Coach Adam Simpson Megathread est. 2017 - Staying for 2024, Lyon’s Cryin’

Will Simpson be Head Coach at WCE in 2024

Simmo has been the head coach of this club for the following recent events:
2020 - Complete lack of effort whilst in the hubs.
2021 - Fractures within the club resulting in again, a lack of overall effort and committment, leading to a call for unity at the end of the year.
2022 - Players returning in a state considered to be underdone stated by Shuey when asked at the start of the year.

I completely agree with the point of view that it's currently too expensive to sack Simmo but to sit here and say that Simmo has done a great job over the past 4 years at the club is inaccurate.

The fact that I still have to watch someone as athletic as Josh Rotham get side stepped by a 200cm key forward, shows the effort these players are putting in. We're generally a soft side that doesn't put in repeat efforts, tackle and win the ball back off our opponents and haven't for the better part of three years. There were some green shoots starting to appear at the start of this year with some admirable losses but that level of effort was never going to be sustained by this group.

Their development coach is Jacob Brennon who was an even worse player than they are? What is he going to teach them? Again jobs for the boys instead of getting the best in the country.
There's also nisbett's son. It is a boys club. We need merit based recruitment.

On SM-G998B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Simmo has been the head coach of this club for the following recent events:
2020 - Complete lack of effort whilst in the hubs.
2021 - Fractures within the club resulting in again, a lack of overall effort and commitment, leading to a call for unity at the end of the year.
2022 - Players returning in a state considered to be underdone stated by Shuey when asked at the start of the year.

I completely agree with the point of view that it's currently too expensive to sack Simmo but to sit here and say that Simmo has done a great job over the past 4 years at the club is inaccurate.

The fact that I still have to watch someone as athletic as Josh Rotham get side stepped by a 200cm key forward, shows the effort these players are putting in. We're generally a soft side that doesn't put in repeat efforts, tackle and win the ball back off our opponents and haven't for the better part of three years. There were some green shoots starting to appear at the start of this year with some admirable losses but that level of effort was never going to be sustained by this group.
The whole club is complacent sitting on the past achievements where as the competition has passed us by, look at Collingwood which sharp recruitments, a new clever coach they are firing, yes they got the Daicos boys but still they have recruited well over the past 3 years. We have regressed horribly over the past 4 years. Still all started at the end of 2019 where due our arrogance we did not invest in the draft and overestimated our list.

Watching yesterday it was bizarre how easily Hawthorn went from defence to scoring. I was left wondering was this because we weren't trying or just not good enough. I decided I wanted it to be we weren't trying. Because I don't know how you can have so many AFL listed players who are not at AFL standard.

I don't know whether it's the coach or the whole football department but someone has trashed the playing list. It must be close to the point now even if Simpson is able to turn things around by end of 2025 it will be a thanks, but no thanks to offering him any further contracts.

Which coach are we going to employ to get the 'full potential' out of the team that played yesterday?

FB
[42] Harry Edwards,[33] Rhett Bazzo,[14] Liam Duggan

HB
[23] Alex Witherden,[35] Josh Rotham,[5] Jayden Hunt

C
[19] Brady Hough,[4] Dom Sheed,[31] Jamaine Jones

HF
[44] Noah Long,[2] Jake Waterman,[24] Xavier O'Neill

FF
[21] Jack Petruccelle,[12] Oscar Allen,[40] Callum Jamieson

FOL
[32] Bailey J. Williams,[11] Tim Kelly,[3] Andrew Gaff

IC
[7] Reuben Ginbey,[18] Campbell Chesser,[29] Luke Foley,[36] Connor West

b09ec4b772a0100f5c40b0abef2ebc27cf9c600c-16x9-x1y0w2446h1376.jpg

By the time Sumich is done with them we would have 40 on the injury list. 22 with injuries and the other 18 with mental health injuries from being verbally abused for hours on end

Which coach are we going to employ to get the 'full potential' out of the team that played yesterday?

