Player Watch #29: Will Phillips - tags N.Daicos vs Collingwood - subbed off at 3/4 time??

Will has never shown intensity at AFL level yet. Composure, yes. But considering the intensity he played his junior footy, I was just expecting some desperation and aggression.
That will come when he is fit, strong and a bit more experienced.

He had experience at junior level. Doesn't yet at AFL level.

Played a half game of footy round one and nothing round 2. After a year out! Would have been great if he produced the goods today but was always slim odds of it. Full game will do him good though, and he needs more of them. VFL or AFL makes little difference at this stage, he just needs gametime under his belt. Far too early in his return to be concerned.

Needs continuity and clearly isn't match fit just yet. I feel like he might be a slower burn than expected. It will come.

You’d think after Cunnington, Simpkin and LDU some of you would learn.

And what makes it worse, you want to put in another mid in Wardlaw that’s not yet up to scratch aerobically.

Don’t get me wrong, other than his spread/fitness Will has heaps to work on. Including some of his dinky hand balling.

But expectations are the problem. Not Will.
It’s like a broken record.

The same people will be kissing his ass in 18 months time.

Thank god some people are smart enough to see that young contested ball hunting mids take 3-5 years of consistent footy to become consistent… we’ve had enough of these to surely as a fan base let him play 10 FULL games before any judgement can be passed.

Played against a young/average midfield today. I was hoping for more.
I didn’t like the language Clarko used in the presser after the match regarding Will (reading between the lines).
If warlord takes off, Will might not get many opportunities this year.

Places too much pressure on himself to perform so I know he’ll take today personally.
Did some nice things and then did some not so nice things.
He came in as a sub round 1 for an injured ruck, then jumped on a plane to Perth for no reason and then had to front up and play as the number 2 to Cunners with no LDU or Jy in support.

Yeh the spread and tank aren’t there yet but his marking is good and his kicking is still sweet. Reminds me of a young and raw Dane Swan tbh.

Once he gets his tank up to scratch then watch out.
But let’s maybe given him a month in the seniors first

Crazy the amount of people here writing Will off after just a few games having returned from 12 months off.
A year before that sitting mostly in a forward pocket under Nobles' "game plan". The year off before that nothing due to Covid.

I didn't see his juniors but I've seen the highlights and the type of player he is will require patience and game time.
He WILL be a gun. His work ethic, skills, vision, maturity and leadership will ensure it happens but damn, give the kid some time.
Yesterday's game time and exposure to centre bounce clearances as no.2 under Cunners will have been priceless for him.

Places too much pressure on himself to perform so I know he’ll take today personally.
Did some nice things and then did some not so nice things.
He came in as a sub round 1 for an injured ruck, then jumped on a plane to Perth for no reason and then had to front up and play as the number 2 to Cunners with no LDU or Jy in support.

Yeh the spread and tank aren’t there yet but his marking is good and his kicking is still sweet. Reminds me of a young and raw Dane Swan tbh.

Once he gets his tank up to scratch then watch out.
But let’s maybe given him a month in the seniors first
I hope you’re right Tazza. If he ends up as good as Dane Swan, we’ll all be celebrating at Arden street with cup number 5

I'm still hopeful Will will come on like Parish did, a similar size / pick / style slow burn who hovered around 20 disp for his first 4 or 5 seasons.

Will's PT is a mate, has worked with many TAC & AFL players. He's told me several times that no-one trains harder or is more diligent with their body maintenance as Will.

Goes to show, absolutely nothing can replicate match fitness. We'll see a different player once he has it.

I'm still hopeful Will will come on like Parish did, a similar size / pick / style slow burn who hovered around 20 disp for his first 4 or 5 seasons.

Will's PT is a mate, has worked with many TAC & AFL players. He's told me several times that no-one trains harder or is more diligent with their body maintenance as Will.

Goes to show, absolutely nothing can replicate match fitness. We'll see a different player once he has it.
The blokes body is made of stone.
Hard as nails, there’s never been any doubts on his preparation and his commitment.
Just need to get him match fit and match hardened

This is what happens when Sheezel rocks in and picks up 30 in his first 2 and leading disposal in game 3. Everyone else is judged at that level and why people have cracks at Phillips and its rubbish. Sheezel is an absolute freak and will probably win the Rising Star at this rate. Phillips has had a ton of adversity in his young career and finally getting a run at it. It is going to take time to get him up to speed and expecting him to slot in for LDU and Simpkin is unrealistic. Kid is a gun but please can we give him more than 15 mins before we judge him a plodder!