A Section Amateur Football (Part 2)

Interesting on the weekend that RPower who played in the ruck got in the Tigers best. Hayden was best on ground for the Hoers. my question is how can two guys playing against each other get named in the best in there perspective teams

Quite easily... Heta's ruckwork can be so dominant that he can be best on ground without having a possession because the service he gives his onballers is so good. Then the bloke that he is up against may not win a tap for the day but might take 20 big grabs and dominate around the ground.

Do you also wonder how you can have two ruckrovers or two wingman from either side both in the best? generally midfielders don't go anywhere near each other anyway, so they can all be in the best.

Brighton in a march.
OEG to win. Scotch are the richmond of the ammo's. Lots of pre-season hype, but at the end of the day, nothing really changes.
De La.....going well
St Bedes....also going well
Uni Blues....have a good record at toorak park

OEG to win. Scotch are the richmond of the ammo's. Lots of pre-season hype, but at the end of the day, nothing really changes.

River Man Please,

We are in poor form but comparing OS to Richmond is unfair.
We have had alot of injuries, but still not making an exuse for the past few weeks. The team has been changed around heaps I think something like 6 changes everyweek on average. From this week the team will be much more settled. With Brown, Brennen, Licuria in this week they will make a difference. Keogh is 1 week away he will slot into CHB and Slade & Allen also a couple of weeks away. Not to forget Byrne back for 2nd half of season.
You eat your own words River Man, Mark my word

OB over Mar
will be a smashing, the boys are just starting to hit some form. 82 points

OS over OE
Back on the winners list, will be a long year for OE. 19 points

De La over OI
I reckon they are the real deal. 21 points

SBMT over Coll
grand final rematch will go down to the wire, bogans got smashed there last year. 3 points

OX over UB
Xavs back in town, think they will get up quiet easily. 39 points

River Man Please,

We are in poor form but comparing OS to Richmond is unfair.
We have had alot of injuries, but still not making an exuse for the past few weeks. The team has been changed around heaps I think something like 6 changes everyweek on average. From this week the team will be much more settled. With Brown, Brennen, Licuria in this week they will make a difference. Keogh is 1 week away he will slot into CHB and Slade & Allen also a couple of weeks away. Not to forget Byrne back for 2nd half of season.
You eat your own words River Man, Mark my word

OS have fallen for the trap of bulking up with ex afl stars etc. Like many A and B section clubs.Which path is the vafa going to take, a competition run by clubs who can entice and tease virtually finished players to take the places of home grown school/ district groomed future vafa leaders?

I think it is time that some restriction on retired professional players are limited in number per club. All are striving to recruit a gang of say 6 to carry the locals.

Lets get back to level playing field and promote club people, not football nomads who will fade into the past without memory.

Ladder after 4 Rounds
SBMT 16 217.7%
OX 12 159.7%
De La 12 130.4%
OB 12 110.3%
-----------------
UB 8 113.2%
Colls 8 92.4%
OS 8 89.9%
OI 4 87.4%
OE 0 50.9%
Marc 0 47.4%

OS have fallen for the trap of bulking up with ex afl stars etc. Like many A and B section clubs.Which path is the vafa going to take, a competition run by clubs who can entice and tease virtually finished players to take the places of home grown school/ district groomed future vafa leaders?

I think it is time that some restriction on retired professional players are limited in number per club. All are striving to recruit a gang of say 6 to carry the locals.

Lets get back to level playing field and promote club people, not football nomads who will fade into the past without memory.

Kid Boga

I think you make a very good point, there should be a limit on ex AFL players allowed to play at 1 club. Maybe 4 ex AFL max, that didn't go to he school. No limit on players that went to the school.

I was at Camberwell on Saturday and someone else please back me up here, the umpiring was an absolute joke. Worst I have ever seen, they kept OEG in the game, one of the umpires the Indianbloke I think his name is Merv or something like that, has completely lost the plot.
The umpires made an official complaint against the crowd, because someone called him a, "white maggot".

OS seem to always get the rough end of the stick when it comes to umpires, Brian do something about it.

