Past #29: Brent Harvey - drafted w/ #47 in '95 ND - 432 games/518 goals for NM - AFL games record holder

Hope if he does it's not due to external pressure... I don't care what anyone says he is a great captain and has earned my respect more than any other player on the list. Not that what I think counts but I'm sure he's earned the players respect too. I'll never forget his 250th when he got knocked out then kicked that goal - stuff of champions.

^^Would be a bit unfair on Spitta if that happened, seeing as he knocked back GWS's offer and declared himself a North man for life.

I know its not really a North thing but, a joint captaincy?

I'd be hesitant to connect marketing choices with footy department choices. Not that JZ wouldn't be a good leader, but just don't read too much into things.

I talked to Glenn Archer a few weeks ago on the gold coast about it and he said he thought Boomer would hold it for one more year. I personally believe it should be Petrie with Jack & Andrew being deputies and having a few years to develop in that role. Petrie has shown how much of a leader he is this year being a one man forward line. Swallow and Ziebs are strong young leaders and have plenty of years to become stars

I think Boomer will keep it this year then hand over the Petrie with Swallow and Zieball as his assistants.Then move it on the Swallow when Petrie gives it up.Gee the leaders we have at the club is fantastic.The future is looking bright.Go Roos.

I talked to Glenn Archer a few weeks ago on the gold coast about it and he said he thought Boomer would hold it for one more year. I personally believe it should be Petrie with Jack & Andrew being deputies and having a few years to develop in that role. Petrie has shown how much of a leader he is this year being a one man forward line. Swallow and Ziebs are strong young leaders and have plenty of years to become stars

This happening would bring in one ball tearing contender into the mix:

B.Cunnington.

Just wait till he's had a pre-season into him, and is tearing the comp up. He'll be talked about in the same vein as jack, and he'll be a certain captain chance

I'd agree with this.

I don't understand why everyone wants Boomer to step down.
While Boomer has his critics, I'm not one of them. I think he's done a good job, and could have taken on the role sooner than he did.

That said, I reckon the recent succession planning model, where the ex-captain is still around for a year or two, isn't a bad one. It provides support for the new captain, builds the overall leadership capacity by getting new guys to step up, and the ex-captain's leadership goes to another level too (mentoring of the current leaders).

Not only is Swallow the logical choice, he's the strategic one.

Petrie may be riding too many horses to be the front man for our club and a significant part of the AFLPA. Especially the way the AFL and the players are looking at present. Spitta for me simply because of that scenario.

2. Brent Harvey, pick 47, 1995 (North Melbourne)

Harvey, the Kangaroos' captain, games record-holder, premiership player and five-time best-and-fairest winner, should have been a Crow. Adelaide recruiter James Fantasia was ready to call out Harvey's name on draft day in 1995 before coach Robert Shaw over-ruled him and opted for Port Adelaide forward Scott Hodges. Oops.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/the-best-draft-picks-41-50/story-e6frf9jf-1226187566867

Apologies if this has been posted previously, havent been on for a few weeks.
Caught this little gem above and thought it worthy enough to post Robert Sham what were you thinking?

Go to the link and find two other Roo boys who were considered top 10 all time selections from 41 to 50 in all drafts.

I don't understand why everyone wants Boomer to step down.
Whatever it takes to prolong his career, mate. If this helps him get another 12 months out of himself I'll be all for it. Especially as the title of 'captain' is fairly overrated anyway. Boomer will still be a strong leader out there if he is no longer captain. And so will Swallow if Petrie gets the gig, or Ziebell if Swallow gets the gig, etc etc.

Not an awful decision by the Crows at the time. Scott Hodges really should have been ten times the player he ended up being. Had some serious talent.

Having said that, we sure have pwn3d the Crows a few times over the years. Hewitt, Moran, Carey, not giving them 18 for Gunston.

There's a certain ******* on the main board whose life will become entirely bereft of purpose if he doesn't have Boomer to rag on as the apparent worst captain in the history of the universe.

Not an awful decision by the Crows at the time. Scott Hodges really should have been ten times the player he ended up being. Had some serious talent.

Having said that, we sure have pwn3d the Crows a few times over the years. Hewitt, Moran, Carey, not giving them 18 for Gunston.

That's an interesting interpretation. We would have given them pick 18 in a heartbeat. But he chose Hawthorn, not us.

I think boomer will be captain in the 2012 season ,then hand it over in 2013 .If that happens it will be between Swallow and big jack (sorry Drew).While we all know that Swallow is a cake walk for the job,Jack having the extra season to improve himself as a player and a leader might just tip the scales his way .