A Section A Section Amateur Football

It is not a 10 horse race when you have teams like Scotch, Ivanhoe and Trinity. They only make up the numbers in A grade and allow for an 18 round season. Nothing more.

Given that OX are at $1.33 aren't all other 9 teams making up the numbers.

Harsh call on OI, played finals in 2007 and weren't far off in 2006. Have had more of an affect in A Grade that Scotch OT and DLS in the last two years.

St.B.M. seem to be highly rated for a Virgin A gRade team.

UBlacks only beat OE in B Gade to get into A Grade, surely they are just making up the numbers.

Coll appear to hoping for the ex AFLS's to get them over the line.

OB, have they lost anyone?

Has the country delivered any players to Blues or have Blacks already poached them.

PS Monkeyboy. 30 posts on Bigfooty yesterday. Get a life.

Harsh call on OI, played finals in 2007 and weren't far off in 2006. Have had more of an affect in A Grade that Scotch OT and DLS in the last two years.

UBlacks only beat OE in B Gade to get into A Grade, surely they are just making up the numbers.

Has the country delivered any players to Blues or have Blacks already poached them.

uneducated post by Monkeyboy... hopefully he doesn't make a living out of bookmaking because they are shocking odds, not very well thought out...

I still think A Section would be competitive in 2008. I reckon the A Section premiership would come down to at least 3 teams-Old Xaverians, Old Brighton (would be better for the experience after playing in last year's grand final) and possibly Old Ivanhoe.

PS Is the VAFA making plans to show the A Section Grand Final again over the internet? What about on Channel 31 or the Aurora channel on Foxtel?

I still think A Section would be competitive in 2008. I reckon the A Section premiership would come down to at least 3 teams-Old Xaverians, Old Brighton (would be better for the experience after playing in last year's grand final) and possibly Old Ivanhoe.

PS Is the VAFA making plans to show the A Section Grand Final again over the internet? What about on Channel 31 or the Aurora channel on Foxtel?

Well if the VAFA think they can charge $15 to get into it to watch it at Sportscover, maybe they should beam it out on pay-TV. More interesting that the Green -v- Drews fight I'd venture.

At least it would maintain a consistent approach.

Jase - who would win in a nude mud wrestle between boundary riders? Brad Beitzel or Ross Booth? I reckon Rosco would play dirty.

Well if the VAFA think they can charge $15 to get into it to watch it at Sportscover, maybe they should beam it out on pay-TV. More interesting that the Green -v- Drews fight I'd venture.

Jase - who would win in a nude mud wrestle between boundary riders? Brad Beitzel or Ross Booth? I reckon Rosco would play dirty.

i'd prefer to see tiff cherry and christie malthouse go at it...

Just a bit of fun mate. You to Chelsworth. Trying to create some comment. Have a few people talk up a few teams. Been very quiet on this thread.
Thanks for taking an interest in my posting habits Max. My life is ok at present. No concerns from here

jas.. it seems your keen to spend your summer looking up things about football, so i was wondering, could you give me a brief detail of every registered player in A grade for 2007? things such as height, weight, age, preferred kicking foot, preferred position and a rough 100m sprint time? and if you have enough time, rate them out of 10 for the following key attributes, marking, ball handling, kicking, goal scoring, disposal effectiveness and hard ball gets. but only if you have time of course..

I'll be sure to check them upon my return from an east coast surf trip..

Merry Christmas!

EDIT: i think i might be asking just a little too much, and it is christmas after all and im in good spirits.. so just list every player that played over 10 games for 2007 and not every registered... if you have time of course..

This question is very worrying how on earth would something like this come into someones head. Its time to come outta the closet.

The entry charges to E-Park are an utter joke. $15 plus car parking is not what i would call a fair price for an ammo footy match, even if it is a GF.

Correct me if i'm but the two competing clubs get 3/5th's of bugger all out of the gate receipts don't they?

Some very very good De La players are going to jump ship and play for an SFL side. What a sad indictment this is of the current state of affairs. If you're a good player getting our 800 a game in the EFL or chancing your luck in he VFL, then good luck to you. But if you jump ship for a year or two to play with these SFL deadbeats and renegades, then you are a traitor and a scumbag. And if you helped implement a rule which allows this, then you have blood on your hands.

Do you know which club they are headed to mate???

And just on the 'SFL deadbeat thing'.....Whilst the SFL isnt up to A grade VAFA level (only the EFL matches up with that) it is comparable with B/C Grade so its not that bad. Granted there are a few clubs at the bottom end of Div 1 that struggle big time but the top four sides would all be quiet handy in B grade.

Also, no one involved with the SFL ever slags off the Ammo's so i dont understand why there is such a chip on the shoulder the other way.....or is it the 'White Collar Old Boys' Mentality coming out???

Yeah well fair enough. Not sure whether "no one involved with the SFL ever slags off the Ammos" or what a "white collar mentality" is though. It's just very disheartening to see players from our once grand comp being lured to the murky environs of suburban footy. It's know it's happened for years but not as this rate. I hope the guys involved, who are all guns, enjoy their footy as this level.

