Preview 2nd Prelim Final Geelong v Brisbane Sat Sept 21 2024 515pm @ MCG

Spot on.
And I can understand the fascination with lovely juicy numbers but within games there are also indivdual markers in which players should be rightfully judged.
Geelong have established a system in recent years which takes a bit of the workload away from the star player(s). When Dangerfield and Selwood were at their peak, it got us nowhere because the burden of having to do it all when September rolled around was excessive.

Right now, people are worrying how the Geelong midfield is going to stack up against Brisbane's. McCluggage, Neale and Ashcroft can amass their 25-30 disposals each. Geelong is going to have an even contribution from Bowes, Bruhn, Dempsey, Miers, Atkins, Holmes, Blicavs and I dare say, Stewart. And if Dangerfield can replicate what he did two weeks ago then good luck to anyone trying to go toe-to-toe with us.

And don't forget the secret weapon, Mannagh.
Scott has been clear about our intent to have players managed, and firing at the right time. Our midfield is primed, and you're right, the oppo have to beat the whole working as one.
Injury made that theory impossible last year. It surprises me that others haven't copied us, although they may have tried.

Swung by the Bris board and noticed a fair amount of footy intelligence and respect (so far).
Meanwhile puerile hate (rent free) rants from just where you'd expect.
Hints: Bumble bee colours. Sewerage colours.
:) :)

oh dear. Being irrelevant has really broken their brains, hasn't it? Click 'spoiler' below and have a giggle. These comments are just from the last two days. Geelong haven't played in over two weeks. It's remarkable.

Another fun fact: Geelong finished 12th last year.... 1 spot above us..., yet somehow managed to get a bottom 6 draw.
Playing West Coast and Kangas twice. A better draw than us. How exactly does that happen?
A bottom 6 draw? Right-o.

I suppose we need to ask to corrupt carnt Cats fixture guy. He's being well looked after, very well, but the gutless AFL media won't say a f**king thing . They're useless pathetic weak gimps, the lot of 'em.

Hope Cats bring back Dad's Army this week. Hawkins, Guthrie and Stewart. Nice and underdone. Bears run em off their legs.
Fortunately Geelong's administration aren't as dumb as Richmond's.
What the flark is that start time!
The Geelong fans do realise the Vline trains run late and don't stop at 6.30!!!!

Man being shit is certainly good when looking at those Prelim Prices.

Cats can't sell out a prelim at the MCG. Minnows 🤣
Forgetting the only time they played an Interstate team in a prelim, they got 90,000~ but it was their first Prelim in 25 years.

I recall Leigh Matthews with the famous quote. "If it bleeds we can kill it" against Essendon in the 2001 GF. Reckon Longmire Hinkley and Fagan should be sticking up the on the whiteboard "To Live in the past is to Die in the Present". Then under that put "F..... you Geelong and the horse you into town on, move over and get outta the way".

prelim starts at 5:15pm lmaoooo. did chris scott put in that request ? or shocking ?
Someone hasn't been paying attention to the finals lately. Wonder why?

No one has the AFL world more fooled than Geelong do right now. They are a dog shit football team and have no business being in a prelim. GWS, Dogs, Carlton, Hawthorn, Collingwood and Melbourne are all better teams than them. You could also make a case for Freo. A blessed run with injuries, some arsey results/things falling their way and a soft draw has them where they are right now.

"A blessed run with injuries" - yes, that's how teams usually go deep into finals.

Brisbane will beat them. I am sure of it. Geelong will not be finals hardened and will be running into a team full of momentum and belief with nothing to lose. If people think Brisbane will be complacent after beating GWS then they have short memories. That GF loss would still be burning inside them.
Sounds more like wishful thinking.

Let em borrow our Jumper for a day. Cats will shit themselves again.

Doubt it. It's business as usual these days. Belting Richmond.

will be the easiest win of all time next week for the scats , shockings corrupt cfl stand rule era has created the same damn grand final and the same damn season as 2 years ago. afl is a simulation
ah the stand rule. Specifically designed to end Richmond's dominance /s

The Stand Rule is the biggest corruption to have happened in the last 20 years.

Swung by the Bris board and noticed a fair amount of footy intelligence and respect (so far).
Meanwhile puerile hate (rent free) rants from just where you'd expect.
Hints: Bumble bee colours. Sewerage colours.
:) :)

I saw that zinger.
Posting style is eerily similar to another poster who has created about 10 separate aliases. Absolute tripe and it's befitting all the likes he/she has received from the Brisbane faithful.

That poster can't lose. Gets the prediction wrong, delete account and move onto the next.

Geelong Track Watch: Cats tackle Sam De Koning puzzle as veterans Tom Hawkins, Cam Guthrie watch on​

Sam De Koning shapes as an intriguing selection dilemma heading into the prelim, while Tom Stewart looks fit for a return, with Gary Rohan sporting a new look. JOSH BARNES has the latest.

