Past #29: Brent Harvey - drafted w/ #47 in '95 ND - 432 games/518 goals for NM - AFL games record holder

Boomer was in the studio with Maher and Gaze for a good 20 minute chat. The highlights:

- Happy to step down and play the mentor role if that's the call, he got a lot out of Simpson doing it (sounds like he has resigned to losing the captaincy).
- 'Basti isn't going anywhere' spoke about the loyalty Goldstein and Swallow showed and said Bastinac wouldn't have taken the #3 if he were leaving.
- Spoke about the family, his engagement etc.
- Facilities, Utah, blah blah.

- Spoke about 2012 and '13 and then 2014, '15 and '16 when he's not at the club (spewing, I was on board Boomer for Brownlow in 2016).

- There has to be a transition phase with the captaincy.

- Mentioned Petrie, Swallow, Ziebell and 'maybe Wells' as captaincy options. Said the club might go someone younger than Petrie. Couldn't split Swallow and Ziebell.

- 'He'll (Bastinac) sign, don't worry. He used to be number 28, he's changed to number 3. We had a few stern words at the end of last year. He's an exceptional young man. There is not a problem in the world. He's good mates with Tom Scully so there is going to be speculation but we've got Basti sweet. I can't see him leaving, he might be holding out for an extra 15 bucks but there's not too many people who leave the North Melbourne Footy Club.'

If you do what we're trying to do... you can do it [appoint a younger captain]...

"If James Macdonald was still at the [Melbourne] football club, you'd probably make Trengove captain and bounce the ideas off Junior."

"It's the leadership group... and I know Geelong have come out and said it, the leadership group was equally as important as Cameron Ling and I totally agree, because without Drew and Brady Rawlings last year, I don't think I could have done it properly."

thanks for the run downs and links everyone. Haven't listened yet, but saying things like that about Basti is awesome. If he shuns the cash and the lure of his good mate, surely then, without further question, the nmfc has without doubt, the best culture in the league.

Things like this happen all too often to be an anomaly. North's got the touch. TM Dirk Diggler

The idiot doing the sports news on The Today show this morning didn't say North has appointed a new captain, rather it was North dumped Boomer and we only have Andrew Swallow as captain.

He then made some half-arsed apology that he meant to say Spitta was only 24.

JB should be using all of his CH9 connections to be tearing strips off those responsible for the sloppy, lazy excuse for journalism.

What's with all the poor us, victim mentallity?

The report on The Today show sports news was totally negative - it's not a poor us - it's shitfully poor journalism.

It's about perception to the wider world.

For example can you imagine if Pendlebury had been appointed captain of the 'pies that the way it was reported was "Maxwell dumped as skipper and they've only got Pendlebury as captain"? I reckon Eddie would have people at Channel 9 sacked over it.

Overreact much.

Maybe we should sticky a thread so everytime someone says something negative about the club we can go post it there. It can be called Poor North, Nobody Loves Us.

Amusing that The Age today reported on the AFL taking too much control of media and how it will result in too much positive press and not enough negative. Somehow I think the journos are the only people worried about this!

Funny thing Boomer was reported in the media earlier in the week saying he absolutely wanted to be skipper, now he's not.

It's just the way the media does it. They only have a limited amount of minutes for the news (because its far more important to spend ten minutes on inane banter with the weatherman who is skydiving from 10 000 feet while getting married on the back of a surfboard) and they have to simultaneously dumb it down and ramp up the sensationalism so as to engage the dim-witted mouth breathers who voluntarily watch these shows.

I remember when I was 10 and I saw the back page of the Herald Sun and it said, in HUGE font, ROCCA AXED. I thought it was a massive story, Rocca has been fired from the Pies, how big is this? Turns out he was just dropped for one week. :eek:

Whilst I agree there has been a tendancy for a "poor us" victim mentality around here at times, it is still annoying to see poor/shoddy journalism that portrays our club in a poor light.

If we can't vent here amongst "friends" then where?

Whilst I agree there has been a tendancy for a "poor us" victim mentality around here at times, it is still annoying to see poor/shoddy journalism that portrays our club in a poor light.

If we can't vent here amongst "friends" then where?

Probably Egypt, some serious venting been going on over there.

:thumbsu:

Fox Sports News had Kingy suggesting the appts of the Go Dees' young captains said more about their (shitful) older guys, esp Green who, the report noted, had been dumped. Immediately followed by a report on our appointment of 'star midfielder' Andrew Swallow.

Very disappointing they didn't say 'elite midfielder'...

He is on the back of the West Australian with a great photo (see The Age) with the headline Roo beauty.

Stevo did the same thing when he handed the reins over to Simmo and Simmo did the same thing handing the reins over to Boomer. Boomer is just continuing that tradition of handing over the captaincy and guide the new captain in your twilight.

On the outside if you know nothing about the club it may look like he is being dumped but the last years our ex-captains had the luxury to enjoy their twilight without the burden of captaincy which saw them all play very good footy to the end.

Boomer has been a great servant, let him enjoy the last phase of his career. It is time for someone younger to carry the load.

meh. it's channel 9 ffs. the story is probably inaccurate because the pigeon they sent out to get the story dropped one of the scrolls, or maybe they had to rush because their vhs player was playing up and they spent all night running the head-cleaning tapes through it.

but they pioneered skycam, i'll never forget that.

Hardly an issue. What's with all the poor us, victim mentallity?

It's what we here on the north board do. Ever wondered why the rest of big footy hate us?