Autopsy 3 Things you Learnt vs North

That's the biggest load of crap I've ever read. Selwood lifts his arms to induce high contact and doesn't duck.
I don't see the difference. Inducing high contact IS cheating just as intentionally ducking. Selwood has made an art form of it and young players all over the comp are following.

The rule needs to change or we start fining players during the week. It's getting boring watching these frees and everyone is getting PO about it.

How are Thomas' actions on a different level to Hewett?

Thomas' first free and goal was identical...but essentially fair play under the current rules. He was taken high in an actual contest. As was Hewett. Not a great look notwithstanding. I have to swallow 20 of them a round.

But that shite of stepping back into a tackler and skyhooking the elbow up to his ear to lift the tackle over the shoulders in the second Lindsay effort is vomit worthy stuff which needs to be stsmped out.

Every player should receive a match report from the lions game in their lockers this week as a reminder

Should've put the Tigers away within about 5 minutes of the last quarter, too. We've lead every game at 3QT so we really need to be undefeated right now, but nothing is perfect.

How good was it seeing Mickey O in the crowd fist pumping and high-fiving with his son when Buddy kicked the sealer? Really makes me smile when you see ex-players who clearly still love the club so much.

I think the Thomas v Selwood is complicated in comparison. To be frank, the problem with Lindsay is he's also something of a cheap shot merchant, which combined with diving does not go well in the court of public opinion. Selwood is a well known ducker, but I doubt anyone would ever seriously accuse him of being a sniper.

I do think that race is an issue in sport - as in everyday life - I'm just unsure what part it plays in this instance.
I will. Selwood is a dog. Watch the Geelong games especially last year. Thomas is a flawed footballer but so is Selwood. We have been here before and it does no one credit trying to ignore the obvious, Thomas is an indigenous footballer who is copping disproportionate abuse. Sound familiar?

Maybe. I haven't seen a lot of Geelong this year, but as players get older they tend to get loose with their swinging arms and niggling shit. Look at SJ, Hodge, Mitchell, Lewis, Barry Hall, etc. Problem with Thomas he's been doing it his whole career.

The story is familiar, as we all know, but to simply apply it (the issue of Goodes and racism) to every indigenous player is problematic for me.

Goodes is an outspoken leader in his community, and an AOTY, and that brings out the haters and bigots. I simply dislike Thomas because every time I watch him he play he goes the flop and the snipe.

Geez we've left some mental scarring on their supporter base. That Jacko flog has gone on a quoting / bitching / sooking spree at 3am last night. Get a life for ****s sake.

Got some links for lols

I will say here that any North supporter who booed Adam Goodes is a piece of shit and I'd happily take their membership off them. While we have improved recently, we're still pretty light on for members, but I'd rather pay for two myself than share a stadium with someone who boos Goodes (or any Aboriginal player, or anyone for any racist reason)

What is most sickening about it is that North of all clubs should know better. I have very strong feelings about racism in sport, especially involving Aboriginal players, because my ... footy ... childhood was defined by standing at grounds like Victoria Park, Kardinia Park and Windy Hill, listening to the most horrific racist abuse being directed towards the Krakouers, especially Jimmy.

Jimmy copped it because he was like Goodes, supremely talented, a match winner and "unashamedly" proud of being an Aboriginal (Noongar in Jim's case) man. He was a Noongar man who played in a North jumper. But he was a Noongar man first. And the racist society we live in hated him for it and they booed him and called him a petrol sniffing boong so and so and they suspended him for stuff others didn't get done for and they just hated him. Goodes was the same, his combination of talent and pride in himself as an Aboriginal (Koorie) man scared a lot of white Australians at an elemental level, reminded lots of people they live on blood-soaked stolen land that has never been acknowledged properly.

So any North supporter ... "supporter" ... who booed Goodes can piss right off. They aren't representative of the club I belong to. I mean, jeez, I hate Essendon for shit they did in 1921, but some things are non-negotiable.

So please don't cast us all in that light. Goodes was a champion and what he copped was utterly unacceptable and indicative of what a racist society this is.

Try and remember - you don't have to and if you don't want to I don't blame you - that for any moron who has bought a North scarf that booed Goodes, there were a lot of people literally getting into fights in the crowd in shitholes like the aforementioned Windy Hill for challenging anti-Aboriginal racism in the 1980s.

Anyway, rant over, today we remember the day when Kevin Sheedy invented Aboriginal footballers in 1988 after Phil Krakouer kicked 7 on his shitful mob.

Then dumped Derek Kickett - beloved of youse and us - for Dean Wallis in 1993.
Well said. Love the game of footy and love rivalries. But in the end, life and the whole damn shooting match is all about respect. Racism is the ultimate display of disrespect. Thankyou for your post. Stay true and stay strong.

Thomas is an indigenous footballer who is copping disproportionate abuse. Sound familiar?

Ziebell has more high tackles frees for us this year. That big stager sook Jack Ziebell.

After having a good think about it after the game, I strongly believe that Thomas is doing nothing wrong if the umps are continuously awarding him the free kick. Forget what it looks like. Put a decent tackle on these players & it won't happen.

The coaches are right. At years end, adjust the rules & they will stop doing it.
Simple solution!

In the meantime, learn to tackle hard around the waist!
the whole point of tackling above the waist is to pin their arms. Otherwise they'll just nonchalantly dish it off

I don't see the difference. Inducing high contact IS cheating just as intentionally ducking. Selwood has made an art form of it and young players all over the comp are following.

The rule needs to change or we start fining players during the week. It's getting boring watching these frees and everyone is getting PO about it.
I agree. I don't like it and I would like to see any player that induces the high contact penalized. This includes dropping at the knees, lifting the arm and running head long into an opponent (as Whorethorn did in the 2012 GF). Unfortunately, until they change the rules the tackler needs to adjust his technique.

What Thomas does is very different to what Hewitt does. Thomas does the above things better and more frequently than any other player. He also repeatedly runs head long into his opponent. Hewitt doesn't do that, he just drops at the knees.

After having a good think about it after the game, I strongly believe that Thomas is doing nothing wrong if the umps are continuously awarding him the free kick. Forget what it looks like. Put a decent tackle on these players & it won't happen.

The coaches are right. At years end, adjust the rules & they will stop doing it.
Simple solution!

In the meantime, learn to tackle hard around the waist!

I agree. As annoying as the knee bend is, we have a player that is just as good at drawing high frees as Thomas. I think there is some racism just under the surface in the media.
The way McAvaney keeps saying 'they can do things we mortals cannot' or 'they are different aren't they' is obliquely racist. It points out the difference between Indigenous players and the rest. I wish Bruce would individualise and say Cyril/Buddy etc when talking about players not put footy ability or brilliance down to race. I wish he would put it down to natural individual talent whether Indigenous or White Fella. It is a form of vilification really.

The media are the first to point out Lindsay Thomas diving, other players do it too see Selwood, Delidio, Pendlebury & Stevie J. Lowering the knees, see Selwoods & most Geelong players & Luke Shuey. But not one of them gets mentioned. Our own George Hewett does it in a way, he lowers his body and lifts his shoulder. so why point out only an Indigenous player when there are probably at least 50 players doing it?

I am quite happy for the rule to stay the same. As Leigh Matthews said why keep changing the rules for a free that has been there since the game began. It is a free always has been and always should be. As Leigh says if we stop giving head highs then we just become Rugby Union, who don't give head highs.

Autopsy 3 Things you Learnt vs North