Past #36: Shannon Watt - drafted at #14 in '97 ND - 155 games - 0 Brownlow votes - original whipping boy

Do you agree with the 'Watt' decision?

• Yes

Votes: 23 53.5%
  • No

Votes: 20 46.5%

he's doing just fine IMO. How many games experience do you think he's had? It's only 51 if i remember correctly and only 25 of them have been consistent with him on the ground. Wait another year or two when he gets to 50 games (**** he'll be 26 and only 50 games at FB!) then we'll be able to make a more informed call. I reckon he's doing great. He hasn't had a real bag kicked on him yet.

Agree, most of SideShowFevs goals where from great play. He is a big unit himself, fast, great kick generally and very nice hands. He leads well and had some fantastic delivery, to Watts credit he made SideShow lead long, unfortunately for us he had his A1 boot on that’s all.
Early in his career I though Martyn was a vegetable, but we stuck with him and he became one of our best ever. Watt needs time, the jobs is an art and learning your opponents is part of that imo.
I agree he needs to learn some agro amongst other things, but only to divert the FF from leading. Bit of a pinch here and a grab there and some wrestling anywhere, is all good.
If we had another option I would like to see how Watt travelled as the third tall in defence, where he could run off more often. When he has a head of steam, there is little stopping him, and ive seen worse kicks in the team.

The fact it took til Round 3 for the sack Watt posts to come up, l think the kid has improved out of site, calls for his head used to be made on the Thursday night selection releases, he has this time at least made it to round 3.

Next year it may come at round 7 and by the time the kid gets to 27-28, some of you guys will love him and will have forgotten all the bagging. No one is born a champion, they earn their stripes and eventually get there, Watt has been a permanent full back for 1 full season and 3 games this year, call me stupid but l have seen a huge improvement in his game and think the match committee would be stoked at his development.

Wrath

Originally posted by NeoBlaze
he's doing just fine IMO. How many games experience do you think he's had? It's only 51 if i remember correctly and only 25 of them have been consistent with him on the ground. Wait another year or two when he gets to 50 games (**** he'll be 26 and only 50 games at FB!) then we'll be able to make a more informed call. I reckon he's doing great. He hasn't had a real bag kicked on him yet.

I agree with you NeoBlaze. Shannon Watt has Had only 51 games experience and he will get better.

Originally posted by Wrath
The fact it took til Round 3 for the sack Watt posts to come up, l think the kid has improved out of site, calls for his head used to be made on the Thursday night selection releases, he has this time at least made it to round 3.

Next year it may come at round 7 and by the time the kid gets to 27-28, some of you guys will love him and will have forgotten all the bagging. No one is born a champion, they earn their stripes and eventually get there, Watt has been a permanent full back for 1 full season and 3 games this year, call me stupid but l have seen a huge improvement in his game and think the match committee would be stoked at his development.

Wrath

Can't argue with that....well said Wrath

I still think he's ahead of Martyn at the same stage of thier careers.

Wrath

At the risk of sounding like a suck, your one of the few here that actually posts a bit of common sense.

We must remember that Watt was starved of the opportunity to develop earlier as the previous coach wouldn't play him regular enough.

I'm not sure how many games Fev has played but I think it would be much more than Watt and he's probably younger so there lies part of the difference.

Ultimately Shannon may not make it ( i think he will though)however he needs more than one full season to prove himself.

Originally posted by greg
Is that trying or tiring? Sorry mate.

I'm just basically agreeing with Wrath and I just put in a couple of reasons why I think he's right.

Sorry to bore you.

Strewth pulled over by the grammar cops again! Actually I agree with ya Greg, just hoped you might give more detail.

