A Section A Section Amateur Football

Great win by the Lions.

Both sides had a number of players missing, and it was good to see that Collegians have players able to step in and fill the void when required.

Well once again we've heard that age old saying/cop out that we can't make any predictions till everyones played each other. Post your thoughts....

- OH were superb in their greatest triumph on a cool September arvo in 2006. Will they have to wait till 2008 to sing their song again??? How many teams have won a flag and then had a double drop???
Don't think they'll double drop, but I can't find them a win in the run home.

- 3 of the 4 teams to have been promoted in the past 2 seasons sit in the four at the moment. Is the VAFA as even as ever across grades??? (Note success of St Bedes and AJAX so far, and Melburnians looking at C Grade in '08) Albeit a bit weaker probably as a result of the reinstatement rule.
Me thoughts that yes the comp is even and weaker, but the atmosphere at all local footy is growing greater as the AFL becomes more and more sterile.

I've done a bit of a predicted ladder, based on my selections for the remaining games of the season.

Tipping Brighton and Xavs to drop only 1 game in the run home, with Round 18 OX vrs Coll to decide the double chance, possibly by %.

If Bernards can pinch a couple of wins from a pretty tough next 5 weeks, they'll also pinch the last spot in the 4 with a nice looking last month.

DLS will be disappointed with an ordinary start but focus on holding onto a young list that will surely be thereabouts in the next few years. Another very very good under 19 crop at Dairy Bell.

UB's to officially signify the end of era that ended a long premiership drought. Coach might jump off a sinking ship.As Blacks surge it's only going to get harder for the students, but anyone with any interest in footy should be on hand to watch their first clash in many years next year.

Trinity to go to where they should be this year, and probly stay there for a couple at least. Their best players are on the wrong side of 30 and they have minimal in reserve.

Old Brighton 15 2 1 62
Old Xavs 14 4 0 56
Collegians 14 4 0 56
St Bernards 11 7 0 44

Old Ivanhoe 10 8 0 40
DLS 9 7 1 38
Uni Blues 7 11 0 28
Old Scotch 5 13 0 20
Old Trinity 4 14 0 16
Old Hailibury 0 18 0 0

Well once again we've heard that age old saying/cop out that we can't make any predictions till everyones played each other. Post your thoughts....

- OH were superb in their greatest triumph on a cool September arvo in 2006. Will they have to wait till 2008 to sing their song again??? How many teams have won a flag and then had a double drop???
Don't think they'll double drop, but I can't find them a win in the run home.

- 3 of the 4 teams to have been promoted in the past 2 seasons sit in the four at the moment. Is the VAFA as even as ever across grades??? (Note success of St Bedes and AJAX so far, and Melburnians looking at C Grade in '08) Albeit a bit weaker probably as a result of the reinstatement rule.
Me thoughts that yes the comp is even and weaker, but the atmosphere at all local footy is growing greater as the AFL becomes more and more sterile.

I've done a bit of a predicted ladder, based on my selections for the remaining games of the season.

Tipping Brighton and Xavs to drop only 1 game in the run home, with Round 18 OX vrs Coll to decide the double chance, possibly by %.

If Bernards can pinch a couple of wins from a pretty tough next 5 weeks, they'll also pinch the last spot in the 4 with a nice looking last month.

DLS will be disappointed with an ordinary start but focus on holding onto a young list that will surely be thereabouts in the next few years. Another very very good under 19 crop at Dairy Bell.

UB's to officially signify the end of era that ended a long premiership drought. Coach might jump off a sinking ship.As Blacks surge it's only going to get harder for the students, but anyone with any interest in footy should be on hand to watch their first clash in many years next year.

Trinity to go to where they should be this year, and probly stay there for a couple at least. Their best players are on the wrong side of 30 and they have minimal in reserve.

Old Brighton 15 2 1 62
Old Xavs 14 4 0 56
Collegians 14 4 0 56
St Bernards 11 7 0 44

Old Ivanhoe 10 8 0 40
DLS 9 7 1 38
Uni Blues 7 11 0 28
Old Scotch 5 13 0 20
Old Trinity 4 14 0 16
Old Hailibury 0 18 0 0

no wrap on OI?

