Coach Adam Simpson Megathread est. 2017 - Staying for 2024, Lyon’s Cryin’

Will Simpson be Head Coach at WCE in 2024

It's been ok.
Jury very much still out on Chesser and also Jack Williams. Overlooked Matt Johnson and Hobbs to take Chesser which is looking like a poor move.
Hough and Bazzo look good.
We took Will Collins with our first pick in the MSD in 2021 which was a completely random waste of time.
Ginbey & Hewett look like good picks but we still need to add some genuine ball winners in the middle.
Long was a good pick.
Barnett and Burgiel are still yet to be seen.
Culley and Maric were pretty easy picks to make.
I wouldn't say we've exactly hit it out of the park but it could have been worse.
The later picks look to be pretty solid which we hadn't hit for years prior to the last 2 year's. By later picks i mean 2nd round onwards.

It's been ok.
Jury very much still out on Chesser and also Jack Williams. Overlooked Matt Johnson and Hobbs to take Chesser which is looking like a poor move.
We took Will Collins with our first pick in the MSD in 2021 which was a completely random waste of time.
Ginbey & Hewett look like good picks but we still need to add some genuine ball winners in the middle.
Long was a good pick.
I wouldn't say we've exactly hit it out of the park but it could have been worse.

There's a saying, "No one ever got fired buying HP/Cisco/Maytag/Rheem" etc. meaning, if you install a market leader throughout your business (or align with them as a vendor partner) and something goes wrong, no one will blame you for it. But if you go a less obvious choice and it backfires, clear your desk.

In our case:

TK - passed the test despite people still being mad about it
Chesser - Hobbs was being talked about top 5. Johnson also made a late charge to be in top 10 mix.
Ginbey + Hewitt - pretty much passed up Warlord, although we can't have known had the big trade not happened. If the big trade hadn't happened, he may have gone to North, leaving us Sheezel, meaning we may have preferred Ginbey anyway.

So Chesser is really the only contentious one. We don't know how ends yet, but we're going to make a few failed calls.

It's been ok.
Long was a good pick.

The Chesser over Johnson/Hobbs looking like the shocker, but with the caveat that Chesser has shown some small signs to me the last couple of weeks which he previously hadn't. Long way behind the other 2 though. And then we don't have Burgiel without that trade either who I have no opinion on as yet.

Very confident we've hit it out the park with Long, he's a player

I hope simmo resigns, not for the clubs sake, but for his own. Hes done so much for the club and won a premiership. He should be proud of what hes done here. But there is a time where a coach can no longer get through to his player and staff, it happens everywhere, not many coaches can stay with the club for a life time and constantly win in any sport.

It would be nice for him to take a break for a season and then come back. Get some new ideas and a break. Hopefully with another club, he deserves that much and I hope he wins a premiership there. He needs to let go off the eagles before his reputation goes through the mud and he becomes damaged goods and no club will want to touch him.

Earlier on the year you were a big Simmo fan, do you want his as head coach now?
Regardless of financial implications.

I was a big Simmo fan earlier in the year was I? Got any posts that prove that?

I suspect I was just pointing out you were posting rabid anti-Simpson rubbish, and you assumed that because I was disagreeing with you I must have a diametrically opposed view which means I must love Simpson and have posters of him on my bedroom wall. Feel free to prove me wrong though.

Right now? I don’t care whether he stays or goes, he’s not the biggest issue. The biggest issue is the injuries. Until we address that it doesn’t matter whether our senior coach is Simpson, a caretaker, Bob from Wickepin or the ghost of Norm Smith, we’ll continue to get our arses kicked.

He might not be the biggest issue but surely no coach survives this in the long run. Just steer the ship vaguely competently while Ginbey, Hewett, Long, Maric, Culley, Hough and Pick 1 tick along, and then we’ll reassess when the contract’s done.

My opinion of Simpson hit rock bottom today. Harry Barnett debuts and gets subbed in with around 9 minutes left in the 4th. How would his parents feel?

What does it do to a young blokes confidence knowing that there's 40 odd players on the list, there's only one or two players playing WAFL this week, and our coach thinks so little of you that he gives you token minutes on debut.

My missus is a Collingwood supporter and couldn't believe that was how we treated the kid, especially with how pathetic Darling was again this week, with 6 possessions, 2 marks and 2 tackles.

My opinion of Simpson hit rock bottom today. Harry Barnett debuts and gets subbed in with around 9 minutes left in the 4th. How would his parents feel?

What does it do to a young blokes confidence knowing that there's 40 odd players on the list, there's only one or two players playing WAFL this week, and our coach thinks so little of you that he gives you token minutes on debut.

My missus is a Collingwood supporter and couldn't believe that was how we treated the kid, especially with how pathetic Darling was again this week.

A troll has gotta troll.

It wasn't coaching
Here's my mate Carbine to chime in with some apparent wisdom. Yes or no answer, was it a s**t effort to give pick 23, a high talent young Ruck Forward 9 minutes on debut or not?
No, given the circumstances, it was clearly the correct call.

Last edited by a moderator:
It's about development. And showing him and his family some respect. You reckon he's going to learn anything on debut in 9 minutes of footy?
He's not ready for AFL, should be playing the rest of this year and probably a fair chunk of next in the WAFL learning how to play but obviously there was no other option today.

It's about development. And showing him and his family some respect. You reckon he's going to learn anything on debut in 9 minutes of footy?
He didn’t deserve a debut he got his arse kicked last week in the ruck by Eastland. He was lucky to even be considered for 9 minutes.

My opinion of Simpson hit rock bottom today. Jordyn Baker is fit for selection and is the only player left out of the extended squad. How would his parents feel?

What does it do to a young blokes confidence knowing that there's 27 fit players on the list, and our coach thinks so little of you that he leaves you out of the 26?

My missus is a Newtown Jets supporter and couldn't believe that was how we treated the kid.