Originally posted by Woodson
Can't argue with that....well said Wrath

I still think he's ahead of Martyn at the same stage of thier careers.
:D
Now that is funny.
You do realise that Watt came to North in 1998. That means he is in his 7th year.
You mustn't of thought much of Mick. ;)

Vs Gollywog
Shannon Watt 5 1 6 2 (K H P M)
Gollywog 9 2 11 10 (K H P M) G4 B3

Vs Dopy Thomo (another great olympian in the making - yeah)
Shannon Watt 3 2 5 1 (K H P M)
Thomo 6 3 9 5 G4 B1

Now the only thing that I can recollect from these stats that most of his opponents contributions have occurred when we have let these sides in with a sniff in the 2nd half. If I had Qtr By Qtr stats, then I wouldnt be surprised if these guys had very little in the 1st half of a game.

I would hardly suggest he has been carved up over the last 2 weeks! Maybe he needs to work a little harder over 4qtrs - maybe he is a bit of a fader, but for 50+ games, this doesnt seem to bad.

Maybe some people need to pull out some old Brisbane videos and have a look at Leppitch earlier in his career.

Originally posted by NeoBlaze

I tend to agree with this. I know it takes time to develop quality FBs and I think we do need to wait and see how much he will improve after another season or two, then we can honestly assess the bloke. I think he will make it, but he does have parts of his game he needs to work on.

I remember Mal Michael didn't look that great at Colliwobble-land in his first couple of years and now I think he is the best FB going around.

Originally posted by Angus1
:D
Now that is funny.
You do realise that Watt came to North in 1998. That means he is in his 7th year.
You mustn't of thought much of Mick. ;)

Thanx Angus1, glad you saw the humour in this one ;)
..I better re-phrase....Watt playing in his second season at FB is still ahead IMHO of Mick in his second season at FB. (and yup I saw Mick play from game 1)
I'm glad you pulled me up on that coz I feel there MAY be some here waiting to line me up on any 'comments I make' ....

Can't be too careful on NMFC BF ;)

..I better re-phrase....Watt playing in his second season at FB is still ahead IMHO of Mick in his second season at FB. (and yup I saw Mick play from game 1)
I'm glad you pulled me up on that coz I feel there MAY be some here waiting to line me up on any 'comments I make' ....

:)
Nah I reckon you're pretty safe on here as long as you don't mention Watt, Porter, Clayton, the word aboriginal or female journalists. :eek: :D :p ;)

Originally posted by Angus1
:)
Nah I reckon you're pretty safe on here as long as you don't mention Watt, Porter, Clayton, the word aboriginal or female journalists. :eek: :D :p ;)

:D I agree, don't forget Corey McK impact !!! :D ;) :( :p

Originally posted by KangaFett
Vs Gollywog
Shannon Watt 5 1 6 2 (K H P M)
Gollywog 9 2 11 10 (K H P M) G4 B3

Vs Dopy Thomo (another great olympian in the making - yeah)
Shannon Watt 3 2 5 1 (K H P M)
Thomo 6 3 9 5 G4 B1

Thompson I think kicked 2 of those 4 goals on Colbert when Watt went onto Everitt.

In the Carlton game he did not get a great deal of support across the half back line after half time. One thing a full back cant do is compete very well against a fast leading forward who has alot of space to run into. Part of the blame of conceeding those goals was due to the half-back flankers leaving so much space around the 40-50m area. But 4 goals is not a bad effort. Any good forward will kick goals, its just the job of the full back to restrict it to a reasonable amount.

I know Pagan will bring half forwards up the ground to create the space but its important that players make the defensive efforts to fill the space up. Easier said than done though, we did it well in the first half and the effort wasn't there by the team in the second, which is why we came close to losing the game.

Watt also did some good things aswell, he ran off Fevola a few times and even setup a goal so I think overall his contribution was okay.

You just have to be realistic about how much any full back will beat a full forward the way the ball was coming in. I dont think Watt is going to press for all-australian selection but he is doing a fair job in a tough position and more importantly I doubt we have anyone else that could do better.

