Traded Adam Saad [traded to Carlton with #48 and #78 for #8 and #87]

Who won this trade?

• Essendon

Votes: 10 34.5%
  • Carlton

Votes: 19 65.5%

Um, not literally never. Chick cost pick #8.

Wow, biggest straw clutch ever? Reminds me of the poster who tried to use Burgoyne as a baseline example.

When was Chick a running, small defender? Could have sworn he was a defensive mid/utility who started his career as a forward.

And if Carlton offered Williams the same deal as GWS he would be odds on to stay. It’s been reported that our offer was $800k with incentives to get to $900k. So why wouldn’t we offer an extra $50-100k to get him over, especially considering we have banked cap space that will evaporate if not used. We can front load Williams Salary slightly so that the remaining years are closer to $700k. It’s not that hard of a concept to grasp. Apparently it is for some in this thread though.
It’ll be considerably front loaded so will Saad. Oliver comes out if contract in 2021. Murphy retires. Money everywhere.

Can I hurt a few peoples feelings here

If I was Essendon id ask for Nic Newman in the deal + 1st rounder and be happy knowing that I got the best player out of it in Nic Newman
Newman will be lucky to be on a list beyond 2021.

I get a grasp. You are trying to fill positions on a team irregardless of cost. If we made a movie it would the opposite of Moneyball, maybe Gambleball. Lets spend 900k on a midfielder whose never played as a midfielder and 700k on a player we want to get for a 2nd rounder despite being in the weak position on the trade table

Common sense approach would be

750k on Williams to replace Simpson
600k on Crouch to be a accumulator
Pick 7 on a midfielder with good foot skills
If you have a grasp, you aren't showing it. Irregardless? *shudders*

It's not $900k for Williams. Stop falling for the media rubbish. You also might want to go back through this thread prior to him being linked to Carlton and prior to any offers being reported and see how much opposition fans rated him and what they would have been willing to throw at him. As soon as he's linked to Carlton and media start reporting numbers, all of a sudden he's not worth it and Carlton are overpaying. It's predictable and tiresome.
Never played mid? See, you don't know what you're talking about. It's been limited, but he has played mid at GWS and been pretty damn good when he has. Twice got 10 clearances.

It's also not $700k for Saad. $3m over 5 years. Explain your rationale for Carlton being in a weak position in the Saad trade?
We already have Docherty and Newman in the backline. While Williams is better than Newman, playing him down back would be more of the same. Saad offers a different skill set.

Not sure why you're so desperate to push Crouch on us. He's not what we're after, as evidenced by the fact that we didn't really chase him.

As for your suggestion on pick 7, I'm assuming you mean through the draft? We have already hit the draft hard in previous years. It has been well publicised that we will now be targeting free agents and trades to fill areas of need. Williams is a mid with good foot skills. He's seasoned and can offer immediate support for Cripps/Walsh. We also have developing players to come in. Kemp, O'Brien, Stocker. Saad coming in releases SPS to play up the ground more. Fisher and Cuningham didn't play the full season this year. Williamson can push up to a wing and has great foot skills. Another year into Setterfield who is tracking nicely.

I reckon the list management team have a better grasp of our needs and the best way to acquire them. Strangely, it doesn't match yours.

Obviously I meant Geelong trade for Mihocek and then trade him to GWS. Like how hard is that to figure out as a concept mate?
Re. Geelong trading for Cameron. 'obviously', Geelong trade in Mihocek first then ontrade him....just admit it mate.

Still think Mihocek is the player for GWS here.

Pick 13 + 15 + Mihocek is the obvious deal

Brad hill traded at 23 to the hawks for a second rounder. At 26 (turning 27) was traded to the saints forpick 10, acres, future second 2nd and 4th.

Carlton better pray it’s only pick 9 or whatever this pick is 😁
Three time premiership player being offered $900k a year Brad Hill? Is that the Brad Hill you are comparing him to?
This Brad Hill?
1604279483462.png

It was like a 1 line post of what GWS end result should be. Not the entire details of the whole trade. Like I think I know Mihocek plays for Collingwood man...
Then when you had an opportunity to give more information, you said this:

You literally played Cameron in the role Mihocek is best suited to and that is the lead up HF role last year. Its a good like for like swap

I get a grasp. You are trying to fill positions on a team irregardless of cost. If we made a movie it would the opposite of Moneyball, maybe Gambleball. Lets spend 900k on a midfielder whose never played as a midfielder and 700k on a player we want to get for a 2nd rounder despite being in the weak position on the trade table

Common sense approach would be

750k on Williams to replace Simpson
600k on Crouch to be a accumulator
Pick 7 on a midfielder with good foot skills

Your input is most welcome.

It would, however, be more valuable if you had the foggiest idea. Williams has a plenty of exposed form as a midfielder, and it's been very impressive. You clearly haven't seen it, so perhaps keep your criticism to yourself until you have.

And wadda you know? The most impressive parts have been his pace, vision, decision making and foot skills. And it comes at salary cost only. Tick, tick.

Cap space is not terribly relevant if you have heaps of it. Carlton does have.

Draft currency is far more valuable than $$, unless you've done a Collingwood and screwed the pooch with cap management.

And Crouch offers nothing we want. Literally nothing.

Your input is most welcome.

It would, however, be more valuable if you had the foggiest idea. Williams has a plenty of exposed form as a midfielder, and it's been very impressive. You clearly haven't seen it, so perhaps keep your criticism to yourself until you have.

And wadda you know? The most impressive parts have been his pace, vision, decision making and foot skills. And it comes at salary cost only. Tick, tick.

Crouch offers nothing we want. Literally nothing.

Cap space is not terribly relevant if you have heaps of it. Carlton does have.

Draft currency is far more valuable than $$, unless you've done a Collingwood and screwed the pooch with cap management.

Name me the best midfield game Williams had this year?

His most impressive parts are his half back flank abilities from what I can see. Vision, decision making and foot skills are not gonna help when he is getting pounded in the midfield.

Crouch offers Patrick Cripps protection and a Curnow replacement.

Cap space is always relevant. Collingwood had heaps of it too, spent it on Chris Mayne, Travis Varcoe and Levi Greenwood and look how well that has worked out

Draft currency is far more valuable then $$, hence offering insane wages to a bloke and THEN giving up your draft currency makes no sense. You do 1 or the other, with Saad you are giving up both. It makes no sense and is poor list management

I think you are underrating Saad a bit, but they absolutely do not command that kind of price... literally ever.

I am actually surprised even for BF that amount of drivel I've read in here. For some reason, some people seem to think Essendon hold all the cards, which is weird given he is OoC and that just isn't how it works. Especially not when it's been reported he is comfortable entering the draft. Nobody has even attempted to give any reason at all why Carlton would pay the highest price ever for an OoC, HBFer ever. Weird.
I rate saad. I really wanted him when he left gold Coast. But some essendon fans think he is worth close to what we paid for Lachie Neale and no essendon fans I don't have the time to go back and quote but you know there are people wanting a first round and second for an uncontracted hbf'er.

Fwiw id be more then happy to give up our pick 18 for him.

Traded Adam Saad [traded to Carlton with #48 and #78 for #8 and #87]