Player Watch #5: Christian Petracca – Norm Smith Medallist, 4x All-Australian and 2x Best and Fairest (re-commits to Melbourne)

Shankracca turns into Clutchracca when the game is HUGE. Why? Coz thats what being a Melbourne homer is all about, convincing yourself of something you wouldnt otherwise.

Case closed TK, cant argue with that.

To be fair he did kick goals when we needed them in the finals series. He is still an absolute lottery from a set shot though.

On the run he kicked them, no one thinks he struggles pulling goals out of his ass. If he had to kick one close to the siren for us to win I'd just turn the TV and start listening to trade radio

It's annoying cause he kicked an amazing 45m set shot from the boundary to keep us in the game round one.

His horrible run up looks the same so either he just got lucky or his mindset at the ball drop is the only thing that matters.

It's annoying cause he kicked an amazing 45m set shot from the boundary to keep us in the game round one.

His horrible run up looks the same so either he just got lucky or his mindset at the ball drop is the only thing that matters.

imo, the harder the set shot the better he is, less expectations to kick it.

Run ups and technique are overrated slightly. Josh Kennedy had a horrible run up but at the moment of the ball drop it was perfect. Hogans exactly the same but his ball drop was horrible. Jack Watts and Ben Brown run ups nothing alike but both keep it simple and moved in straight lines so their was no variance at the ball drop. Trac looks like he just kicks it and hopes, like just kicks it as hard as he can

Spins the ball in his hands as he walks in a lot too, stupid move

Also tends to get to close to the mark

Yep, you need to find a routine that works for you but the critical part is how you drop the ball and where your body is going. Trac already has a high ball drop and gets under them a bit sometimes, he also doesn’t have much momentum going through the kick within 40m (Oliver does the same thing).

racked up 25 disposals but still nearly seemed invisible and failed to hit the scoreboard, down on form now.
Honestly thought he would have a big game tonight, hoping he can get up against the Pies.

Doesn’t look himself the last couple. You never know what any player is carrying, the best players player play through minor injury all the time. Some probably handle it better than others. The Bont is a timely comparison, he and Petracca were the best two players in the comp coming in to season 2022. I wouldn’t be against giving him the rest he needs if he has ailments that are a genuine issue.

If it is purely form he needs to work harder and get through it. We won’t go back to back without Petracca being near his best.

Weak as pi$$ for over a month now. Too many ads on TV and radio spots. Maybe concentrate on footy again champ
Crusty opinion there mate. He was doing all that stuff last year too - remember he won a Norm Smith? Clearly illness knocked him around last week, and he was off the boil and lacking compsure last night. I think that we're carrying one too many midfielders and it's clouding the role of some.

Weak as pi$$ for over a month now. Too many ads on TV and radio spots. Maybe concentrate on footy again champ
You're an absolute joke with this stuff. You said this crap about Gawn in 2019 and he goes onto captain the flag.

Hahaha. Wow. You have an amazing memory. If you can find a time I had a go at Gawn for his media spots 3 years ago, then I'll wear it. If not you're making sh** up. Living in your head rent free ey

You're the only bloke who has these stupid takes that being in the media effects your performance. If ya don't wanna own it it's even more embarrassing to have a crack at Trac for it

Where's my Gawn comment you told me I made? You just make sh** up to suit your narrative. Now that's embarrassing caught in a lie isn't it! How about owning your Lie. I made a comment you didn't like and you make up a lie? What BS is that??

Mate if I went through all your sook posts to find that one I'd have to quit me job to find the time.
You've just had a crack at Petracca who's the reigning Norm Smith medalist saying it's his media commitments dropping his form. Me an you have done this before about Gawn being on the footy show an you saying he should focus on footy. It was moronic then and moronic now.

Mate if I went through all your sook posts to find that one I'd have to quit me job to find the time.
You've just had a crack at Petracca who's the reigning Norm Smith medalist saying it's his media commitments dropping his form. Me an you have done this before about Gawn being on the footy show an you saying he should focus on footy. It was moronic then and moronic now.
I disagree. But the difference between you and I is that I don't resort to name calling and belittling someone and making up lies when I don't agree with their opinion or comment. It's primary school stuff.

It's actually embarassing that you spill so much crap you can't even remember your own sook about Gawn. No one else thinks media effects performance you're literally the only one.

Player Watch #5: Christian Petracca – Norm Smith Medallist, 4x All-Australian and 2x Best and Fairest (re-commits to Melbourne)