FB

HB

C

HF

FF

FOL

IC
16 of the 22 are only what would be kept in honesty. and that's not saying every player kept is best 22 either.
(at least not yet).

Can we forfeit the rest of the season?

Actual question.

Just cop a fine and give the guys a rest and recover.

We ain't winning anything so why bother.

I think there's a rule:

"if play is not able to be commenced or if the General Manager - Football
Operations or other person designated by him determines that the Match should
not commence as provided in Regulation 31.3(b), the Match shall be deemed
to be forfeited and the Premiership Points awarded to the Club whose team was
positioned to commence play at that time (or in the case of a Pre-Season
Competition Match the Club whose team was positioned to commence play at
that time will be declared the winner of the Match). The percentage of each
Club shall also be adjusted by attributing the average winning score from the
relevant round of Matches to the Club awarded the Premiership Points and the
average losing score from the relevant round of Matches to the Club which
forfeited the Match. Forfeiture shall be in addition to any other sanction
contained in these Regulations."

Would be funny.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

I too cannot wait for this season to end and often think whats the f'n point but we have a deal with Optus - lots of $$ involved with a sliding scale on attendance. One of the many reasons we can't forfeit the season.

Will be interesting to see what numbers we get for the rest of the season, I'm heading to the Essendon game only because its in the landing (ironically with my engineering mate) but yeah the rest of the season could be pretty dire for all parties concerned

This is it - I get the frustration but we are putting historically bad teams on the field and there's just not much a coach can do.

Fix up the S&C and get some decent picks/free agents in the team and reassess at the end of this contract.

But it’s more than just as S & C.

All footy operations have to be interrogated - list management has been sub-par for a long time too.

Long & big contracts, allowing players to extend a year when they were clearly cooked, recruiting mediocre players coz they wanted to come home, medical staff and so on.

He’ll even socials and membership needed a kick - socials have i proved this year it must be said.

We’ll start to see some action when crowd numbers fall below that magical figure when catering and ground contract thresholds are not met.

If the wheels continue to fall off - we will no be able to retain recruits. Part of our retention has been assisted by being competitive - not competitive and players will get restless.

BTW - IMO walking Simmo is the simple act. I’m not sure Simmo is the problem, he’s the easy target.

Clubs gunna have to grow some balls and make critical decisions.

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app

You know a good coach doesn’t necessarily have to have been a good player, right?

Brennan was colts coach at East Fremantle when they got Jackson, Rivers, Ruscoe, Warner, Sharp etc drafted. I’d think that was a reasonable resume for a development coach.
Yeah true, but with less than 30 AFL games of experience himself how does he know what it takes to develop into a consistent AFL player? To keep improving after 50,100 and 150 games.
It makes sense he knew what he was doing at colts level as he successfully developed himself through colts and got onto an AFL list. Just seems like another example for jobs for the boys and now we are in full blown rebuild mode I would argue that development coach is more important than ever so why not get the absolute best there is.

16 of the 22 are only what would be kept in honesty. and that's not saying every player kept is best 22 either.
(at least not yet).
Agreed. And many of the others wouldn't be playing AFL yet under normal circumstances.

As much as we all miss Crazy Vozzo, I think it will be a blessing that he's moved on elsewhere. We should replace the CEO with someone from outside the club with a completely different perspective. Now I don't know if Vozzo has taken another role to get that perspective before coming back to save us, but when Trev gets the boot I'd like the successor to come from outside the four walls, as they say.

Yeah true, but with less than 30 AFL games of experience himself how does he know what it takes to develop into a consistent AFL player? To keep improving after 50,100 and 150 games.
It makes sense he knew what he was doing at colts level as he successfully developed himself through colts and got onto an AFL list. Just seems like another example for jobs for the boys and now we are in full blown rebuild mode I would argue that development coach is more important than ever so why not get the absolute best there is.
I think the answer to this is understanding what a development coach actually does (which I don't really know the answer to). My assumption is they are the rung below the assistants that work with you one on one to improve your game. Younger players get/need more time than experienced players.

