Oppo Camp Adam Treloar (Traded to Bulldogs 2020)

The question I have would all of you be carrying on like this if it was the other way around and Treloar wanted to leave but we wanted to keep him?

Has a player with 5 years on a deal ever asked for a trade in the AFL?

As Scott Pendlebury famously said....all contracts are good for are mortgages from the bank.

Dunkley has 2 years...wants to go.
Beams when he first left us...wanted to go despite being contracted.
Whether it’s 1,2,5 years its all the same.

The funniest thing of all...2021 midfield lineup.

Pendlebury (poor guy)
Sidebottom
Adams
Elliot
Wills

:$ :$ :$ :$ :$ :$ :$ :$ :$ :$

It's like a shit version of the 2014 midfield, nothing changed in 7 seasons. Not even the assistant midfield coach...

**Didn't include De Goey...because this team doesn't even have a viable KPF as Ben Reid retired...:$:$:$:$:$:$

My 9yo daughter has a poster of Treloar on the wall next to her bed. He’s her favourite player.

Watching the news tonight she says to me I’ll just get a pen out and write on the poster “He doesn’t play for our club anymore but he is still the best”.

Bless

This is unusually brutal for us, but if it signals that start of a more ruthless approach to chasing a flag then i’m OK with it. Probably not a popular view, but I’m sick of the nice Collingwood.

We’ve sacrificed Adam. Now we need to back this up with some astute drafting and recruiting, and getting the rest of our house in order. This pain we’ve caused an apparently decent young man had better be worth it.

Sorry VP, but I'm not sure how pushing a loyal servant and top 5 player out the door in a discounted fire-sale can be considered getting our house in order and setting us up to chase a flag.
Yet at he same time keeping the Football Dept who ponyied up the 2 first round picks to bring him to the club in the first place ... and then extended his contract.

Surely, getting our house in order would be getting rid of the people who created the mess.

To me it's a case of terrible mismanagement on top of terrible mismanagement. And yet, it's the fools who created the mess who are left at the club to continue their legacy of incompetence.

I never want to hear Side by Side uttered again by this club. Shameful times.

As Scott Pendlebury famously said....all contracts are good for are mortgages from the bank.

It’s a fair point you make, but remember part of the reason why Brisbane wanted their pound of flesh when Beams came back was that his deal was heavily front-ended.

This situation is unique to other trade requests by the nature of what’s escalated it and the driving force.

It’s poor cap management and it’s poor treatment to a well liked player.

It’s a fair point you make, but remember part of the reason why Brisbane wanted their pound of flesh when Beams came back was that his deal was heavily front-ended.

This situation is unique to other trade requests by the nature of what’s escalated it and the driving force.

It’s poor cap management and it’s poor treatment to a well liked player.

Im not dismissing the cap management but what if we genuinely believe that his personal arrangement doesn’t work for us ?

The circumstances and goal posts shifted significantly once he dropped this bombshell on us....

The funniest thing of all...2021 midfield lineup.

Pendlebury (poor guy)
Sidebottom
Adams
Elliot
Wills

:$ :$ :$ :$ :$ :$ :$ :$ :$ :$

It's like a sh*t version of the 2014 midfield, nothing changed in 7 seasons. Not even the assistant midfield coach...

**Didn't include De Goey...because this team doesn't even have a viable KPF as Ben Reid retired...:$:$:$:$:$:$
I think De Goey (despite what you say), Sier, McInnes, Rantall and maybe some others will help out

My sons & my membership is going to be cancelled in the next day or so.

I know things happen and its footy and the club is more than a player.. blah blah... but FFS... The bloke chose to come to us a few years ago and has renegotiated his contract in good faith with the club (And to help other contracts of his teammates) only to be treated like this. Here's the concerns going ahead with where this club is heading.

- Players inside the club will no doubt feel uneasy about this causing friction within the playing group. Those that were super close to Treloar will be really feeling this as much as AT7 himself.

- Who the F would want to come to this club? Like what example does this set? The club can bullshit all they want about putting Adam's mental health first yet are now happy to trade him to another Melbourne club.... Like yeah because that fixes all 'his' issues. :rolleyes:

- This Ned bloke, will he be held accountable for any of this sh*t management of the cap? The clubs response to this whole mess is totally pathetic in every aspect.

- The slogan "Side by Side" needs to be scrapped as this is false advertising.

All the best Adz I hope you have 35 and slot a couple against our rabble of a club when you play us first up.

I reckon even more might leave now then we think.

Adam being Treated that Badly would hurt the Culture

I get that jmac. But if it does end badly, then it might also help rid us of the current regime. Eddie, Bucks and co have to be on their last chance now. We just can’t go on as we have been.
I agree with that.

Hope Bucks has the club psychologist as no. 1 on speed dial. The guilt and ill feeling within the club around AT needs to be dealt with. If the club doesn’t publicly come out and take responsibility for bad decisions and acknowledge the hurt, it will fester and divide us. Eddie putting the club first by fessing up to the mistakes and stepping down would minimise the damage and be a great way to start the next chapter.

