Past #6: Shannon Grant - Sydney '95-'97 - traded to NM for W. Schwass - 243 games for NM (301 overall)

Was shagga unlucky to miss out on AAS.

• Yes

Votes: 8 80.0%
  • No

Votes: 2 20.0%

WLF

Yeah it was funny, and then while they have Boomer on they Clinton ask's Boomer if his single because it was an SMS question and then his just like nah mate it's Pete from Preston. Also Shagga said how good the boys felt because of a light week, so that was good to hear.

Caught most of the replay- missed the first 20 mins or so, but caught 15 mins or so off Shagga- including Pete from Preston and Greg.

Then started talking about records

Go Roos

Also found it interesting- and very nice- that Shagga said the way Petrie went about training reminded him of the way Blakey went about it.

(There was a question asking who Shagga thought were the best of the new crop coming through)

Go Roos

Would like opinions on this guy.

I think his midfield work has improved but his disposal has become less effective.

Not our most reliable kick and it is strange that both he and Makepeace, the 2 best kicks last year, have had IMO very poor year's in regards to their disposal.

I thought today Grant made many poor decisions and just didn't use the ball as well as a guy with his class should.

He has exceeded my expectations as a midfielder, but is well below my expectations on his impact.

I think Shags takes it on himself to WIN the game off his own boot sometimes. He is North's reliable / talented player on the list but I thought today he tried to do too much, he wanted to take on more than he could and BECAUSE OF A LACK OF TEAMWORK
where the hell were the sheppards / blocks / ample pressure- gang tackling / backing up ???? We put ourselves under contant pressure by reacting TOOOOO SLOW and without conviction.
It's a team effort and we constantly play in bursts which is a greater dissappointment. :(

Grant should be commended for his efforts....not questioned because his teamates are too lazy to help him out.

I agree in principle Woodson, but not when you look at the tape.

When he is clear, which occurred several times today, he made poor decision and delivered the ball poorly.

I do not believe he is a bad player, he should be dropped or he is a detriment to the team.

BUT /

For a player with his talent, in a midfield that lacks polish, he is not living up to his ability with his disposal and today is an example of how he played all year. That is why we hunted for him, for his polish, and today, after marks and alone on the wing, he continually kicked too long, too high or too soft to give our forwards the best opportunity.

As I said, he is not playing badly, but he is also not living up to the reason we got him, to use the ball like a Buckley or Voss.

I totally agree with Woodson on this one.

We did face an uphill struggle after the first quarter, and I think that the younger Shannon Grant would have gone into his shell and expected others to do the work. But he kept on working, trying to win the ball and lead the team.

If the teamwork was up to scratch and Grant keeps up his work, he'll lead us to more wins than losses.

Not a big chance IMHO. Had a better year than last but was simply solid in more games rather than outstanding. Will get about 6-8 votes at the most I would think.

Did anyone listen to SEN when Shannon Grant was on. I did it was alright Shannon was talking about who was the best dressed (Jess) and the worst dressed (Simmo) and he was also saying that he has this cardigain and everyone at the club bags him for it. He was also talking about who would take the longest to get ready for the Brownlow and he said Jess again(hehehe). They menchened the Cricket day at Archer's house and that was about it.

I love Jess Sinclair #9

Leadership role sits well with Grant
4:08:07 PM Wed 3 March, 2004
Matt Burgan
afl.com.au
New Kangaroos joint deputy vice-captain Shannon Grant believes that being elevated to an official leadership position will bring out the best in his football.

Grant, 27, said he was ‘happy to oblige’ when he was offered the position at the end of last season and said that being a leader was good for his game.

“I’m enjoying it. Not a great deal has changed from the last couple of years, but it’s good to have that added responsibility and I’ve enjoyed that so far,” Grant said on Wednesday before training at Arden St.

“It just makes me work a little bit harder and I’m more aware of having a bit more of an impact and trying to improve the young guys with their development and preparation as well.”

“I think it’s just good to get out there and lead by example – whether it’s on the field or off it – and try and set the example by training as hard as you can and doing everything right and if the younger guys can get something out of that, it’s good.”

Grant has played 192 matches since making his AFL debut in 1995 with Sydney. He played 134 games for the Roos since 1998.