Its just that alot of the people I know that are involved with the Ammos feel that they are above local footy leagues (especially the SFL) so thats where the White Collar part came from. There has been plenty of juniors at SFL clubs that have been lured to VAFA clubs so it does go both ways. Shits happens i reckon, you just have to move on.

If what your saying is true, its disheartening for sure. You should want to play the highest level possibly and in their case that would staying at De La but the power of the almighty dollar is very appealing to some people, especially if they are being offered way over what they are worth.

Can you tell us which club they are going to?? My money would be on St Kilda City or East Brighton......

My thoughts are (and I don't know if anyone would agree with me) is that seeing the SFL can't beat us at rep footy, they may try another way of getting level or even being ahead of the VAFA by adopting a tactic, which is simple-poach or lure the best VAFA players with an offer they couldn't refuse.I suspect the SFL clubs told their recruting staffs to get VAFA players whatever it cost to get them to play in the SFL. I reckon the 'Sholly rule' could be to blame for this incident. I can assure you of one thing: if those players want to come back to VAFA football, then they have to repair a lot of burned bridges with not just the club they left behind, but the VAFA in general. I understand that several SFL talent scouts were seen at last year's A Section GF, with a misson in mind to try to get VAFA players to come to the SFL-right under the very noses of the VAFA at VAFA HQ. So where was Michael Sholly, Jeremy Bourke, Nick Bourke during this time?

For SFL clubs its not about being better than the VAFA, that will never happen, we have our thing you have yours. Both leagues are totally different in their styles of footy. Firstly I SFL clubs dont have recruiting departments, most clubs leave that up to the senior coach. Clubs are always on the lookout for new players but i really doubt that their sole attention would be on the VAFA. Historically good VAFA players dont always make good SFL players due to the difference in style of play and the size of grounds.
Jas, you need not worry, the SFL isnt here to pillage and rape VAFA clubs of their players (at least the majority of us arent). We look forward to attempting to finally beat your B-D team if interleague goes ahead. We are well overdue!!

Jason, you are one seriously paranoid dude. As a coach I'll fill you in on something, as soon as my clubs season finished I, like most other coaches have been scopeing the footy landscape for players who may be looking for greener pastures and a new start at a new club. Why? because we want to win flags. Some blokes see a greener pasture as some extra mula in their pockets, some see an opening in a position they'd prefer to play. It differs from bloke to bloke and I agree that the "Sholly" rule hasn't helped VAFA clubs keep better players but to say the SFL are sending their clubs out to deliberately raid VAFA clubs so they can win some Rep games is laughable!

I have just been browsing through a copy of the 2007 VAFA Annual Report. There was one thing that got me interested , which is the number of teams and participants (ie players)playing in each comp in metropolitian Melbourne, which I reproduce below:

COMPETITION NUMBER OF TEAMS PERCENTAGE

VAFA 231 42%
EASTERN FL 82 15%
NORTHERN FL 68 12%
SOUTHERN FL 54 10%
ESSENDON FL 48 9%
WESTERN REGION FL 44 8%
RIDDELL FL 20 4%

Another set of stats from the Annual Report also was interesting, which showed the increase in team numbers at each comp in Melbourne over the last 4 years, which is reproduced here:

COMPETITON 2003 2007 DIFFERENCE

VAFA 211 231 +20
EASTERN FL 78 82 +4
NORTHERN FL 72 68 -4
SOUTHERN FL 56 54 -2
WESTERN REGION FL 46 44 -2
ESSENDON FL 44 48 +4
RIDDELL FL 20 20 0

I have just been browsing through a copy of the 2007 VAFA Annual Report. There was one thing that got me interested , which is the number of teams and participants (ie players)playing in each comp in metropolitian Melbourne, which I reproduce below:

COMPETITION NUMBER OF TEAMS PERCENTAGE

VAFA 231 42%
EASTERN FL 82 15%
NORTHERN FL 68 12%
SOUTHERN FL 54 10%
ESSENDON FL 48 9%
WESTERN REGION FL 44 8%
RIDDELL FL 20 4%

Another set of stats from the Annual Report also was interesting, which showed the increase in team numbers at each comp in Melbourne over the last 4 years, which is reproduced here:

COMPETITON 2003 2007 DIFFERENCE

VAFA 211 231 +20
EASTERN FL 78 82 +4
NORTHERN FL 72 68 -4
SOUTHERN FL 56 54 -2
WESTERN REGION FL 46 44 -2
ESSENDON FL 44 48 +4
RIDDELL FL 20 20 0

Yeah and Brisbane has 18 horses per race month in month in month out but they're all crap (well most of them). Numbers are just numbers Jase and the best PR man in the business couldn't hide the fact that A and B Section football is in serious decline.

Too much negativity from me recently. I'll be brimming with positivity henceforth!

PS: And I reckon everyone is a bit harsh when they keep calling it the "Sholly Rule". Surely it was the brainchild of the Board as a whole?