Coaching is also a specialised skill. An average player can be a good coach as they can still understand the game/skills (but not quite have the elite physical attributes which held them back).

As much as we all miss Crazy Vozzo, I think it will be a blessing that he's moved on elsewhere. We should replace the CEO with someone from outside the club with a completely different perspective. Now I don't know if Vozzo has taken another role to get that perspective before coming back to save us, but when Trev gets the boot I'd like the successor to come from outside the four walls, as they say.
He's the CEO of Bombers and started this year. There's no reason to return unless he's about to get the sack.

But it’s more than just as S & C.

All footy operations have to be interrogated - list management has been sub-par for a long time too.

Long & big contracts, allowing players to extend a year when they were clearly cooked, recruiting mediocre players coz they wanted to come home, medical staff and so on.

He’ll even socials and membership needed a kick - socials have i proved this year it must be said.

We’ll start to see some action when crowd numbers fall below that magical figure when catering and ground contract thresholds are not met.

If the wheels continue to fall off - we will no be able to retain recruits. Part of our retention has been assisted by being competitive - not competitive and players will get restless.

BTW - IMO walking Simmo is the simple act. I’m not sure Simmo is the problem, he’s the easy target.

Clubs gunna have to grow some balls and make critical decisions.

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app
list management has been sub-par for a long time too.
Perhaps the most generous statement of 2023.

I think the answer to this is understanding what a development coach actually does (which I don't really know the answer to). My assumption is they are the rung below the assistants that work with you one on one to improve your game. Younger players get/need more time than experienced players.

Coaching is also a specialised skill. An average player can be a good coach as they can still understand the game/skills (but not quite have the elite physical attributes which held them back).
At AFL level coaches refine and guide tallent and build team play. We recruited over 10 + years players without the required ability - you cannot teach pace, footy IQ etc. You recruit it then coach it.

The scale of yesterday's disaster was mostly on the poor list management and development from the past 6-8 years. The injuries and illness probably guaranteed a loss but those failures turned it into that catastrophe.

I think the club has addressed some of those things now but the fact is it took years too long to clean itself up off field and is now paying the price. In my view, that's on the CEO more than the coach. Add to that the incredibly stale administration in terms of fan/membership initiatives, self-inflicted damage from too-cute weird media strategies, and things like the complete lack of effort to establish marquee games for years. Getting rid of Simmo would be an expensive mess which would at best paper over the real issues.

At AFL level coaches refine and guide tallent and build team play. We recruited over 10 + years players without the required ability - you cannot teach pace, footy IQ etc. You recruit it then coach it.

This.
Players get drafted because they are good footballers. The problem we have is we have drafted players that are not very good footballers thinking we can turn them into footballers.
You either can or you can't and unfortunately we have recruited many that simply can't. Won't matter what development coach we had it will not of changed the outcome.

FB

HB

C

HF

FF

FOL

IC

Again, I reckon more than a few people are missing the point...

I get it... we didn't put a team of superstars on the park. Everyone understands that. It's not like we have a potential premiership winning team that is failing to click. There are deep, deep list problems.

But almost every single player on the park yesterday performed way below their ability levels. Bar maybe Sheed and Witherden... possibly Kelly. We were pantsed pretty much everywhere.

When players are consistently playing below their potential, don't the coaches start to wear the blame?

This.
Players get drafted because they are good footballers. The problem we have is we have drafted players that are not very good footballers thinking we can turn them into footballers.
You either can or you can't and unfortunately we have recruited many that simply can't. Won't matter what development coach we had it will not of changed the outcome.

Every team has these players on their list. Most are never forced to play them.

Is Harry Barnett the only player on our list who hasn't either gotten a game or been injured?

Ever heard of Pat Contin? Harrison Wigg? Dean Gore? I'm just coming up with names of blokes who got drafted, some highly rated, who never played AFL. There are hundreds more. There are 5-6 non-AFL standard players on every single list minimum. Most no-one has heard of, its just that ours are actually playing.

Heaven help the competition if a 19th team does eventually come in.