Coach Adam Simpson Megathread est. 2017 - Staying for 2024, Lyon’s Cryin’

Will Simpson be Head Coach at WCE in 2024

I have posted up this or very similar list a number of times over the years.

Our recruiting and development have been woeful.

We completely missed the memo on the emerging athletic profile required to play the game.

Look at that list of names and Venables is maybe the only one who had a chance of developing into a modern player with both burst speed, strength and endurance in equal measure. And the guy had a leather allergy.

Anyone with a hint of exceptional athletic potential has always come with a caveat - Cavka, Petch, Lamb.

Allen and Ryan are the only 2 names on that list that are A grade talents. 2 hits on top talent in a decade is just not good enough.

We recruited plodders and developed them into timid plodders.

Now we reap what we sowed.

We completely missed the memo on the emerging athletic profile required to play the game.

Look at that list of names and Venables is maybe the only one who had a chance of developing into a modern player with both burst speed, strength and endurance in equal measure. And the guy had a leather allergy.

Anyone with a hint of exceptional athletic potential has always come with a caveat - Cavka, Petch, Lamb.

Allen and Ryan are the only 2 names on that list that are A grade talents. 2 hits on top talent in a decade is just not good enough.

It makes the decision making on the Tim Kelly trade even harder to swallow. They knew at that point that what they had brought through the door in the last 8 years wasnt going to pay the bills in the medium to long term, yet they traded there way out of the next 2 drafts thinking we were in the middle of some sort of dynasty. A swing and miss that's set the rebuild back heavily.

They were pretty bullish on the the 2017 and 2018 trade hauls. Venables, Rotham, Rioli, Waterman, Brander, Allen, Ryan, Ainsworth, Petruccelle. Some of them were busts, Venables was unlucky and Rioli was terminally stupid. The fact that Venables, Rioli, Ryan, Cole from the 2015 draft, Duggan from 2014, Sheed and Barrass from 2013 played in the flag with Allen and some of the others in the wings made it seem like there was the core of a young side to support Kelly and the veterans.

I'm sure old mate who supposedly works at the club will be on here any minute to smugly tell us that they couldn't possibly have picked any good players because they haven't had enough top ten picks

I watched Footy Classified. Gee Hutchy is fat as a house now.

Apparently there is a big push from the clubs to make the AFL do something about the soft cap. It is being blamed for coach's burning out as there is too little support around them now. They showed a montage of clips of coaches losing their rag publicly this year, especially Hardwick. There was one they showed of Chris Scott having a tantrum at a press conference and telling the journalists that the 10 minutes a week that is contractually obliged to sit in a chair and answer questions from them is the worst 10 minutes of his week. And he wasn't trying to be funny. He was serious. He had his angry face on.

They really gave us a serve. None of them think Simpson will be there next year. Then they moved on to talking about Harley Reid and the drumbeat about we will have to trade that pick down because there is too much risk he will want to go home and we won't be able to take that risk given the state we are in with our list. They all seem pretty sure we will get offered 3 first rounders for first pick if we do win the spoon.

I watched Footy Classified. Gee Hutchy is fat as a house now.

Apparently there is a big push from the clubs to make the AFL do something about the soft cap. It is being blamed for coach's burning out as there is too little support around them now. They showed a montage of clips of coaches losing their rag publicly this year, especially Hardwick. There was one they showed of Chris Scott having a tantrum at a press conference and telling the journalists that the 10 minutes a week that is contractually obliged to sit in a chair and answer questions from them is the worst 10 minutes of his week. And he wasn't trying to be funny. He was serious. He had his angry face on.

They really gave us a serve. None of them think Simpson will be there next year. Then they moved on to talking about Harley Reid and the drumbeat about we will have to trade that pick down because there is too much risk he will want to go home and we won't be able to take that risk given the state we are in with our list. They all seem pretty sure we will get offered 3 first rounders for first pick if we do win the spoon.
Cheers for that .

I have heard the same comment about Hardwick on the ABC a few weeks ago,he doesn’t do a second more than he’s contractually obliged to do re media. Every request put through to get a more in depth chat with him is rejected or ignofed.

That is the sign of a dude firmly in the throes of a burnout.

Re: the Reid stuff - three first rounders (depending of course where they sit - say two top 10 and a late teens) sounds pretty dandy to be honest

Feel free to list the players we could have drafted with those picks used on Kelly.

Happy to agree with you if those players would help the current situation.

Feel free to list the players we could have drafted with those picks used on Kelly.

Just looking at WA players we could’ve gone.
Georgiades
Rivers
Warner

O’Driscoll

Who knows, but Warner is the big one

At the time the Kelly deal was only to try and win another flag. Thats in the past lets look at the future. The only way we are going to go forward is to get rid of all the players above 30, dont care who they are get the squad fit & go hard at the draft.

348369144_903933724005917_428760441335547679_n.jpg

Looking West....

Their development coach is Jacob Brennon who was an even worse player than they are? What is he going to teach them? Again jobs for the boys instead of getting the best in the country.

Load of crap. Teaching and development is a different skill to having actual skills to play.
Tim kelly is a fine player when not asked to be the no1 midfielder. If we get our inside grunt right, he will destroy the opposition.

He gets tagged every week for a reason and it ain’t because he is a shite player.
He has been excellent this year and who knows who we would have drafted anyway.

I reckon the current North Melbourne head of football our list manager from 16-19 Brady Rawlings and Darren Glass for 19-20 have a fair bit to do with that. Oh and Vozzo ex list manager and footy boss the current CEO at Essendon. Plenty of cooks in this s**t sandwich.

Hilariously, two hats O'Brien may be the best list manager we've had during that period.

Once given the keys his list management has been decent.

Hilariously, two hats O'Brien may be the best list manager we've had during that period.

The real pressure will come this year.

FKASC did it a few days ago. Best case would probably be that we have DeKonning and Warner instead of Kelly and Jamo. A slight upgrade but not going to change things drastically.

The sudden drop off of our late 20s/ early 30s players (many who were our top players) is what has killed us.

Not sure about his habit of giving out two year contracts to ageing and breaking players willy nilly