AdelaidE?

Total Package said:
Adelaide is the only airport I have been to where you actually have to walk down the stairs off a 737 and walk along the tarmac to go into the airport....

you're obviously not very well travelled then?
this is true at many European & North American airports.

Total Package said:
HAHAHAHAHA thats hilarious... look at it. 1 runway.... ******** ant... and that is an UPGRADE. I think that says it all really.

Adelaide is the only airport I have been to where you actually have to walk down the stairs off a 737 and walk along the tarmac to go into the airport.... and have people standing there with umbrellas to stop you from getting ********ing wet. Good to see you have finally caught up with the times... and are building a airport thats more than 1 level.... then again... you've only just put in plastic seats in football park this year instead of the metal lightning conductors everyone had to sit on... so you can't accuse Adelaide of keeping up with the times.

It's an upgrade to the TERMINAL, not the entire airport itself. There is a second runway, it's just not in the picture.

If Adelaide is the only airport that you've been to where you have to walk on the tarmac, then I'm afraid you aren't very well travelled at all.

rick James said:
Seirously though, if I mention the GP will i get bashed?

Hehe.

No one liked it when it was here in Adelaide (ok slight exaggeration but there were plenty who wanted it gone). But then when it was gone everyone was bitter about it. I wouldn't worry about it anymore, most people have long forgotten about it now.

arrowman said:
Hey there, Rick.

- PAFC is at Queen St, Alberton, as someone else said. 30 min(?) taxi ride from the city (if you must) you'll find it an interesting piece of football schizophrenia - both the PAFC and the PA Magpies are housed in the same building. Tell us if you can work out which is which, and which one gets the credit for the 1,347 premierships ;)

- As for the rest:

- If you're staying opposite the Casino you're around the corner from the main shopping precinct - Rundle Mall. Also, further along to the east (10 mins walk or so) is Rundle Street - good cafe/restaurant precinct. Also a good pub for a cool and groovy young guy, the Austral.

- Stay AWAY from Heaven :rolleyes: unless you want to mix with drugged up bikies and teens.

- Don't bother with the Casino - it used to be a casino, now it's a pokie palace with the ambience of a bad suburban pub.

- South from your hotel (about 15 mins walk) is the Central Market precinct - Gouger St and Grote St - many good restaurants there.

- If you want a genuine Irish pub (I mean genuine, not fake modern) visit the Brecknock Hotel, on King William St at the suthern end. Irish bands Fri/Sat and some other nights, if you're up for that.

- And of course the Pie Cart will be across the road from you, from 6pm every night :)

- You want wineries? Advice available on request.

Rick, Arrowman's just about spot on.

You could probably add the famous Stag Hotel on the corner of Rundle St and East Terrace, the Elephant off Rundle St (another Irish pub) and Glenelg by the sea as a few other places worth going to.

Total Package said:
:D

I am guessing you are an ex-Adelaideite

Im an ex south aussie, from Whyalla, have never lived in Adelaide have spent waaaaaaaaaaayyyyyyyyyy too much time there.

Okay Adelaide for me and this is just a my opinon, has no appeal to it, Ive done it all, seen what there is too see and done what you can do, I only go there now for one of three reasons

1. See my family

2. Crow's Games

3. Clipsal 500

Adelaide is Adelaide another city, I now live in Hobart, it's pretty good, it's easy to get around quite nice, plenty to do(well for me cause Im new here) so yeah it's good, only an hr's flight to Melbourne for footy etc. Alot of people knock Tasmania, because yes they are a bit werid, Ive found that, but in general it's a very nice place to live, things in some respects are cheap, rent , house prices etc, groceries are a bit cheaper also, petrol on the othe rhand is out of control one servo will have it for 107.9 servo across the road will have it for 99.9

:eek:

Total Package said:
HAHAHAHAHA thats hilarious... look at it. 1 runway.... ******** ant... and that is an UPGRADE. I think that says it all really.

Adelaide is the only airport I have been to where you actually have to walk down the stairs off a 737 and walk along the tarmac to go into the airport.... and have people standing there with umbrellas to stop you from getting ********ing wet. Good to see you have finally caught up with the times... and are building a airport thats more than 1 level.... then again... you've only just put in plastic seats in football park this year instead of the metal lightning conductors everyone had to sit on... so you can't accuse Adelaide of keeping up with the times.