Link: http://kangaroosfc.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=136338

I love Jess Sinclair #9

I wonder how many Kanga fans thought the swap in 97 was a good one? Most of us were sorry to see Schwassy go and were unsure about Grant.
Here we are with another two good games and , maybe, five more years to play while Schwassy is well gone.
Must admit I wasn't very happy at the time but it looks better every good game he plays...............

re-swaps

IMO both the Grant + Schwass +
the Carey-Wells will be our best swaps in history!!!

Also all going well will both be in our next
premiership team!!!!

Cant wait for this day!!!!

Over + out
Digby

Sydney got a good season or two out of Schwass, but will get a good decadee out Grant. He is at the peak of his powers at the moment. Possibility of 6 brownlow votes from the first two games this season.

I was sad to see Schwatta go and it was typical of Pagan rubbing many players up the wrong way but I think in the long run we have done well out of it.

Oh, we got Shore and Wells for Carey, Shore looks like he might be a player of the future aswell.

Re: Re: re-swaps

Originally posted by Petrie Dish
Along with McCarthy for Blakey.

Glad you brought this one up, I was about to put it in myself but you you beat me to it.

I loved Schwass & at the time I thought it was a huge gamble which I didn't like at all, but in the end it was big win for both parties but our party is going to be 7 or 8 years longer :D

Carey is another story & as much I would have loved him stay with us his whole career his antics 2 years ago stuffed that right up. Time will tell with Wells but if he can play the footy he has shown so far in his short career & stays with us I feel this bloke will be one of the greatest things to hit the club. I feel he has possibility to get many bums on seats which could mean many more members :)

Originally posted by Tas
I was sad to see Schwatta go and it was typical of Pagan rubbing many players up the wrong way but I think in the long run we have done well out of it.

Oh, we got Shore and Wells for Carey, Shore looks like he might be a player of the future aswell.

Was always going to work in North's favour but I don't think the Swans can feel bad about it all. Schwatta scooped up a B&F there also.

I don't think you can dump on Pagan about Schwatta, I'm sure every club has a favourite son that needs a breath of fresh air and Schwatta was prepared to put his hand up first. You all know that WS came down the club during the 99 GF week to wish all well.

Wonder if WC will ever do that...??

I always though Shagga didn't have the heart or ticker to be a midfielder, thought he was more suited to a forward flanker or running of a wing. I was wrong. If he maintains his current form he will one of the premier midfielders in the comp by end year

He now has the stamina/fitness to go with the kicking, he also improved on the defensive side and is one of the few midfielders who can punish the opposition on the scoreboard.

My only mild criticism that he has nearly lost all of that puppy fat but if he was to take his physique to the next level he could be stronger around the packs, not that his soft, he doesn't hurt anyone or lay enough tackles.

Schwatta was a rabid, feral gun, but I think Shagga will eventually overtake him in his contribution to the club if he hasn't allready.

I was very happy with getting Grant at the time. He always had those silky skills we needed, especially when our typical ball-users were of the nuggety Rock/Romero/Scott type player.

Schwatta had a fall out with Pagan over his finals suspension, and their were off field rumours about him at the time.

The Norm Smith medal was enough to clinch the trade decision as a positive for North.... anything more is now a bonus.

Hey, welcome back to the boards Choppy - it's been ages since you've posted here.

Anyway, on the subject of trades, I think we can be content for the Grant for Schwass deal. It was a win-win, but we'll probably come out ahead when all's said and done. At the moment, if Geelong ever get their sh*t together, they should come out ahead on the Colbert deal (y'know, we gave them a million draft picks and Cameron Mooney), but right now, I reckon we're far happier with Colbert than the Cats fans would be with the players they picked up in the deal. On the other hand, the jury is still out on the Pickett for Brown deal.

Back to Schwass though, we traded him at the right time. He was sick of playing under Pagan and he was at the peak of his trade value. Today, the Hawks fans were saying that they should have traded Holland a few years ago when he still had some trade value and that a couple of front runners (hello Thompson) should probably go while there are some clubs out there who might be interested.

Past #6: Shannon Grant - Sydney '95-'97 - traded to NM for W. Schwass - 243 games for NM (301 overall)