Originally posted by Tas
Thompson I think kicked 2 of those 4 goals on Colbert when Watt went onto Everitt.

In the Carlton game he did not get a great deal of support across the half back line after half time. One thing a full back cant do is compete very well against a fast leading forward who has alot of space to run into. Part of the blame of conceeding those goals was due to the half-back flankers leaving so much space around the 40-50m area. But 4 goals is not a bad effort. Any good forward will kick goals, its just the job of the full back to restrict it to a reasonable amount.

I know Pagan will bring half forwards up the ground to create the space but its important that players make the defensive efforts to fill the space up. Easier said than done though, we did it well in the first half and the effort wasn't there by the team in the second, which is why we came close to losing the game.

Watt also did some good things aswell, he ran off Fevola a few times and even setup a goal so I think overall his contribution was okay.

You just have to be realistic about how much any full back will beat a full forward the way the ball was coming in. I dont think Watt is going to press for all-australian selection but he is doing a fair job in a tough position and more importantly I doubt we have anyone else that could do better.

I enjoyed reading this post. I wish I had posted it coz I saw the game the same way without going into alot of detail. How did you rate Porter's efforts Tas ??

Originally posted by 99GloryDayz
I remember Mal Michael didn't look that great at Colliwobble-land in his first couple of years and now I think he is the best FB going around.

Fair call. I think Fevola kicked 12 against him in the Millenium game, before Fevola really hit his straps.

I think most Kanga supporters expect Shannon Watt to be Mick Martyn, it's not going to happen, not today not ever.
They are different (stating the bleeding obvious here).
GIVE SHANNON A GO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
He hasn't been beaten by anyone badly and as other posters have said has really only had 25 games at fullback consistently.
He needs the others to fall back in front of his opponent, no-one is going to stop leads like Side Show got on Saturday.
I don't think mongrel is something that you can get, you either have it or you don't and Shannon Watt is one of the nicest blokes you would ever like to meet so I can't see him getting a dose of white line fever soon, he will just have to get footy smart and that comes from maturity.

(Authorised and spoken by the unofficial leader of the Shannon Watt fan club)

Yeah l'm one of the stalkers Woodson ;)

Wrath

Yeah l'm one of the stalkers Woodson ;)

Wrath
hey, it's good to be kept in line sometimes ! ;)

Let see what DEVO digs up with Rawlings' knockers a few seasons ago....surely Wrath...you didn't doubt Rawlings ability did you ?? :p

hey, it's good to be kept in line sometimes ! ;)

Let see what DEVO digs up with Rawlings' knockers a few seasons ago....surely Wrath...you didn't doubt Rawlings ability did you ?? :p

Nah not from memory, the main guys l have had a go at are Shane Clayton and more recently you mate Firrito.

Wrath

Nah not from memory, the main guys l have had a go at are Shane Clayton and more recently you mate Firrito.

Wrath

Shane is everyone's whipping boy....:eek: but I'll occasionally stand up for him when he does a few 'good' things that everyone overlooks...ie: that game saving tackle vs the Dees in the last minute at TD to save the game ! :D onya Shane !

Nice to see some people being postive about this bloke.

Apart from Dustin(Essendon) and Scarlett(Geelong) can we please name full backs that have stepped up and made great FB in the first 25 games. In the last say 8 years.

If one more person tells me that Watt has been around for 7 years and when will he come good. The bloke was 16 when he was drafted. U have to be 19 now (i think). And he played 25 games for 30mins under dennis. So in real terms he has played 25 games at FB.

The coaches that I have spoken to at north all say Time.....its like pantene It won't happen overnight but it will happen.

Originally posted by kangafruity
I think most Kanga supporters expect Shannon Watt to be Mick Martyn, it's not going to happen, not today not ever.

We don't want him to be Mick - we want him to be David Dench!!

Past #36: Shannon Watt - drafted at #14 in '97 ND - 155 games - 0 Brownlow votes - original whipping boy