List Mgmt. #4 Dustin Martin Contract Talk - 7 MORE YEARS

Spot on Balmey, I'm glad to hear that actually was worried we would try and match it. 20 years ago Richmond would match it in desperation and then wonder why the likes of Rioli, Bolton etc would walk out in a few years time.

Balmey is no one's fool. It's not just about what you pay, it's also how it's received in balance within the confines of the Salary Cap. Pay some big names big bucks, but dilute the rest and struggle to have success, or bring a lot through on similar money and have a spread- so many shades of grey in getting the balance right.

For once we are a club who is making sound decisions.
What if we match Dusty's offer and Rance comes out of contract or Cotchin? Sorry guys, we spent too much on your mate Dusty. Take unders pls.
Yeah you've got to draw the line and back in what you've got too.
It's actually now at a point where if they tried to get him more money it'd be detrimental to us on field, not initially but eventually it would split us right down the middle.
If he leaves it'll effect us a bit initially no doubt but only his void, not the whole thing like it would if we break the bank.
They would just have to back in what they're doing on field sans Martin ,with some new players and trust it.

**** me.
We really should just bloody leave this thread be until anything happens.
Just enjoy the footy. Next week is no footy and there will be a whole lot of Norf posters who's season is over with nothing else on their mind except this.
We should be talking about the footy not this shit.

Completely agree. I know it won't happen but I wish the mods would just lock the thread heading into finals. I'm pretty sure the Norf board are just trying to spoil our September fun by bringing the focus on to this mundane topic. They're club is pathetic and they have nothing else going on. It's like when you have a nice car parked on the street and some feral bogans come along and key it.

For what it's worth I would much rather be in our position whichever way the cards fall. We either retain Dusty for a reasonable figure or Norf pay a ridiculous amount to get him across and f*** up the rest of their list. If he leaves then we'll have a warchest plus an already healthy list. Whatever happens the Tiges are in great shape.

Yeah you've got to draw the line and back on what you've got too.
It's actually now at a point where if they tried to get him more money it'd be detrimental to us on field, not initially but eventually it would split us right down the middle.
If he leaves it'll effect us a bit initially no doubt but only his void, not the whole thing like it would if we break the bank.
They would just have to back in what they're doing on field sans Martin ,with some new players and trust it.
If he leaves we may even miss the finals next year.
That's OK. If we get Naish, two guns mids with the other two picks and pick up a gun tall like Brown and Lynch next year, then we could actually be in a better position than we are now.
I know Dimma crapped on about taking one step back to take two steps forward, but this could actually be a legitimate claim to that.

If he leaves we may even miss the finals next year.
That's OK. If we get Naish, two guns mids with the other two picks and pick up a gun tall like Brown and Lynch next year, then we could actually be in a better position than we are now.
I know Dimma crapped on about taking one step back to take two steps forward, but this could actually be a legitimate claim to that.
Maybe.
But I look at last season and he killed it and where did we finish? It's about how we play, he's obviously a nice big cherry on top and gives you a real edge.
We made finals with him but did we win them?
He's a great player but just one player. He's a funny one to classify too I reckon. Just say he went I'd say it's Forward half we would miss him most. I think a lot of people that don't watch us week in week think he's a real tough hard player but he's not really. He's certainly not a soft player! But I think the dont argues give people the wrong idea. To me Trent Cotchin is tough.
Dustin is the lethal burst type player and deadly around goal.
But as I said earlier it's all hypothesizing and speculation, basically we are talking shit until something happens.

If we win a flag this year I won't give a **** what anyone does for the next 10 years.
I will be drunk and high for at least three years.
If Richmond win the flag then this limerick will sum it up for me...

First I will admit I was wrong
Then I shall sing the song
Vocals with vigour & cheer
Whilst I drown in beer
And then dust off the old bong

Maybe.
But I look at last season and he killed it and where did we finish? It's about how we play, he's obviously a nice big cherry on top and gives you a real edge.
We made finals with him but did we win them?
He's a great player but just one player. He's a funny one to classify too I reckon. Just say he went I'd say it's Forward half we would miss him most. I think a lot of people that don't watch us week in week think he's a real tough hard player but he's not really. He's certainly not a soft player! But I think the dont argues give people the wrong idea. To me Trent Cotchin is tough.
Dustin is the lethal burst type player and deadly around goal.
But as I said earlier it's all hypothesizing and speculation, basically we are talking shit until something happens.
I agree with you 100%.

Dusty is certainly a brilliant player but too many people underrate what other players do for us (coughtrentcotchincough). There's a reason why opposition coaches tag the guy who gets the ball out to Dusty more than Dusty himself.

I think we'd be fine without Dusty but until we've actually been without him we won't 100% know how we'd go without him.

If Richmond win the flag then this limerick will sum it up for me...

First I will admit I was wrong
Then I shall sing the song
Vocals with vigour & cheer
Whilst I drown in beer
And then dust off the old bong

One of the #eco faithful

A true believer is I Rock

6796cb8de27786f1a900b13a6297aec0.png

Sent from my iPhone using Righteous Man Power.
Gee, I like Ricky Nixon.

I think we'd be fine without Dusty but until we've actually been without him we won't 100% know how we'd go without him.

I dont think people are concerned that wed plummet down the ladder, we arent a one man team like Geelong.

I think a lot of the gnashing of teeth on him leaving is the fact that wed be getting way way unders for him.

If north had to give us some picks and a player than it would be a lot less annoying.

I dont think people are concerned that wed plummet down the ladder, we arent a one man team like Geelong.

I think a lot of the gnashing of teeth on him leaving is the fact that wed be getting way way unders for him.

If north had to give us some picks and a player than it would be a lot less annoying.
None of their players thank you, just picks.

Yes I am with you 100%.

Can't believe we probably won't get what he's worth back if he leaves.

Like I said, I think we'd be fine without him but my god...he's still in the top 2 players in the competition and we should be compensated accordingly.