TP there are a couple of airports that are actually worse than Adelaide's :eek: Hobart and Launceston, like Adelaide you have to walk across the tarmac, but at least in Adelaide they have baggage carousel's none at either Hobart or Launceston, you wait in a shed and the trolley's come in and you get your bag off the trolley yourself, they are currently upgrading Hobart airport so it will soon have baggage carousel's ;)

maccas_no1 said:
TP there are a couple of airports that are actually worse than Adelaide's :eek: Hobart and Launceston, like Adelaide you have to walk across the tarmac, but at least in Adelaide they have baggage carousel's none at either Hobart or Launceston, you wait in a shed and the trolley's come in and you get your bag off the trolley yourself, they are currently upgrading Hobart airport so it will soon have baggage carousel's ;)
Actually, in my experience boarding and disembarkation are quicker "the tarmac way" because apart from anything else you can use both doors. And luggage collection is faster off the trolleys, too. But that's progress for you :)

arrowman said:
Well, I'm not going to give Rick advice in the chick department; I think he and I are workin' different age groups :p

I like the older birds Arrow :)

but only cause it's easier. I'm a total s l u t with chicks anyway, so if there's any desperate women in adelaide they could be in luck.

arrowman said:
Actually, in my experience boarding and disembarkation are quicker "the tarmac way" because apart from anything else you can use both doors. And luggage collection is faster off the trolleys, too. But that's progress for you :)

Yes that is the one advantage of the 'tarmac way' :)

yob said:
Here's an old construction photo of our new $250 million airport terminal, due to open late this year. One hell of a shed eh?

aa4.jpg

Wow, $250 million, you must be proud. Honestly, if that was meant as a comeback to Total_Package, you have a severe mental impairment, you just proved his point.
For one, look how close the houses are. They must live so close to the airport for an easy exit to that ridiculous city, and the airport must be pretty pathetic to have such a small volume to allow houses to close.
How much is Melbourne airport worth, a few billion? Sydney? Even more. Brisbane? Roughly the same.

And to whoever said Hobart and Launceston have worse airports, why do you speak as if having a better facility than them is some sort of achievement? That's like saying 'I have bigger feet than that six year old!'

Really, get some perspective.

hahah I will tell you what I do notice though.... the Air traffic control tower is about 20 feet off the ground. You would get a better view of planes from the bonnet of some blokes car..... and what about the runway.... what the hell happens if a plane overruns the runway as has happened several times... and in fact happened to Qantas not so long ago.... it would plough right into the houses. Talk about Hicksville. Those houses wouldn't fetch more than $10000 on the property market... imagine the noise of a 747 as it basically lands over your house

Total Package said:
Do yourself a favour... as soon as you arrive at the shed they call Adelaide airport.... hand the taxidriver $20.. and ask him to show you all of Adelaide.... then when he is finished get the $4.50 change off him.. hop back on the plane.. and leave.

Spot on. :D

Total Package said:
hahah I will tell you what I do notice though.... the Air traffic control tower is about 20 feet off the ground. You would get a better view of planes from the bonnet of some blokes car..... and what about the runway.... what the hell happens if a plane overruns the runway as has happened several times... and in fact happened to Qantas not so long ago.... it would plough right into the houses. Talk about Hicksville. Those houses wouldn't fetch more than $10000 on the property market... imagine the noise of a 747 as it basically lands over your house

gold :D

rick James said:
gothic heroin addict bush pigs?

mate you must have holiday'd to Collingwood or Richmond.

Head out to thr ight clubs (i.e. not the goth ones) and see for yourself, melbourne has a great mix of hot women from all nationalities. It's like a multicultural smorgasbord of hot tottie.

edit: but the asian chicks don't do it for me.

Hot women? You're joking.
Gothic, heroin addicted bush pigs is a far more accurate description.
Jenny Craig rejects is another one.

Ah, you are all experts on the airport now?
The ATC tower doesn't need to be any taller... they have a good view of the grounds. They do a lot more up there than just look at big flying things.
We don't do our own ATC here, just ground control and sign off.

AdelaidE?