Play Nice Adam Goodes

Thankfully you screen capped it so the dick who did it gets more promotion for their bullshit :rolleyes:
Easy enough for me to delete, however when people claim the issue isn't racism, but it's that they don't like Goodes as a person or player, then it's much harder to make such an argument when the ugly proof is available and staring you in the face.

I said early, we don't know why he did the dance, it may just be an expression of pride and celebration.

The outpouring of fury and racism, both subtle and open is a great example of why the points goodes has made in the past are valid. Ugly episode.

Personally I found the dance quite terrifying. Don't get me wrong, I am a big supporter of the indigenous round and Aborigines in general. I adore the native styled guernsey, and the pretty dot things. I even collect Aboriginal art from charming artists in remote localities (which I donate to the National Gallery for tax purposes). I like "Adam", though I don't know him personally and think he was a servicible Australian of the year (but not as deserving as Rosie Battie). But when he reacted to someone likening him to an animal I started to doubt whether he was, as his name might suggest, good at all. How would a 13 year old girl even know that it is wrong to be racist? I didn't know until an incident at a party when I was 35. And now the dance. Well, it was just...so...Aboriginal. I mean did he have to do something so cultural? It scared me because I thought I was just watching Australian football, you know, listening to Bruce and Wayne, having a cup of tea, feeling quite safe, and then, all of a sudden there was a real Aboriginal person expressing cultural pride right there in front of me. I thought they were just down and out but good at art and football? It frightens me to think they might actually be proud of their heritage. What does this mean for me?

Just boo him mate. All good - don't worry about it.

It seems Adam Goodes could not only kill Bambi, but sit in the middle of the SCG and eat Bambi and people would still defend him.

Funny how the media are saying they will hold comment till they get the full story. Didn't stop them or some posters last week.

At what point will people see who the common denominator here and release the bloke is just a goose. It's always all about Adam!
"if you could just keep your pride in your people to yourself, that'd be great"

Jesus. The New Zealand Rugby team do it every ******* game.

I think the original post had a little sarcasm.

But when the haka is done it's directed at the opposition team before the game, not at the supporters.

I think we can all be a bit precious, and sportspeople have to deal with a lot of crap from crowds, so it's understandable when they show a human reaction. But it would be good if goodes admitted that it was a human moment, and maybe shouldn't have been directed at opposition fans.

Exactly. He aggressively charged towards the Carlton supporters. Some of the people in that section were young girls looking terrified.

It's not a good look.

Even Dermie, sitting in the studio found it a bit scary, this says something.

On the dance, Fox showed the team who started it and their dance was a lot less aggressive.

So are you insinuating that due to his facial expressions, and that it was directed at the crowd, it wasn't pre-meditated?
The dance itself may have been pre-meditated but I'm not convinced of the motivation behind it when he aimed it at the Carlton cheer squad in such a manner.

I wouldn't have a problem if Bachar performed a traditional arabic war dance but in reality would it be taken the same way as what Goodes did?

Gil had come out and say we need to stop booing him. Get over it precious. Like he is the only player that gets booed.
Will get booed by every club from now on and the whinging sook will get even more precious.

Probably not, but I'm not sure in the current landscape it'd be taken any better.

Gil coming out and saying that was the absolute worst thing that could have happened (in terms of stopping the booing). Personally I have no issues with booing - fill your boots (and you can check my posting history from years ago on this, pre-Goodes booing-mania). I used to laugh when people would come on here and say "my team doesn't do that" - at least that idiocy isn't occurring any more.

I'm happy with it - it takes all the focus and spotlight away from our other players - and Goodes is big enough to handle it.

Sad how the small minded can take the actions of 1% of the population as proof that 99% of us are racists and bigots :rolleyes:

Glad you realize no one cares about your opinion and no one cares about mine. These are all just wasted key strokes.
Nope. One person somewhere might read this and think... you know she's right. We should be standing up alongside our indigenous brothers and sisters. They shouldn't be fighting this alone.

I think the original post had a little sarcasm.

But when the haka is done it's directed at the opposition team before the game, not at the supporters.

I think we can all be a bit precious, and sportspeople have to deal with a lot of crap from crowds, so it's understandable when they show a human reaction. But it would be good if goodes admitted that it was a human moment, and maybe shouldn't have been directed at opposition fans.
It's directed at any challengers, since it's a challenge.

They do it at schools, at ceremonies and there are many different haka. The crowd have even done it before, and I have seen local games where the teams are facing towards the crowd.

Sick of hearing who I should and shouldn't like. The AFL expect to rort me for my hard earned but think they have the right to tell me I can't boo a player, something that has gone on in every sport in the world forever. It's either stop or I'm a racist I guess.

Easy enough for me to delete, however when people claim the issue isn't racism, but it's that they don't like Goodes as a person or player, then it's much harder to make such an argument when the ugly proof is available and staring you in the face.

I said early, we don't know why he did the dance, it may just be an expression of pride and celebration.

The outpouring of fury and racism, both subtle and open is a great example of why the points goodes has made in the past are valid. Ugly episode.

Please don't be so idiotic as to conflate actual, reasonable criticisms of Adam Goodes, with an obvious troll edit to his wikipedia page.

I don't mind seeing different goal celebrations, would love to see our Irish boys bring out the jigs when they kick goals.

To be honest, I don't mind Adam speaking out. I wish more women would speak out about how being female is portrayed - if a player squibs a contest, he's a "pussy", if a player sooks he's told to "stop being a girl". Why is being female seen as being so negative?

It just means we have to think twice about what we yell over the fence. I have no problem with booing every so often (just ask Jay Schultz, Jack Riewoldt, Jared Polec, Matthew Pavlich, and Lindsay Thomas. Can't stand any of them) just be careful what you say. Although I do have a problem with people jumping the gun, I called out "DUCK!" against Sydney one game and my mother ripped me a new one, even though it WAS a ducked tackle that the umpire missed and I didn't see anything racist about it.

Although I'd like Adam Goodes more if he'd have a bad game against Joel Patfull though...

wut

Bunk is right, there are a number of issues across the social welfare policy space that need serious reform but policy makers just don't seem able or willing to face up to the problems their policies are causing. The media doesn't help has it only ever focused on the mickey mouse stories of bludgers and rorters rather than focusing on the real issues which are costing the community not just economically but socially as well.

Fortunately Bomber supporters are here to save Australia