitement talking about the potential redemption arc with another club. Scumbag

What is it with blokes in the AFL media called Gerard and being extraordinary f**kwits

As a woman - who’s been a member of this club for many years and I would like to think has been pretty balanced in my thoughts towards Tarryn and the hope he could work with the club to be better - my thought now is relief that he’s gone.

Domestic violence (including where the woman is the perpetrator) is an absolute horror for our society. Too many people live in fear and pain because of it.

While I am never thrilled to see someone accused of what Tarryn was in our jumper. I was okay with the club supporting him for the meantime as I thought it would be valuable and his best chance to change. I wanted Tarryn to take the support he was given and learn and grow because I wanted to see someone realise they could be better.

However despite our assistance and care, he’s kept refusing to learn. I hate that even with the resources available, he couldn’t be “fixed” bit he made his choice and I am more than content with a consequence of that choice being his removal from the club.

He’s a good, could be great footballer, but he’s not worthy of being a Shinboner.
What a great, well balanced and thoughtful post.

Ive been vocal in backing him to make changes and believe North were fantastic in its handling. Without North and the programs in place who knows how his past court encounter may have ended up, almost certainly worse than it was.

Given North backed him and supported him so well, we can all know this call wasnt made lightly and is in the best interests of the club going forward. Despite me hating the end result, its a result entirely on TTs back.

The only decision that could have been made. Move on.

I’m not sure whether this has been confirmed but please don’t tell me that we have to pay any of his contract out….

He was a drain on the club and a disgrace against women. He had too many opportunities to STFU and get on with footy but he chose to contact women in a disrespectful way. I loved Tarryn as a player but the reality is he would be a huge distraction for our young players to build a culture that will win our next premiership. We can now put forward the $700k we saved to a gun key forward (JUH) or similar. Great decision by the club. 👏

What is it with blokes in the AFL media called Gerard and being extraordinary f**kwits
It’s a reason I stopped listening to footy shows yrs back. The AFL media love this add in Melbourne’s drug issue they will be happy to talk about it non stop until the season starts.

From the AFL statement:

After being alerted by a complaint through the AFL portal in late January, Thomas was interviewed by AFLIU investigators on 29 January 2024. It was ultimately determined by the AFL that Thomas had engaged in multiple acts of misconduct including threatening a woman via direct messages multiple times.

In determining the sanction, the AFL took into account the evidence over a period of time which included Thomas engaging in misconduct while he was undertaking education in 2023 to deal with similar behaviours from earlier that year.

He disrespected the program.

Seems like you a person who thinks DV towards women is okay.

Well it’s not Ok. And Thomas is a cancer that NMFC can do without!

And now that’s been made official

Imagine putting up with this s**t for nine months, post six months you've just put up with a mate being accused of mass racism. I genuinely hope we don't burn Todd out, he deserves reward for effort.
This is the unseen cost of TT. He detracts from everything we are trying to achieve. Whenever we get some good vibes he drags us down. Lots of talent doesn’t make it. He is now on that list. I loved to watch him play but he costs the club too much.

The club really was stuffed however they chose to handle this from the outset a year or so ago.

On one hand these are allegations. Fair to take the innocent-until-proven-guilty approach.

On the other, the public is (understandably) repulsed by offences against women. Even disproven allegations follow the men who are accused.

Then we have the extra layer of secrecy and AFL integrity.

The league could have looked after us properly, as one of its constituents, and suspended Thomas for multiple seasons. Alternatively they could properly de-register him Cousins-style.

Instead, having done the right thing by Thomas, it was now for nought and he could continue elsewhere.

I will watch the developments with Marlion Pickett and Joel Smith with interest and cynicism.

Past #26: Tarryn Thomas [Part III] - 18 week suspension confirmed; ineligible to play in '24 season; NMFC has officially sacked Tarryn.