Play Nice Adam Goodes

Personally I found the dance quite terrifying. Don't get me wrong, I am a big supporter of the indigenous round and Aborigines in general. I adore the native styled guernsey, and the pretty dot things. I even collect Aboriginal art from charming artists in remote localities (which I donate to the National Gallery for tax purposes). I like "Adam", though I don't know him personally and think he was a servicible Australian of the year (but not as deserving as Rosie Battie). But when he reacted to someone likening him to an animal I started to doubt whether he was, as his name might suggest, good at all. How would a 13 year old girl even know that it is wrong to be racist? I didn't know until an incident at a party when I was 35. And now the dance. Well, it was just...so...Aboriginal. I mean did he have to do something so cultural? It scared me because I thought I was just watching Australian football, you know, listening to Bruce and Wayne, having a cup of tea, feeling quite safe, and then, all of a sudden there was a real Aboriginal person expressing cultural pride right there in front of me. I thought they were just down and out but good at art and football? It frightens me to think they might actually be proud of their heritage. What does this mean for me?
took me a while to get you but nice haha

For those who missed the wiki edits:

http://i.imgur.com/vWkPwdN.jpg
vWkPwdN.jpg

To Swans supporters- this is racism.

Booing him is not.

Bunk is right, there are a number of issues across the social welfare policy space that need serious reform but policy makers just don't seem able or willing to face up to the problems their policies are causing. The media doesn't help has it only ever focused on the mickey mouse stories of bludgers and rorters rather than focusing on the real issues which are costing the community not just economically but socially as well.

Just like the Haka has sheer anger and aggression on the faces of those doing it. The facial expressions are a part of the dance/cry
The Haka is aimed at the opposing team NOT the general public.

If the All-Blacks faced the general rugby public in France, Ireland, England etc with a war dance it would not go down well.

This has set new ground. I'm not a Goodes basher, he's had to put up with a lot and does great work with the reconciliation movement but this is all a little bit too convenient. The AFL has an obligation to ensure that all football patrons are offered a safe and respectful experience.

The reverse doesn't apply because the context of history just doesn't apply.

Honestly, I think he would have been fine had he done it at the other end of the ground (you'd still have people calling him a flog for celebrating in a thumping), but meh.

As for Bachar, sure, go for it - I for one wouldn't have a clue what that would entail, but I'd be interested to know.

I wouldn't have a problem if Bachar performed a traditional arabic war dance but in reality would it be taken the same way as what Goodes did?

Gil had come out and say we need to stop booing him. Get over it precious. Like he is the only player that gets booed.
Will get booed by every club from now on and the whinging sook will get even more precious.

I can't save the whole world, you are right. But if I can save one person in my little corner of the world, I've done my job.
Glad you realize no one cares about your opinion and no one cares about mine. These are all just wasted key strokes.

It seems Adam Goodes could not only kill Bambi, but sit in the middle of the SCG and eat Bambi and people would still defend him.

Funny how the media are saying they will hold comment till they get the full story. Didn't stop them or some posters last week.

At what point will people see who the common denominator here and release the bloke is just a goose. It's always all about Adam!

"oh it was just a proud celebration?" "just representing?" "well why did he have to represent at the other teams fans?"

haha who f***ing cares. are people suggesting he was threatening them ffs. He didn't have a bloody spear.

The Haka is aimed at the opposing team NOT the general public.

If the All-Blacks faced the general rugby public in France, Ireland, England etc with a war dance it would not go down well.

This has set new ground. I'm not a Goodes basher, he's had to put up with a lot and does great work with the reconciliation movement but this is all a little bit too convenient. The AFL has an obligation to ensure that all football patrons are offered a safe and respectful experience.

So are you insinuating that due to his facial expressions, and that it was directed at the crowd, it wasn't pre-meditated?