Geelong veterans Cam Guthrie and Tom Hawkins appear likely to be left out of selection discussions this week as Tom Stewart showed no signs of illness or hamstring problems at training on Monday.

The Cats worked through some standard drills before media was asked to leave GMHBA Stadium, with Stewart, Hawkins, Guthrie and Sam De Koning all training.

Guthrie began with a warm up away from the main group and a member of the Geelong fitness staff could be heard asking about his running speeds, as the Cats monitor the dual best-and-fairest winner closely.

It appears increasingly unlikely that either Guthrie or Hawkins will be called up to face Brisbane in Saturday’s preliminary final.

Guthrie has played just four games this year, his last coming in round 10, as he battled quad and Achilles injuries.

Champion goalkicker Hawkins fought through a foot problem to return to VFL action last week – alongside Guthrie and De Koning – but may end his career watching on, with Shannon Neale in good form up forward.

The popular Neale bounded out of the change rooms carrying the portable speaker the Cats used for the session.

With Stewart certain to come back in after missing the qualifying final through illness and his hamstring problem, the question of Geelong’s week will revolve around De Koning.

He hasn’t played since round 21 due to a knee injury and since being ruled out, the Cats have successfully retooled the defence by sending veteran Mark Blicavs back there, while Rhys Stanley has held down the ruck.

Geelong could deploy De Koning in either position, with the Lions boasting giant Oscar McInerney in the ruck and tall forwards Joe Daniher, Eric Hipwood and Logan Morris.

I keep going back and forth as to whether SDK gets picked. Not very productive to do (given my thoughts are not relevant to what happens!) but can’t help it. This is why Boards like this are good - to spew out my thinking…

So we all seem to agree that Tom is in for Mullin (without the s).

And I so badly want SDK to come back…but have hesitated to predict it for two reasons…

1. Does it make us too tall?
2. Who comes out?

On the first point I am coming around to the fact that the MC could well take the risk of being too tall if we have a sub who can come in for either Stanly/Blitz/STK if it became obvious more run was needed. To me having a Tall rotate off the bench and play less time is ok - it just means that the MF need to play a little more TOG % which in finals again is ok.

To have SDK as an option to play with Blitz for some of the time on the two talls and rotate Henry/Kolo/Zuthrie through the mids and smalls I think works. We have Tom and Bews to round out a pretty solid defence - with flexibility. The issue without SDK is Henry will be terribly undersized.

So I think (for now!) point 1 could lean toward playing SDK rather than not (It might be different for the GF though!)

Point 2 is where I am conflicted - as it is a very easy decision for me but I get that it is not for the coach. To me we take out 2E and make Duncan the sub. (I could easily be convinced to swap those two around). If we look too tall we can bring on Duncan to play back and on the wing (we do not need anyone to play forward given the options we have - which is why I am going for Duncan over 2E).

So if I was picking the team:

In Stewart, SDK
Out. Mullin, 2E
Sub Duncan

I just don’t know which way there will go!

Dempsey is bulking right up. I'd like to see him at a couple of centre bounces
I still reckon it is a couple of years away. He did get 3 (stoppage) clearances last week so has the capability but I reckon they consolidate his year on the wing. I could see him do what his Carey mate has done - Ed Richards - and go in the middle in his 5th or 6th year?

AFL aren't gutsy enough to make a proper alternative kit rule so they just order Geelong to wear white shorts because they have white in their jumper anyway

Should be a hard and fast rule all teams need an alternate kit that is NOT their base colours, reverse etc

Was looking this up and it really has been ages since we had an alternate kit that wasn't just the reverse of the home jumper.

Here's the history of Geelong away strips.

And even some of these weren't worn much. You have to go back to 2008 to find one with a significantly different design to the main kit:

I thought Duncan was solid on Thursday. Along with just about everyone in the hoops. Will deservedly keep his spot.

But does he have another season left in him? I'm not sure he does. He's been a brilliant servant of the club for many years, my daughter's favourite player, but even she would admit that he struggled at different times this year. And that's likely to only get worse with another preseason and a few more games under his belt. If he does play on, I suspect he won't play many games next year.

I dont have a problem keeping him on the list as depth for 2025 but Im hoping he isnt in our best 22 next year assuming improvement from clark/knevitt/muillin and the likely addition of B smith.

Just checking in. Have been reading BF when I can to keep up with all of the exciting happenings, wins, non Geelong gos, theories etc. Big thanks to all on the Cats board.

Like most others didn’t think we’d make it this far. Have only seen a few bits of the first final but read all about it here.

We are a very good chance this Saturday. Go Cats.

I keep going back and forth as to whether SDK gets picked. Not very productive to do (given my thoughts are not relevant to what happens!) but can’t help it. This is why Boards like this are good - to spew out my thinking…

So we all seem to agree that Tom is in for Mullin (without the s).

And I so badly want SDK to come back…but have hesitated to predict it for two reasons…

1. Does it make us too tall?
2. Who comes out?

On the first point I am coming around to the fact that the MC could well take the risk of being too tall if we have a sub who can come in for either Stanly/Blitz/STK if it became obvious more run was needed. To me having a Tall rotate off the bench and play less time is ok - it just means that the MF need to play a little more TOG % which in finals again is ok.