The way i see it there are 3 teams fighting for the second chance, OX, OB and OC. 3 more teams fighting for the last finals spot, STB, UB, OI. OH and OT are almost certain to be playing B grade next year and i know its early but OS and DLS are almost playing for the sake of it, shouldn't be relegated but no real shot at the finals. The last month will as always be cruical as teams make their run and anyone can beat anyone for survival/finals berth. I'm excited already!

De La beat Uni Blues by 23 points.

De La led from start to finish, finally four quarters were put together by the boys from dairy bell.

Nixon, Keely and Morell easily the best.

Dan Keely forget the U/23 side he should be in the main team, absolute star.

Tough day for the students, were only playing with 18 from the middle of the second quarter onwards - to their credit they did not give up.

Hopefully the director of umpiring was at the game yesterday as it was an absolute disgrace (both sides)

Can't believe how many gun forward Uni had out - didn't see Paton, De Crespigny or Lowcock. They had a first gamer who missed some sodas in th final stanza.
But full credit to De La - they are one of those sides who are good at shutting down gun sides. Kelly is an absolute gem (39 touches yesterday) and Morel should be in the state side. He is an angry man at having missed out to other blokes not fit to tie his shoelaces and it showed yesterday.
De La got Shields and Demetriou back - made a huge difference.

no wrap on OI?

Interestingly I have tipped OI as the only team to knock off OB in the run home. Think Chelsworth won't suit the beach boys. However Scotch have a tough next month so I'm tipping them to come out all guns firing at headquarters in Round 14 and provide somewhat of an upset to eliminate relegation once and for all. (Keep in mind this is purely based on my tips which are far from reliable, just opinions)

Think OI and St B's are the only 2 in the hunt for 4th. Reckon they both have the rest covered. They may be on level points late in the season and percentage could be crucial, interesting to note that the both have OT & OH in the last 3 weeks.

Your a peasant and your now showing big signs of being a muppet.

Jealous that our dads apparently provide mum with new cans... Is that because yours is supporting his 3 ex wives and 9 children along with their numerous drug and alcohol addictions?.... ouch!

Have a listen to you goose.... What there are no druggies come out of these private schools????? Thats where the problems are, all these young bucks who think they are superstars and can do what they want. My dad loves his 3 ex wives though.... unlike your gold digger mother!!!!

Do you think Old Haileybury might have spent too long celebrating their A Section premiership (and also beating one of the best teams of the past 25 years in Old Xaverians)? To me, this is a bit like when Collingwood won the flag in 1990. The Magpies celebrated far too long, and the following year, the Magpies never got going at all and narrowly missed the finals.

Has nothing to do with celebrating, half their club left, and now on Saturday their best player left ocver inKynan Ford played his last game as he is moving to Tasmania..OH are GAWNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN to C Section with a bullet.

Have a listen to you goose.... What there are no druggies come out of these private schools????? Thats where the problems are, all these young bucks who think they are superstars and can do what they want. My dad loves his 3 ex wives though.... unlike your gold digger mother!!!!
X, do us all a favor and contribute or pis s off.

now who is baiting who? hook line and sinker... now p!ss off back to under the slimy rock you came from...

OH definitely big sliders but does OS surprise anyone? I mean for a school that boast so much rich footy history should they have slid this far. But saying that the day OI played them on the Camberwell Cow Paddock their 19s kicked off the dew and boy there were some big boys that could play coming through!

OH definitely big sliders but does OS surprise anyone?

Not really they lost a substancial amount of players and that is really showing with the 2's results as well, the depth at the club has taken a pounding and when you get a few injuries it makes for a tough season

Old Xavs must be very disappointed with Mark Graham. He looks very disinterested when on the field.

Definitely not the sort of bloke that fits in to the Xavs culture, or even the Ammo culture in my opinion.

I think Xavs would be better off dropping him to the Crocs and giving somebody who actually wants to represent the club a go, maybe even a young kid.

Old Xavs must be very disappointed with Mark Graham. He looks very disinterested when on the field.

Definitely not the sort of bloke that fits in to the Xavs culture, or even the Ammo culture in my opinion.

I think Xavs would be better off dropping him to the Crocs and giving somebody who actually wants to represent the club a go, maybe even a young kid.

Spend a lot of time down at Old Xavs do you?