List Mgmt. #4 Dustin Martin Contract Talk - 7 MORE YEARS

I'm happy with where it sits.
I'm just a supporter and it's the club who is under the pump as to what they do.
They could find ways to match $1.5 sure, but it's up to them to weigh up what it does to not only the payment pool and structure, but to the mindset of the playing group.
And it does cause mayhem any player will tell you that because they are all after the best for themselves and can't help but being envious and bitter too, They're just people. That's the dice our club management are playing with.
North are playing with the same dice too but they have to approach it a little differently. They are selling to their playing list that they are down the bottom and this bloke could help you and no player likes being at the bottom. The club also has to offer hope to its supporters.
Tougher sell to our players in the current climate.
I think where it sits the responsible decision on our part and whatever happens happens.
The thing for us is we've built up a war chest to target elite players such as Martin and Kelly. This isn't something that's happened overnight it's taken over a year of planning.

It's always going to be a hard sell to leverage an elite talent to another team when that talent isn't disgruntled with their current club.

If we miss out on both I'll be disappointed but won't be in the depths of despair that you seem to think North supporters will be in.

We'll manage or contracts so that they war chest is preserved until we start to snare elite talent from elsewhere.

Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk

The thing for us is we've built up a war chest to target elite players such as Martin and Kelly. This isn't something that's happened overnight it's taken over a year of planning.

It's always going to be a hard sell to leverage an elite talent to another team when that talent isn't disgruntled with their current club.

If we miss out on both I'll be disappointed but won't be in the depths of despair that you seem to think North supporters will be in.

We'll manage or contracts so that they war chest is preserved until we start to snare elite talent from elsewhere.

nothing to worry bout mate, phillyroo has locked it in for you

In that case I hope RodneyDangerfield is working out which membership package to go for!

phillyroo and Frankie Doyle will be both on suicide watch

Half of Dimmas presser today about Dusty .For the first time I've got doubts about Dusty staying .
Dimma not as up and about as he has been in previous weeks .
Didn't deny that Dusty has met with Norf players .

I think the club thinks he is gone but doesn't want the supporters to get upset LOL I reckon we really don't care as long as we know what our compo is and just want an answer so we can worry about finals.

If this is how AFL is going to be, North, be ashamed you bunch of f***s.

Seriously, we nurtured the hell out of Dusty and have got him this far.

Simply for sucking ass, you guys now have no one to pay so you go and offer STUPID money to other players and just steal them. Who wouldn't want a shit ton of money and leave their team for it?

So you break another team in pieces in more ways than one, you take arguably their best player, or you make them pay him heaps more than they should to keep him and ruin their own salary cap. In this case a team who, btw, has suffered more than any other team in the AFL the past couple of decades. JUST WHEN THINGS WERE LOOKING UP BTW, THANKS VERY MUCH...

Absolute scummy bullshit ZERO integrity system this free agency and only sick minded bogan-f***s will get any pleasure from this if Dusty leaves. Only disgusting human beings will laugh back in our faces, I hope you know that.

North, I hope you rot, regardless of the result here. You are easily my most hated team now.

Anyone at the AFL, if you read this, scrap Free Agency, it is a pure blight on the game and, in its desire to "accommodate" players seeking a move, it has now caused players who never would have left to start considering leaving.

Players get paid enough as it is.

Rant over, but seriously, get f****d North.

I have been convinced for months now, Dusty re-signing will depend largely on what we do finals-wise this year.
A straight-sets exit, or preliminary final exit, he stays.
We win a flag - he goes and takes the riches on offer.
Deep down I think he wants a flag with us, he achieves that, he's achieved his goal and moves on.
If he's looking at going to north I reckon it has zero to do with our performance and all do to with money.

My take:

Lolnorf do not exist without the RFC. Without RFC the AFL does not make near the coin it does to prop up a basket case of a club.

We now have the grossly unfair situation where Richmond have to not only subsidise norf but see them use RFC money to buy our best player as Norf cannot manage their own list.

We all understand the need to keep the competition even but socialism never works. In my lifetime I have never seen RFC have any success. We are finally a chance of having some and now this. If we had won a flag then sure. I could even handle it if Martin went to a club that pays its way like say Adelaide or WCE etc.

If Martin walks and we have not won a flag RFC is strong enough to move on, however it will prove how little the AFL cares about rewarding good governance and how much they take heartland supporters for granted.

I feel there needs to be a mechanism for clibs with the money to pay above the salary cap to keep existing players, at least to a point.

In the AFL it seems incompetence is rewarded

Built up a warchest? You got rid of old blokes that were never going to take you further then a prelim. (nice treatment of some club legends by the way) You have 0 Elite talent on your list therefore absolutely no-one worth paying decent coin for so now you have the desperate act of throwing whatever money you have at the best player in the comp. Give it a rest champ. If your flog supporters turned up to games as much as they love talking on your Dusty thread perhaps you might not have to had to become the new face of Tassie. Minnows.

The sad thing is that players do want more than money to move clubs.
Sadly I cant see what else North can offer a star player right now.

Simply for sucking ass, you guys now have no one to pay so you go and offer STUPID money to other players and just steal them. Who wouldn't want a shit ton of money and leave their team for it?

So you break another team in pieces in more ways than one, you take arguably their best player, or you make them pay him heaps more than they should to keep him and ruin their own salary cap. In this case a team who, btw, has suffered more than any other team in the AFL the past couple of decades. JUST WHEN THINGS WERE LOOKING UP BTW, THANKS VERY MUCH...

Absolute scummy bullshit ZERO integrity system this free agency and only sick minded bogan-f***s will get any pleasure from this if Dusty leaves. Only disgusting human beings will laugh back in our faces, I hope you know that.

North, I hope you rot, regardless of the result here. You are easily my most hated team now.

Anyone at the AFL, if you read this, scrap Free Agency, it is a pure blight on the game and, in its desire to "accommodate" players seeking a move, it has now caused players who never would have left to start considering leaving.

You probably should be blaming our own CEO for Free Agency. Benny Gale was president of the Players Association when Free Agency started getting talked about. As I understand it he was a huge driving force behind it.

Also calm down. He hasn't left yet. Truth is no one knows 100% what he's going to do except for Dusty and Carr themselves.

We'll take a hit in the short term if he leaves, but we'll be fine.

We've been down that road . Anyway my post was more about thinking that it's probably the right thing on Richmonds behalf to not tear the place apart trying to match the offer.

In that case I hope RodneyDangerfield is working out which membership package to go for!

I never said anything about giving any money to you campaigners!:p

Lol

Nobody is low balling Dusty.
In fact I'd bet as it stands right now we are offering the most.
I don't think Nth have officially tabled 1.5 over 7 deal.
I think they look set to and that is where all the media murmur is coming from.

List Mgmt. #4 Dustin Martin Contract Talk - 7 MORE YEARS