To have SDK as an option to play with Blitz for some of the time on the two talls and rotate Henry/Kolo/Zuthrie through the mids and smalls I think works. We have Tom and Bews to round out a pretty solid defence - with flexibility. The issue without SDK is Henry will be terribly undersized.

So I think (for now!) point 1 could lean toward playing SDK rather than not (It might be different for the GF though!)

Point 2 is where I am conflicted - as it is a very easy decision for me but I get that it is not for the coach. To me we take out 2E and make Duncan the sub. (I could easily be convinced to swap those two around). If we look too tall we can bring on Duncan to play back and on the wing (we do not need anyone to play forward given the options we have - which is why I am going for Duncan over 2E).

So if I was picking the team:

In Stewart, SDK
Out. Mullin, 2E
Sub Duncan

I just don’t know which way there will go!
It feels like even you can tell you're really having to force it to make it happen. And including an unlikely sequence of moves with Tuohy out, Duncan as sub (has this combination of moves ever happened? Maybe once against St Kilda?).

Like it or not, Duncan's game against Port put to bed any ideas of demotion. Tuohy has been backed in all year really and suits the sub role.

SDK could only come in for Bews I think, but I see that as unlikely with them liking a small lock down defender. He did well against Rioli.

The most common sense solution, unfortunately for SDK, is that he doesn't play. I don't mind being wrong on this one, but it's the way I see the MC going.

He absolutely wasn't.

I don't care if it was the Hawks or any other club - this isn't a 'rivalry' thing, it's a 'standards in football' thing. Hinkley got his nose out of joint about a comment made by one player to another (non-Port) player a week earlier, made a peanut of himself, after a game that Hawthorn lost more than Port won, and Port Adelaide got fined $20k in the process. Embarrassing stuff fromt he public face of a footy club.

Anyway, it all but guarantees Ginnivan has a 'plane' celebration ready to go when they play Port next year - which will be hilarious.
Hinkley was completely justified. Ginnivin started it. Hinkley fully justified in mocking ginnivin for losing a game he publically mocked as unloseable. Hinkley didnt do that. It was Ginnivin and then those comments were publically supported by the hawks coach.

Ginnivan would be a complete illogical hyporcrite if he celebrated a home and away win after losing a knockout final. A home and away win doesnt stop port getting on a plane the next week. Plus port havent mocked hawthorn games as easy victories anyway. A plane celebration would make zero sense. It would just make Ginnivin look dumb.

I wouldn't be playing SDK. I think the best way to defend against Daniher and Hipwood is to pressure the midfield. Blitz dropping back as a key sized defender is good enough for me.

Next year my chosen ruck set up would be Conway starts the way Rhys does then floats back just like Rhys does when he switches with Blitz. SDK to start back and switch with Conway.

Hinkley was completely justified. Ginnivin started it. Hinkley fully justified in mocking ginnivin for losing a game he publically mocked as unloseable. Hinkley didnt do that. It was Ginnivin and then those comments were publically supported by the hawks coach.

Ginnivan would be a complete illogical hyporcrite if he celebrated a home and away win after losing a knockout final. A home and away win doesnt stop port getting on a plane the next week. Plus port havent mocked hawthorn games as easy victories anyway. A plane celebration would make zero sense. It would just make Ginnivin look dumb.
Can we talk about the game and not this? Plenty of people talking about it in the non cats thread.

I wouldn't be playing SDK. I think the best way to defend against Daniher and Hipwood is to pressure the midfield. Blitz dropping back as a key sized defender is good enough for me.

Next year my chosen ruck set up would be Conway starts the way Rhys does then floats back just like Rhys does when he switches with Blitz. SDK to start back and switch with Conway.
Went back and watched the cats lions game from earlier this year.
Daniher played quite well and sdk was on him. I agree, maybe we put Blitz on him this time.
He will be dangerous this week.

The big O also dominated until he was subbed out injured. Conway was playing though, no Stanley.

Went back and watched the cats lions game from earlier this year.
Daniher played quite well and sdk was on him. I agree, maybe we put Blitz on him this time.
He will be dangerous this week.

The big O also dominated until he was subbed out injured. Conway was playing though, no Stanley.
Blivacs to Daniher and work him over up and down the ground. The risk is if we turn the ball over but Stewart back to organise is a big plus.

Let's get on topic. I've tried to ask you this a few times.

What are your proposed changes this week?

I like the flexibility of having Blicavs, SDK and Stanley starting in terms of rotations and system-based strategy. This may not be a popular opinion but I think Mullin starting adds speed, pressure and hardness on an opposition who love space and need it because it is a bit deficient in elite speed. Tuohy has been an incredible player for our club and being named sub would be a tip of the cap to a versatile and experienced champion we will need towards the latter stage of the game. Also, what would I know.