AFL Player #30: Nate Caddy - reunited with best mate Kako

Twomey mentioned in the recap that other clubs were trying to trade up to Geelong's pick. It was a smart move to secure the man we wanted (and need). 👍
Can we pin this so people stop asking why we spent our second rounder to move up! Relish in the fact we identified our guy and did what we needed to get him.

Move on.

Can we pin this so people stop asking why we spent our second rounder to move up! Relish in the fact we identified our guy and did what we needed to get him.

Move on.
I do reckon we gave away 31 for nothing as Geelong would have known caddy was who we wanted but he is an exciting talent. Good luck Nate!

Geelong we’re not gonna trade their pick if they wanted Caddy. I’d say we outbid someone trying to jump us to get him
Perhaps didn't even outbid, as such; but being the one back meant they were guaranteed their man whilst also getting a nice little bonus.

This is a genuine win/win but the average footy fan is so conditioned to a zero sum approach they just can't get their heads around it

I do reckon we gave away 31 for nothing as Geelong would have known caddy was who we wanted but he is an exciting talent. Good luck Nate!
Cats had been feeding the media a month about wanting to trade back and we'd likely have intel about who wants in. So be it if we did fall for a bluff for a bloke who is a massive need with an enormous ceiling. Last thing we need was to miss out on another Oliver because we are worried about drafting the next Alex Morgan.

Highlights look like Francis minus the exciting stuff.
That is the problem with highlights. He is certainly a lot more athletic than Francis.

Can someone paste that article from the age about us being "really aggressive"?

‘Really aggressive’: Why the Bombers traded up for Nate Caddy​

Essendon have rounded out an attempt to be transformative with their list in one off-season and traded up to secure a dynamic power forward with Jake Stringer attributes.

In his last draft at Essendon, outgoing list manager Adrian Dodoro, who will stay on to mentor his replacement Matt Rosa, completed a final cheeky trade to slip into the top 10.
Nate Caddy has joined the Bombers after a pick swap on the first night of the draft.

In doing so, he ensured the Bombers snared Nate Caddy, a powerful and dynamic forward who has played some time in the midfield this year.

After nine picks had been used and with Geelong poised to make a selection at 10, Essendon feared the Cats were about to select Caddy, the nephew of former Geelong, Gold Coast and dual premiership Tiger Josh.

Essendon had pick 11 so handed over that and their pick 31 in order to switch places with Geelong and take Caddy.
“We targeted him, we wanted him, so go for it that’s what we did,” Dodoro said.
Caddy celebrates with family and friends after being picked up by the Bombers.

“We knew the Cats were going to think about him or Connor O’Sullivan. We knew the ball was in their court so we gave them a sweetener.

“Nate is a boy who won’t die wondering, he is a big, solid young man, he is a big boy and he wants the moment. Just talking to him, he has that enthusiasm and desire to play straight away. He is a man’s man.

“We are confident he will put his hand up at some point next year but there’s no pressure, we have a pretty good front half with [Kyle] Langford, Peter Wright, Jake Stringer, and he is for the future.

“He has a lot to learn but we think he can do that Stringer role [as a midfielder] if needed.

That Caddy is likened to Stringer might not necessarily excite all Bombers fans, for the former Bulldog has frustrated at times with his fitness and form. But in terms of style of game, Caddy has a similar power and charisma as a forward who draws the ball.
Caddy is 193 centimetres and admits he is undersized for a key forward. But he thrives on the contest.

“We were looking for another big forward, an extroverted guy up there that can attract the ball and I think we have done that tonight,” Dodoro said.

“It’s funny, he is [a bit undersized] but he is good above his head, [has a] good tank. He will add pressure to our front half and you see the way the game is played with a Charlie Curnow – not to say he is Curnow – but these mobile forwards are important to have and he complements a guy like Peter Wright, Langford. So we thought it was important once we identified what we wanted to bring into the club to just be really aggressive.”

Interestingly, the Bombers’ move for Caddy completed an off-season of deliberate steps to address needs. Essendon have now brought in five players to satisfy concerns across the list.

Ex-North Melbourne defender Ben McKay is not a panacea player but does help with support in key defence, veteran ruckman Todd Goldstein, also from North, allows them to play a two-ruck system with Sam Draper, ex-Saint Jade Gresham at his best is dynamic in front of goal and needed a change to rediscover his best, while and Xavier Duursma (Port Adelaide) adds depth as a running pressure flanker.

And then Caddy comes in as a player who can potentially play soon but is also a long-term power forward.

On paper, the moves round out the list. No, the players traded in are not superstars, and who knows what Caddy, still just a teenager albeit with a lot of promise, could be.
But clubs get few chances to change. The trade period and the drafts are not an equal opportunity benefactors.

Essendon have managed to address multiple concerns in one off-season and prosecute changes they wanted. In contract, St Kilda were eager for significant change to their list this year, but couldn’t make as profound moves because of the hand they held.

I think Caddy will be very good for the Dons, however, did you need to give pick 31 away to move up 1 place? If Geelong had wanted Caddy they would not have agreed to the trade. This suggests the cats were not going to pick Caddy.

Might also suggest the Cats were happy to take any of Curtain, Caddy or O'Sullivan given they need a developing tall at both ends.

If teams only ever traded because they weren't planning on taking the exact player you wanted anyway and therefore you don't need to trade, why would anyone bother trading?

What a horrible decision moving up was. Should've sat still and waited for best available which has worked brilliantly for the last two decades.

It's 2032. Essendon always picks best available at their selection, never trading to 'lose' currency.

Essendon list makeup is;

12 KPD's
8 Small Midfielders
24 Medium Flankers

Blooz fans think he will be playing for them in 3 years.

Weird bunch.

Here's a couple more,

Surprised we didn't trade for Caddy... future 1st and our two picks tonight should have got it done with 10 and a future 2nd or some pick swaps.

Nepotism

Caddy is the second best key fwd in the draft from what I gather. Charlie-esq. Tho he plays for * now so he's a spud.

And who could forget those at Hawthorn,

It sucks that the cheats get Nate Caddy.

🤣

The reputed Curnow-like athleticism doesn't really come through in his highlights reels - by all accounts he runs and jumps really well and the combine seemed to validate this. Good agility result as well.I have no concerns re his height - good leap and good length....he'll play taller than 192 cm or whatever he is. Seems to have a big, natural frame that will fill out and carry weight easily.

I was hoping for Wilson (who I think will quickly be seen as having slid too far when season starts) but let's see what he can do. I can understand why they took him.

The reputed Curnow-like athleticism doesn't really come through in his highlights reels - by all accounts he runs and jumps really well and the combine seemed to validate this. Good agility result as well.I have no concerns re his height - good leap and good length....he'll play taller than 192 cm or whatever he is. Seems to have a big, natural frame that will fill out and carry weight easily.

I was hoping for Wilson (who I think will quickly be seen a shaving slid too far when season starts) but let's see what he can do. I can understand why they took him.
More like Jack Darling than Charlie Curnow?

Dunno....haven't seen enough. Most of his highlight reels are just mark and kick stuff where he pushes someone under the ball.....get no real sense of his athleticism. I'm not saying he doesn't have it....just that I have seen it in what I've watched of him.

Physique wise I think he's more Curnow than Darling (who is more heavy-set), we'll see if he has similar engine/spring.

AFL Player #30: Nate Caddy - reunited with best mate Kako