Will De La make finals?
no

Kid Boga

I think you make a very good point, there should be a limit on ex AFL players allowed to play at 1 club. Maybe 4 ex AFL max, that didn't go to he school. No limit on players that went to the school.

I was at Camberwell on Saturday and someone else please back me up here, the umpiring was an absolute joke. Worst I have ever seen, they kept OEG in the game, one of the umpires the Indianbloke I think his name is Merv or something like that, has completely lost the plot.
The umpires made an official complaint against the crowd, because someone called him a, "white maggot".

OS seem to always get the rough end of the stick when it comes to umpires, Brian do something about it.

Will De La make finals?
no

Pie Thanks for your comments re afl x players.
Umpires i thought were very hard most times to oeg,crucial free kicks at crucial times.Their performance was confusing.
OEG will get around 5 players back and make a big difference.
Considering the draw that oeg recieved as a welcome gesture from the fixtures committee i reckon they have done ok.

OEG - 4 games in, 4 losses - Already blaming umpires, the headquarters for the fixture and other teams for having too many good players... hmmm didn't see that coming!! 2 away games and 2 home games.. tough fixture!!

and footy pie eater... how does your school theory go for hampton rovers or ormond? how about just let clubs do whatever they want, having ex afl players doesn't equal success... OH, won a flag yes, but success? no..

Weekend Collegians vs SBMT wrap up.

Firstly I have to say SBMT are the slickest vafa team going around and will not be beaten this year, as much as it pains me to say that it is the truth. Watching them on Saturday flick the ball around and their awareness of other teammates and the opposition was amazing it was something that I have never seen before in amateur football. Their second and third efforts were second to none and the physical pressure was great. The game was close for a good part of 3 quarters, which was due to in accurate kicking from SBMT. Collegians too had their chances but failed to kick straight. The last quarter was very one sided and to Collegians credit they didn’t drop their heads. I don’t think the final score did the Lions any justice it was a much closer game but on the flip side, for SBMT to step up and provide an absolute trouncing like that in the final term I fear that once again the we will be hearing more from these blokes in September. I still don’t like the bogans from the south but I do respect the way they go about their business.

Footy Pie Eater - I agree mate, the umps were horrible @ Camberwell, I don't think it effected the outcome of the game but OS seem to have the rough end of the stick especially in the 2nd and 3rd Q's !

SBMT will have to drop a game at some stage?? You can pencil them in for some September action no doubt, good on the bogans, at the end of the day they really have nothing else going for them so footy is it. What do they do during summer?

Has anyone had a look at OX this year? they seem to be going well and i was wondering if they have picked up a few players or if the depth they have had in the 2's for the last 5 years has stood up?

Comment . The 25 m penalty rule as opposed to the 50 m penalty is a total joke . The game i was at on the weekend had a number of penalties awarded but by the time the two rather portly and one in the second half century of his life span umpires hiched a ride into the scene of the crime , discussed at length the incident with the players involved , then took time to get up to there full speed [ which was glacial pace ] and relocate the player on the new mark was mind numbing .The advantage to the side with the ball was gone , the distance insignificant , every player from both sides ran forward of the ball thus turning the game into trench warfare .Its not a good enough reason to continue with this rule because its merely just different to the AFL and other competitions .

Pie Thanks for your comments re afl x players.
Umpires i thought were very hard most times to oeg,crucial free kicks at crucial times.Their performance was confusing.
OEG will get around 5 players back and make a big difference.
Considering the draw that oeg recieved as a welcome gesture from the fixtures committee i reckon they have done ok.
Is it true Kid Condos kicked 2 goals 8 points on Saturday . Would have been a different result .

SBMT will have to drop a game at some stage?? You can pencil them in for some September action no doubt, good on the bogans, at the end of the day they really have nothing else going for them so footy is it. What do they do during summer?
What a moronic comment. Most of the lads from St Bede's live by the bay, unlike tospots like you, who is probably a Scotchie and hangs around the gridlocked roads of Camberwell.
There's a hell of a lot more to do in this area than yours, and Im sure the St Bede's lads have a lot better lifestyle than most. As far as not much going for them, HTF would you know? Take your silver spoon and jam it up your kyber pass, because it won't get you too far in the real world.