A Section Amateur Football (Part 2)

Just caught JG Hornets weekly rant on the vafa webiste - loved this quote:

Sometimes, throwing say, a Steve Lawrence into the mix of a club like Scotch is good for all involved.

I would love to hear your reasoning behind this hornet.

Yea i know!

Leaving tomorrow morning and won't have internet access so I will hopefully be able to pick up the OS and SBMT game on 96.5 and get the results!

Sometimes, throwing say, a Steve Lawrence into the mix of a club like Scotch is good for all involved.

A couple of points VG, Did you ever see Steve Lawrance play for OS he was a star, and what you would wouldn't see is what he was like behind the scene, he was a real leader around the club and a good bloke to add to that. Added alot to the club in his 2 year stay.

Spot on Hornet.

A couple of points VG, Did you ever see Steve Lawrance play for OS he was a star, and what you would wouldn't see is what he was like behind the scene, he was a real leader around the club and a good bloke to add to that. Added alot to the club in his 2 year stay.

Spot on Hornet.

And he introduced **** in a bag… he revolutionised football pranks!

Steve Lawrence was great for OS in many ways, just as OS was great for him. If you ask him the club has had a great impact on him and he will take a lot of ideas into Caulfield based on the experiences he had.

SBMT to do a job on OS
OI over OX in a canter
OB over OE more pain for the boys on the hill. Utterly dreadful last week
Marc over Coll to get the first win back in A Grade
UB over De La in a toss of the coin

SBMT with 4-5 missing last week were sensational even though OE were terrible. I know we are only 1 round in but based purely on OE performance last week they are in strife. But there is a long way to go yet.

Will OB mirror Collegians last year. Have had all of the boom recruits but can they get the job done. Are they too tall up front.

SBMT to do a job on OS
OI over OX in a canter
OB over OE more pain for the boys on the hill. Utterly dreadful last week
Marc over Coll to get the first win back in A Grade
UB over De La in a toss of the coin

SBMT with 4-5 missing last week were sensational even though OE were terrible. I know we are only 1 round in but based purely on OE performance last week they are in strife. But there is a long way to go yet.

Will OB mirror Collegians last year. Have had all of the boom recruits but can they get the job done. Are they too tall up front.

Porky. Think you will find OEG will put up a better show this week.Evidently the surfies hate the wet weather footy especially away from south road.
St Bedes had 3-4 out, OEG had a shocker,from what i hear the attitude will be a lot different.

Porky. Think you will find OEG will put up a better show this week.Evidently the surfies hate the wet weather footy especially away from south road.
St Bedes had 3-4 out, OEG had a shocker,from what i hear the attitude will be a lot different.

Kidlet they would want to put on a better show. You would expect them to get better but after seeing them last week they need to improve monumentally to be competitive this year. The worst thing was that you guys actually gave up. Us on the otherhand could not have started better. Scafidi back soonish and Collo back mid year will only make us stronger.

based on the last time you beat OB of course?

it will be a good game, both teams didn't play to the standard they should have in round 1 and will both want to bounce back, so will be a cracker of a match! Will be a lot closer than some people are saying, especially if it's wet..

as I said before rd 1, i can't believe SBMT weren't flag favorites from the outset.. did they even lose anyone from last years team?

shame for OS to lose byrne, he was going to tear it up this year.. watch out for him on the back 9..

If UB win a few in the first half of the season, they'll be in for a chance at getting into the 4 with watts coming back later in the season

I'm sorry but saying SBMT had 3-4 is not worth putting in. I'm sure very side are missing players so please in future dont say SMBT missing 3-4 players its pathetic.

Unless those players are 3-4 of the best players in the team, like this week OS without Byrne, Brennen, Licuria, Brown, Houlihan. Still i make no complaint. Everyside has injuries its the team that can cover for them the best.

A question to any OX poster what areyour expectations this year, from I have seen there arn't many players to come back into the team that lost to De La on the weekend. And talking to a OX player things are not going that well at all down at toorak park. Some players not happy with the coach.

I'm sorry but saying SBMT had 3-4 is not worth putting in. I'm sure very side are missing players so please in future dont say SMBT missing 3-4 players its pathetic.

Unless those players are 3-4 of the best players in the team, like this week OS without Byrne, Brennen, Licuria, Brown, Houlihan. Still i make no complaint. Everyside has injuries its the team that can cover for them the best.

A question to any OX poster what areyour expectations this year, from I have seen there arn't many players to come back into the team that lost to De La on the weekend. And talking to a OX player things are not going that well at all down at toorak park. Some players not happy with the coach.

If you are going to sook about people saying they had 3-4 players out then surely you can't go on to talk about the players you have out this week! Obviously st bedes had some quality players out otherwise they wouldn't have brought it up in the first place.

based on the last time you beat OB of course?

it will be a good game, both teams didn't play to the standard they should have in round 1 and will both want to bounce back, so will be a cracker of a match! Will be a lot closer than some people are saying, especially if it's wet..

as I said before rd 1, i can't believe SBMT weren't flag favorites from the outset.. did they even lose anyone from last years team?

shame for OS to lose byrne, he was going to tear it up this year.. watch out for him on the back 9..

If UB win a few in the first half of the season, they'll be in for a chance at getting into the 4 with watts coming back later in the season

hater, as your closer to the players than i so maybe you can shed some light on the current situation. lots of talk about last years end of season heart to heart but didn't really fire on the weekend?
big name players being dropped and ringin's getting a game first up to satisfy the recruiters i hear....
maybe one or two brothers playing because of the skills of another, all this whilst stalwarts sit out?

full credit to scotch, will be a massive year for them.

No doubt we will return with the points this week but will be a close match

looking forward to the return of the junkyard dog and the lord

SBMT over OS
OI over OX (Close one)
Brighton over OEG
Coll over Marc
Blues over De La (Most interesting match of the round for mine - where are Uni at?)

SBMT over OS
could go either way, big outs for Scotch

OI over OX
OI will win comfortably, OX faithfull to start in season recruiting drive and will be a different team come finals.

OB over OEG
last week will shock the tonners into action, OEG better than how they performed last week

MAR over COLL
Marc just, collegians hate the wet weather

BLU over DELA
Blues on a roll early, both good teams, reckon blues are a big show this year

Should be a cracker at Scotch tomorrow, Grand Final preview.

Who cares about the other games although I will go out on a limb and say that Brighton will struggle this year with their recruits from a club in Caulfield with a losing culture and Gerta is over the hills and far away, teletubbies come to play.