Player Watch #29: Will Phillips - tags N.Daicos vs Collingwood - subbed off at 3/4 time??

Nah. Come on we’re 17th.we need other avenues. Someone tell one elite football trait he’s got ?

Just one
Other avenues? I’m not sure what this means.

Does it mean that we should be looking at different pathways for players to succeed? Because I thought that’s what I was suggesting.

He’s contracted till the end of next year. IMO a better use of this year after the interruptions he’s had would have been to send him to the VFL with some pretty clear instructions of make the midfield yours.

Is what it is but I’m not sure AFL is doing him any favours right now.

Won’t make it
Being saying it for a very long time .
Will is a Great footy person , with a great footy brain , comes from a great family, the kid you want your daughter to marry , does & says all the right things at the footy club & is a fantastic mature role model yada yada yada ….
All fantastic attributes of being the next Dennis Pagan.
Illness , bad luck or whatever, he is a top 3 draft pick with the same slow , boring vanilla one way running that won’t hurt you with a 35m kick which is meh at best . The very same traits he was showing all along in his junior years .
(Watch his highlights)
All we heard about Will the year we drafted him was how “mature he was , what a great footy person he was & future leader traits that he had “
Nothing on x factor , elite skills , pace etc…. He could offer .

There is.

However until he’s fit churning him through games in the ones is a bit of a hiding to nothing.

Like I said he could have done with pretty much a full year in the twos for the continuity of it.
💯. Needs to have a massive pre season, start in the two's and hopefully dominate and force his way into the side. Keep playing him like this and he's got no chance at all.

There is.

However until he’s fit churning him through games in the ones is a bit of a hiding to nothing.

Like I said he could have done with pretty much a full year in the twos for the continuity of it.
Fitness is not going to allow him to add 15m to his kicking.

Or to cleanly handle the ball under pressure.

Or to add speed/agility/power.

If he’s our replacement for Cunners, we’re in some deep shit.

Fitness is not going to allow him to add 15m to his kicking.

Or to cleanly handle the ball under pressure.

Or to add speed/agility/power.

If he’s our replacement for Cunners, we’re in some deep s**t.

I’d argue that fitness absolutely would influence speedy agility and power.

However playing at a less intense level may help him in getting back to what was there in the years before his draft.

He’s an undersized inside mid who lacks depth on his kicking.

We’ve had one of these before and a year at VFL level took him from wilderness to captaining the club.

I don’t understand the posts on here:

He has had an inconsistent season but had an elite stretch of 3 or so games where he was getting high clearance, tackle and inside 50 numbers, as well as getting 25+ possessions.

He has show in glimpses how important he can be, how he can be the glue and do the ugly stuff to release the more talented players around him.

Trust his development people. We don’t have a more professional player on our team.

Had a really poor game all things considered. Thought he had a decent first quarter if he was just a little more polished, but the rest of the game was really poor. Couldn't find it, couldn't impact.

He's shown enough at AFL level for me to believe he'll get there - but since that 3-4 week patch not long ago in which he was very good, he has dropped off big time.

One of many players on our list that badly need a pre-season with no interruptions.

I think it’s ok to be concerned, after today I’m probably the most concerned I’ve been with him.

Equally from what he’s shown and his interruptions up to this point it’s ok to wait 12 months before signing his release papers.

Realistically to survive in our future midfield he needs to push Jy out, that seems a long way off at the moment.

Seems like he has the weight of the world on his shoulders, seems to be following the coaches instructions literally. He needs to attack the contest more. His hands were elite in his first year.

Mate, his hands were elite thirteen weeks ago. Combination of fitness and pressure he puts on himself, I reckon