Sorry VP, but I'm not sure how pushing a loyal servant and top 5 player out the door in a discounted fire-sale can be considered getting our house in order and setting us up to chase a flag.
Yet at he same time keeping the Football Dept who ponyied up the 2 first round picks to bring him to the club in the first place ... and then extended his contract.

Surely, getting our house in order would be getting rid of the people who created the mess.

To me it's a case of terrible mismanagement on top of terrible mismanagement. And yet, it's the fools who created the mess who are left at the club to continue their legacy of incompetence.

I never want to hear Side by Side uttered again by this club. Shameful times.

I agree it appears to be shameful mismanagement, and Adam appears to be the victim. But maybe it’s a cruel and ruthless but necessary step in what I hope is the right direction. Not a popular view.

Hope Bucks has the club psychologist as no. 1 on speed dial. The guilt and ill feeling within the club around AT needs to be dealt with. If the club doesn’t publicly come out and take responsibility for bad decisions and acknowledge the hurt, it will fester and divide us. Eddie putting the club first by fessing up to the mistakes and stepping down would minimise the damage and be a great way to start the next chapter.

Culture will go down the Toliet

That’s a bit of a wank from Pendles, to be fair.

Not only are they good for securing mortgages from the bank; they literally pay off said mortgages. Ensuring your and your family’s financial security is a little more than Pendles gives them credit for. God help him if he had to play on a non-guaranteed contract like they have in U.S. sports.

My 9yo daughter has a poster of Treloar on the wall next to her bed. He’s her favourite player.

Watching the news tonight she says to me I’ll just get a pen out and write on the poster “He doesn’t play for our club anymore but he is still the best”.

Bless
She might yet have to get her #7 jumper out of the bin...

Bless

what a ripper, should get her on the forum to teach us about emotional maturity.

I agree it appears to be shameful mismanagement, and Adam appears to be the victim. But maybe it’s a cruel and ruthless but necessary step in what I hope is the right direction. Not a popular view.

Cruel and ruthless.

I understand all clubs need to be on some level. But surely there is also a value in culture, loyalty and respect.

No player is exempt from the tough calls of list management. But Collingwood have a history of bending over backwards for the mercenary types like T.Cloke, DeGoey, Beams and Grundy. Yet when it comes to a player who clearly loves the club and clearly out performs those first 3. The club has shown him no respect. It almost appears he has been bullied out.

If AT had not performed on field - I could understand
If he had not been a professional off field - maybe I can accept that too.
If they asked Adam if he was open to a trade, and he was - that's fine.
But Adam's biggest fault was accepting a contact extension (to help the list management) on the terms the incompetent list managers offered him, and now they've realised the kitty is bare from the many previous mistakes of overpaying. ( and they want to overpay DeGoey again no doubt)

If we want to see a dynasty one day, we need a list that shows loyalty to the cause and accepts the need to play for slightly unders for the greater good of the club. How can the football dept possibly ask that of Adam's teammates after the way they have conducted themselves throughout this shambles.

Ruthless no doubt, but at what cost long term?

So the club will be paying hundreds of thousands for the next five years for the privilege of having AT a tear us a new one in an oppo jumper. Makes sense to me.
It's only his last year that is backended, and we wouldn't be paying part of his salary for 5 years, probably just the last year. Now don't have a meltdown but I think treloar is just an accumulater, he can't kick on the run anymore, constantly gives out hospitol handpasses, gets pushed aside easily in a contest, doesn't kick goals and never gets tagged because the opposition know this, his time of tearing anyone a new one ended in 2018 when he did both his hamstrings

I will email the club my dissatisfaction with the manner in which they have handled this affair with Treloar and their inept financial management of the playing list. I don't see this as a 'necessary step towards chasing a flag'. Treloar seems an honourable guy and there is no doubt he gave his utmost for the club. He is a victim of player management incompetence and has been left to the mercy of speculation and rumour without the club having the decency to go public about its intentions.

Football might be about chasing premierships, but its also about the character and personalities of the players who fight for ultimate victory. At the same time, it's about competent list management that allows the club to better the quality of its playing personnel through prudent trades. Players are expendable, but quality contracted players like Treloar should be treated with respect. I don't approve of many aspects of this attempt to trade him. The club needs to clear out the people responsible for this mess.

I will email the club my dissatisfaction with the club over the manner in which they have handled this affair with Treloar and their inept financial management of the playing list. I don't see this as a 'necessary step towards chasing a flag'. Treloar seems an honourable guy and there is no doubt he gave his utmost for the club. He is a victim of player management incompetence and has been left to the mercy of speculation and rumour without the club having the decency to go public about its intentions.

Football might be about chasing premierships, but its also about the character and personalities of the players who fight for ultimate victory. At the same time, it's about competent list management that allows the club to better the quality of its playing personnel through prudent trades. Players are expendable, but quality contracted players like Treloar should be treated with respect. I don't approve of many aspects of this attempt to trade him. The club needs to clear out the people responsible for this mess.

Who do you think is going to read the email?

It's some intern earning $20 an hour who has a pre-rerecorded response to send back to you.

Oppo Camp Adam Treloar (Traded to Bulldogs 2020)